We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accomodation and warm friendly hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Calitzdorp Country House
Ranked #1 of 12 Calitzdorp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Wonderful accomodation in a fabulous location. A stunning breakfast on the verandah overlooking the equally stunning mountainous scenery, a dip in the pool and the perfect location for exploring the wineries, meercat safari and wonderful countryside.

The rooms are spacious and well appointed and beautifully furnished with antique and period pieces. Outside, the gardens are peaceful and highly scenic with grapevines stretching across the valley to the mountains.

Breakfast arrives as a work of art with exquisitely carved fruit and freshly baked muffins followed by a choice of beautifully cooked full english or more heathy options. Samantha Jane the parrot provides entertainment whilst you eat. We did 2 nights there, but could have stayed for 2 months!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinklady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 277 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2011

Pricey, but very nice accommodation and good food. The lodge is in a idyllic location, with sweeping views across the valley. Lovely breakfasts out on the terrace overlooking the valley are very pleasant, often accompanied by Samantha the parrot and the resident peacocks. Dinners are available by prior arrangement, and Lynne prepares them to a very high standard; Allan does front of house in a professional way. Everything is done to the standard of a good hotel, rather than a lodge / B&B.

They don't take credit cards, so you need to have a fair wad of cash to settle up, which is not a particularly safe practice in South Africa; at this price level, credit cards should be the norm.

Room Tip: Front room with the view across the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie_AlanLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neru_Cape_Town, Owner at Calitzdorp Country House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2011

Our thanks to Julie for her review.
However, we certainly DO TAKE CREDIT CARDS and have done so for 5 years now - VISA and MasterCard are accepted.
And cash is always welcomed.
Perhaps the misunderstanding came about because we do not accept American Express or Diners Club?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2011

Do book dinner here, because food and service is absolute top. Very personal service and useful information made a very pleasant stay.
Extensive wine list.
The extremely quiet, very luxurious, spacious rooms, the view over the valley relaxed our minds during the stopover at Calitzdorp.
It was our own fault to stay only one night here …
Of all the places we stayed during our four weeks stay, this is top on the list of returning.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, with all absolute privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DutchGreetings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

This is our fourth visit to CCH and would not dream of not staying here whilst in South Africa.
The house and rooms would grace any international hotel, as would Lynn's cooking and Allan's knowledge of wine.The views from the terrace whilst having breakfast would also be hard to beat.
Give yourself a treat and stay here. There is more to see in Calitzdorp than at first you may think.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliciaShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

My brother and I stayed for three nights in January 2011. We had passed through the Klein Karoo on a previous trip and wanted to explore more of the region.

We could not have chosen a better place to stay than Calitzdorp Country House. It is slightly out of the town centre down a good dirt road (easy driving and nothing to worry about). Allan and Lyn were kind enough to show us all five rooms; one has its own entrance and amazing views out over the valley - all are luxuriously furnished to five star plus standard, spotlessly clean and wonderfully comfortable. It simply must be the best place to stay in the area.

Service is excellent - Allan and Lyn are perfect hosts. We will particularly remember two things: the views of the sunset and the stars from the terrace (complete with a glass of Calitzdorp port), and (especially) Lyn's world class cookery. We cannot encourage you enough to request dinner (NB has to be booked 2 days in advance, you cannot book on the day): we have eaten at a number of top restaurants all over the world and our dinner here rivalled the very best. A fixed five course format and every course (including some local ostrich) was perfection. The portion sizes are well judged so as to leave you room (just!) for pudding. There is a good, fairly priced wine list to choose from (no BYO), including a selection of the local Calitzdorp wines.

The amazing quality of the food is evident at breakfast as well, notably in the shape of Lyn's muffins. Samantha the parrot will entertain you with some of her 150 word vocabulary too!

There is plenty to keep you occupied during the days. We drove over the Swatberg Pass to Prince Albert - a long but thrilling drive mostly on dirt roads (the hire car coped fine); the road over the pass was built by 19th century convicts and has to be one of the world's engineering masterpieces, with views to match. In Prince Albert, we had lunch at the Lazy Lizard - a good choice. Another day we went to the Cango Caves, which are well known, but deservedly so, and well worth a visit. You could easily spend a day in Calitzdorp visiting the various wineries (note that they are all closed on Sundays).

If you can't manage Lyn's five course meals every night, there are other places to have an evening meal in Calitzdorp. The two we visited were fine but could not begin to approach the gastronomic experience that is dinner at Calitzdorp Country House!

In summary - Calitzdorp Country House really is one of those 'hidden gems' that you read about so often, but get to experience so rarely. Do pay Allan and Lyn a visit - you will be glad you did. And remember to book dinner!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmam34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

A wonderful surprise in the Karoo. Calitzdorp, Apart from the attractions of the wine/ port producers and the wonderful daily Organ recitals Calitzdorp would not be worth a stop.
However Allan and Lyn's beautiful 5 star establishment provides another compelling reason to visit, yes it is a couple of kms down a dirt road off Route 62 but worth a little bit of dust. We arrived having taken "the pretty way" from Oudtshoorn via the Cango caves and Groenfontein valley (35 km of well surfaced dirt road with super views). within an hour our car had been washed and was once again pristine, all part of the service!
The welcome is warm, the rooms are superb, the breakfast an exquisite experience and dinner - What a beautiful meal, each course beautifully presented and each complementing the previous one. A memorable evening.
We stayed 2 nights and relaxed around the pool for one of the days.
The only possible improvements that we can think of would be wi fi (believe that Allan is organising this) and a hand rail to help the less mobile to get into the pool as the first step is quite deep. all in all a great stay Thank you Allan , Lyn and of course Samantha Jane.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sacrebleu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

This truly is a country house, with fantastic views over vineyards and towards the mountains. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with good bathrooms. We have stayed in Room 5 on both visits. This has a terrace with the view and which catches the evening sun. The other 4 rooms are at the back of the property, but are equally attractive. The evening meals we have eaten there (4 over 2 visits) have been excellent, although it is a set menu with no choice. i would consider it as high quality dinner party food. Excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judi_lomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calitzdorp
22.8 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
221 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Queen of Calitzdorp
The Queen of Calitzdorp
#2 of 12 in Calitzdorp
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Calitz
The Calitz
#7 of 12 in Calitzdorp
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Soeterus Guest Farm
Soeterus Guest Farm
#3 of 12 in Calitzdorp
80 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Retreat at Groenfontein
The Retreat at Groenfontein
#1 of 20 in Calitzdorp
290 reviews
1.4 mi away
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 12 in Calitzdorp
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calitzdorp Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calitzdorp Country House

Address: Follow the 'Groenfontien' Sign at the Old Cemetery for 2 Kms | Besemkop, Calitzdorp, Calitzdorp 6660, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Calitzdorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Calitzdorp
Price Range: $108 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Calitzdorp Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the vineyards overlooking Calitzdorp is the magnificent four star Calitzdorp Country House. It is beautifully furnished with antiques and offers spectacular views across a valley of orchards to the majestic Swartberg Mountains. Our luxurious accommodation includes five air-conditioned bedrooms with king-sized beds, TV with satellite channel, en-suite bathrooms and a private patio. The Italian-tiled bathrooms include large showers, twin washbasins and outsize baths. Crisp linens, soft fluffy towels, quality hairdryers and gowns all add to your feeling of pampered care. After a spectacular Klein Karoo sunset, delight in a gourmet meal in our restaurant and end the evening by enjoying some of Calitzdorp's best Port Wines. We offer free WiFi and parking and have a lovely garden with a dam and an outdoor pool. Enquire about the array of activities that can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings; including cycling, horse riding and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Calitzdorp Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing