We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”
Review of Ronnie's Sex Shop

Ronnie's Sex Shop
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Barrydale
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Locals like to tell the story of Ronnie’s Shop, which Ronnie was fixing up to be a farm stand. During construction Ronnie’s friends played a prank on him by painting the word "sex" on his sign. Instead of a farm stand, he left the sign as it was and opened this pub.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

When we did drive THE route 62 we had a place to stay with wonderful people who tol dus we had to visit Ronnie so we did iT was fun and we did talk to Ronnie As well

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    71
    53
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Only in South Africa!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

TOTALLY unique. Totally worth stopping for a drink. Who would ever have thought!? Do it, so you can say you've done it and make sure you have a photo to prove you were there!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Garth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzele, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Visit when you pass, nice experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just go there and experience the atmosphere, quite special. Do not want to tell you more, you just have to see it :)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We decided to stop at Ronnie's Sex Shop for a coffee break due to the reviews here & were very disappointed. The guy in the bar was unwelcoming, the coffee ok & the toilets were probably the worst we encountered during almost 3 weeks in SA, no toilet paper & no water for flushing.
The view around the place was the best thing.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank miss_muriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Totally croazy place miles from anywhere”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

WE arrived there on a Saturday afternoon and were given a raucous welcome by the party on the veranda. The pub is adorned with all sorts of underwear hanging from the ceiling and the walls are completely covered in business cards. The area outside of the restrooms is also completely covered with signatures and other writings. the drinks were good and cold!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ronnie's Sex Shop also viewed

 
Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 

Been to Ronnie's Sex Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing