We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay in The Barrydale Karoo Hotel”
Review of Karoo Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Karoo Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrydale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The hospitality, friendliness and quality of food at the hotel is outstanding. Each room with it's own Karoo theme is a delight. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay which also was the best break-away weekend in many years.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Great feedback ,thank you !
Weather-wise the period January to May is the best time to visit Barrydale!

Regards
Theo
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 344 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were staying in Cape Town over the Dec holidays to visit family but booked 3 nights between Xmas and New Year so we could ride (BMW 1200 GS) R 62 of course and a few passes. The roads were quiet and in good nick. Although very hot, we enjoyed the garden suite, best big fan keeping us cool, the food, bar and staff are of top class. We enjoyed the brass band and other shows. The locals are easy to talk to and you learn so much about the history. Sure to book next time we your way

Room Tip: Garden suite is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 91barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Happy to hear you had a great time!
Quite something for a small town such as ours to have a full brass band !
We now also regularly host The New Dynamics, a young and upcoming jazz band ,under the leadership of renowned jazz musician Gari Crawford.
Visit soon again!

Regards
Theo
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed for one night only en route to Cape Town and a friendly welcome made us feel at home. I found the room rate a bit high especially because there is no aircon in the room and no television (basic things one would expect in a hotel room). But given it was New Year's Eve and we were desperate for a room, we gladly paid the rate. The room was impeccable although the decor is a bit over the top (taste does differ) - a clean and fresh room is always a welcome sight after a long journey! The lovely, comfortable and large bed compensated for the awful pillows. In fact, the worst pillows I've ever found in a hotel room. Breakfast was advertised as a "buffet" but the buffet was nowhere to be seen; breakfast was ordered off a menu. Having pointed out the above, it was still a good stay because often the small irritations can be overlooked if the service is good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianKreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Not sure exactly what you found wrong with our pillows though - we only buy the best,and over the last 3 years have never had a single complaint about our pillows. I also sleep on the very same pillows and find them 100%? What I will do to cater for different pillow tastes is to purchase a few "different "type of pillows than what we have,to cater for different tastes in pillows. For your next visit we will have a few options to choose from! Hope you will then make it a two night stand!
Regards
Theo
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I arrived exhausted and frazzled but my beautiful room with a view over my own private lily pond started to sort out the kinks. A quick, simple, but delicious supper and an early night did the rest. And an early morning cup of coffee in my beautiful private courtyard set me up for the day. Only stayed one night as I was rushing through but I will definitely stay longer next time. Loved the colourful outdoor shower.

Room Tip: Can't remember my room number, but it was a gorgeous little suite with lily pond and private cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you for your visit ! You were in room nr 1 0 our splendid garden suite with its own private courtyard and two outside open air showers! Hope to see you back soon!
Regards
Theo
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great location in the klein karoo well worth a visit. Every room different and the decor stunning. We did not use the restaurant but got stuck in the bar on the local tipple listing to vinyl records. What an amazing experience in this charming little town.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JokerNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Glad you enjoyed our vinyl selection and record player in the bar! Guests are invited to bring their own vinyl records and play DJ in our bar. We also have a honky-tonk piano in the bar,available to guests !

Regards
Theo
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Although we stayed at Barrydale Karoo Hotel for only 1 night, it was totally awesome. Perfect little get away! Staff are super friendly and goes out of their way to assist guest. It's a very "homely" place, family friendly and GREAT food and entertainment (when entertainment is lined up) I would DEFINITELY recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you - and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
We are n true typical South African platteland country hotel- certainly NOT a boutique hotel - and are happy to hear you enjoyed our hospitality!
Regards
Theo
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I take Swiss, German, South African etc, MTB cycling groups for 2 week Eastern Cape Touring, and always finish off with a night at the BKH. I have also stopped on a few Harley tours, (probably been there 10 times)
Really cool, staff great, fantastic rooms, cool relaxed vibe, awesome wine list, well priced and the Jagermeister somehow tastes better.... :). typical Karoo saloon, klein dorpie feeling.
Definitely a win and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrydaleBarrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Yes we sell a very special unique Jagermeister here!
Barrydale is the capital of the Klein Karoo , and the best town to use as springboard to explore the whole Klein Karoo with day trips on the scenic Route 62 - be it by car/motorbike or bycycle! We offer safe off-street parking , massage services - and Jagermeister!

Regards
Theo
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
17.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
18.0 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tradouw Guest House
Tradouw Guest House
#1 of 6 in Barrydale
172 reviews
17.6 mi away
De Kloof Luxury Estate boutique hotel
0.3 mi away
The Whitehouse
The Whitehouse
#4 of 6 in Barrydale
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Art Hotel

Address: 30 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa (Formerly Barrydale Karoo Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrydale
Price Range: $95 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Karoo Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best country hotel in the whole of the Klein Karoo! An ideal stop-over between Cape Town and the Garden Route, a must-stay for any visitor! Best food and most comprehensive wine list in the whole of the Klein Karoo! ( Wine list has just been awarded a Diners Club Wine List Diamond Award - the highest award possible) ! Restaurant has just won the Klein Karoo Gourmand Award ! Loads of historic character. Most friendly staff. Rooms with balconies and views available. Character bar and great restaurant. Huge swimming pool for hot summer days. Many open fireplaces for the winter nights! Karoo hospitality. The hotel is an art gallery with many paintings by local artists on display and for sale .Some rooms with cable TV available. Staff are keen to share local things to do and to see with guests.We even have a private 40 seater private cinema for use by our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Karoo Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing