We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joubert-Tradauw

Joubert-Tradauw
Ranked #6 of 16 Restaurants in Barrydale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a must to stop for lunch if you are in the Garden route area - we literally made a last minute choice to pull off at this vineyard while driving by a couple weeks ago, so glad we did. We still talk about how amazing the food was! We split a cheese platter-which has more things on it than I can name-and it was all delicious. My brother and I had the ostrich burgers - stacked high with tasty things on a delicious bun-I'd never thing to put those things together but it was great. And then .. the best cheescake we've ever had - we kept trying to top it on the rest of our trip to no avail. A MUST!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evodwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A must for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you are passing on the R62 or staying in Barrydale please stop here for lunch - the wine tasting is very enjoyable and informative - and the food was outstanding. Both my husband and I had the ostrich fillet "burger" - it was incredible. We only wished that we had had more time to return on another day.
A couple that were dining at the same time as us had the platter - and they said it was the best platter they had ever tasted.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank butt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most delicious and creative tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

The outdoor setting under the autumn coloured vines, basking in the winter sunshine with a glass of chardonnay in hand and a delicious, creative tapas board to eat - it just does not get better than this! The tapas boards and the variety of tastes on offer make it the best we have had and meeting the wonderful friendly wine maker who informs you about his wines added to the experience. A great lunch stopover or if you are staying in Barrydale a lovely leisurely lunch venue...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply the best cheese platter we've ever enjoyed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Beautiful setting, fantastic food and quite simply one of the best lunches we've ever had. A must stop on the R62.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank janecross_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The pearl of Barrydale district”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a professional family from Warsaw ,Poland ,as our guests,and we decided to do the scenic drive from Swellendam via Montaque and Barrydale through the tradauw pass
We stopped at this boutique wine farm,which has a restaurant,and we were blown away
After tasting the sensational wines,we settled for a few bottles of a well chilled Chardonnay,under the cool shaded outside seating,whilst a huge plate of "mezze",which included game and a wonderful warm ciabatta ,fresh out of the oven arrived at our table
Meyer Joubert,the young owner, provided hands on personal service,which made the experience even more memorable.
We departed with a few cases of his excellent wines,which are a welcome addition to my cellar

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nordicpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joubert-Tradauw also viewed

Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 

Been to Joubert-Tradauw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing