We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late sunday lunch”

The Jam Tarts Barrydale
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Barrydale
Price range: $3 - $12
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT: The Jam Tarts Barrydale has a whole new look. New thin crust pizzas in our wood fired oven. Mina's famous Malay lamb curry; Venison and chicken pies; famous baguettes; Bobotie. We are fully licensed and as a result make fabulously naughty milkshakes. We look forward to giving you a friendly Karoo welcome.
Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Late sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We went for a late lunch at about 16:00, after some swimming in the rock pools in Tredauw pass. They were already closing down for the day, but specially made us two GREAT pizzas with great service even though they were noticeably wanting to go home... Colin the legend!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DB H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    53
    8
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“L-bone steak, but otherwise so nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

There is not that many places for late meal in Barrydale, but when in Jam Tarts, You don't need any other.
Really tasty and budget-minded meal. Only other of our T-bone steaks was pretty small (and only L-bone), but...that's life. Friendly owner compensated kitchens little mistake by dessert and wine!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderfully quirky eatery in the Karoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed in Barrydale for the weekend and decide to do breakfast in the village. Jam tarts was the only place that was open AND inviting and we were so happy it was. Terry, the exuberant owner, was at hand to tell us the history and cook our breakfast. Total delight!

The place is quirky, friendly and inviting with a host of different things on the menu, other than just food. Jams, tarts, books, antiques and just plain good atmosphere.

The staff where friendly and the professional and the food was very good for a Karroo town eatery.

I would definitely come back here when passing this way and would recommend anyone else to do so as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordons Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Satisfying lunch stop on Route 62”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We parked outside and went for a stroll before deciding that this place looked the most interesting. And we were right,the specials on the board were such that the choice was difficult. While we were there there were several pizzas ordered and the attention to detail that went into them was satisfying to see. We had the Ostrich burger from the menu and the Lentil Dhal from the board. Both excellent value for money and delicious. We will stop here again on our next trip this way

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Better than Sanbona!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had to leave Sanbona game reserve because floods forced its closure and on the way to the N2 ( the 62 was closed due to floods) stopped here to plan our next steps. What a lucky call. The owner was really welcoming and seemed to know more about the situation than anyone in Sanbona.The food for a family of 4 was superb with the best Malva pudding we have had in our 6 years of travelling to SA.
We can heartily recommend this to any passing travellers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jam Tarts Barrydale also viewed

Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
 

Been to The Jam Tarts Barrydale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing