We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place, excellent value”
Review of Spekboom Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calitzdorp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Spekboom Cottages
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A lovely place, excellent value”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at Spekboom cottages for a weekend with our children. We stayed in separate cottages and both cottages were really lovely, large and spacious. Both had lovely, large and private outside areas. The location was very convenient. The cottages were very clean and well equipped. We had breakfast there the following morning and it was superb. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming. I will definitely stay there again and will be recommending Spekboom to family and friends. A true gem!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brownhills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The cottage we were in had its own private little pool and patio area. The bedroom was clean and the shower spacious. The owners invited us to the bar to view the rugby match on the night and we had a great time. Excellent value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AstridandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We loved our little cottage at Spekboom cottages in Carlitzdorp! Although perhaps a little tired in decor and with very little in the kitchen drawers - if you want to do self catering take a tin opener, cork screw, colander and grater! The cottage has the most stunning views, a fabulous braai and enormous terrace with spacious garden and sweet little plunge pool!
The welcome was warm and friendly and the little Jack Russel become our very own pet, we would have loved to have stayed a little longer!

Room Tip: Cottage no 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This place was a welcome retreat after a long drive from Stellenbosch. The place had cosy rooms albeit needing some maintainence. We had very friendly and helpful hosts however and it's a given they plan to upgrade the place as it has wonderful bones. The quaint cottages are in a lovely setting and the gardens are gorgeous with a rainbow of colours. Francois was super helpful with recommendations for places to eat and we had the most wonderful dinner at the Red Coffee Pot Restaurant (one we won't forget for a long time). Lack of internet and tv was not noticed and it was a nice change. Breakfast the next morning was also very good and with some help on where to go for good Port we were on our way with a bumper sticker firmly placed on our rental car to remind us of our great time in this little town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mudcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Suitable for families to stay for a while but not a casual B&B. No radio, internet, TV, or phone in cottage. The bedrooms and bathrooms were nice but the lounge was very basic with terrible lighting. A little courtyard with an inbuilt braai was provided but no information re possibility of getting firewood or a braaipack was available, the bar closed at 7.30pm although quite a few of the cottages seem occupied. Breakfast was fine but the nude sketches and paintings are inappropriate for a family room. It seems that opportunities are lost to provide some eating/refreshment facilities for weary travellers in peak mid December.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank blackieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The two Keith's and two Jane's had a wonderful weekend in Calitzdorp picking Apricots at De Krans and tasting wine, port at the various wineries. Spekboom Cottages are clean, well equipped but their website is deceiving as our cottage no. 1 did not have a working pool although Sean allowed us to use the pool at a nearby cottage. Dining room chairs need to be stabilised, stove needs repair - lovely braai area but would be nice to have some cushions on the outdoor chairs and the mountain view is obscured by fencing but all in all a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Cottages further up the street seem to have better views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JMurcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Calitzdorp hotels
0.6 mi away
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
Karoo Life Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 11 in Calitzdorp
58 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Retreat at Groenfontein
The Retreat at Groenfontein
#1 of 20 in Calitzdorp
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Queen of Calitzdorp
The Queen of Calitzdorp
#2 of 11 in Calitzdorp
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Portwine Guesthouse
Portwine Guesthouse
#4 of 11 in Calitzdorp
88 reviews
1.1 mi away
Calitzdorp Country House
Calitzdorp Country House
#1 of 11 in Calitzdorp
257 reviews
6.1 mi away
Matjiesvlei Cottages
Matjiesvlei Cottages
#4 of 20 in Calitzdorp
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spekboom Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spekboom Cottages

Property: Spekboom Cottages
Address: Rand Street, Calitzdorp, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Calitzdorp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Calitzdorp
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing