We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barrydale”
Review of Karoo Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Karoo Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrydale
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Barrydale”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had a very nice experience. Great restaurant, this is really a must.!! The owner of the restaurant is very charming.

The bar area and front veranda gives the hotel a very nice old school look and feel and is very charming.

The rooms are very comfortable. Indicate clearly if you are a smoker or not. Nice balcanies available for smokers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaHenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback!
Yes we are old-school in the sense that we hold ourselves out to be a good three star typical South African country ton hotel - and then we sprinkle some quirky spices on top of that ! But hospitality / a good bed / good food and an excellent wine list are the pillars of country Karoo hospitality - and al of these you will find here!
Regards
Theo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    136
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
66
169
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

A very interesting hotel with comfortable rooms. Eclectic décor (especially lounge and dining room) and attentive dining service. We stayed one night during the week - very quiet but one can see that weekends must be a party and a half!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
You are right ,Paul - weekends are a lot of fun!
Our live music programme is available on our website.
Hope to see you there on a weekend soon.
Regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had a fun filled weekend in Barrydale, our second visit to the Barrydale Karoo Hotel, this time a winter stay...the hotel was very cosy with a roaring log fire to keep the bar toasty, the big fireplace in the quirky lounge area is also going to add a wonderful atmosphere when it is finished being renovated, in the mean time the heater did the job and the creative Magpie lights gives it a magical atmosphere while chatting to friends and sipping on red wine! The staff are very friendly and efficient and full of bright ideas and knowledge of what's open and what to do...we spent time in the steamy hot spring pools at Warmwaterberg followed by a crazy music filled lunch at Ronnies Sex Shop and Roadkill cafe along the R62, the tapas lunch at Joubert Tradouw wine farm is also worth experiencing, sitting under the autumn coloured vines sipping chardonnay - it was a delicious experience. There is often entertainment at the hotel and we loved the Saturday night 'opskop' in the Belanti with Piet Botha and Akkadis band. Just walking around the town in the crisp evening air is good for the soul...wonderful relaxing weekend, take along your friends!!

Room Tip: The magpie room no 13 is very sunny and the front balcony rooms have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you ,and happy to hear your stay was special!
The new big fireplace/hearth in the lounge is completed and up and roaring .
It came our fantastically and there is nothing as nice as to sit in front of it on a cold Karoo night with a port chosen from our section of the best ports the Klein Karoo can offer..
Regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset east
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel reception was staffed by Wendy. A very friendly, humorous and informative Woman who told me everything I need to know to make my stay efficient and enjoyable

I was upgraded to the honeymoon suite without a bride. The suite is characterfully decorated and everything was perfectly functional.

A great steakhouse Bistro Blues is just accross the road.

The breakfast served by Mike ( Who owns the restuarant in the hotel) and his team was great. He also is a man capable of an intellegent conversation. His team is very friendly and efficient

In short, a perfect stay! I will make sure we stop over there again.

Room Tip: be nice to Wendy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pj f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
You've raised a valid point - to date we have always supplied the bridal suite on the assumption the guest will bring his own bride! We need to look into this..
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Like Sumerset East, Barrydale is a small rustic village ,full of charm and interesting things to see and local people to meet - in the bar. I have a great respect for the Karoo cuisine from the Eastern Cape's Karoo regions - our new hotel restaurant that opens on 1 July hope to soon establish a name as the best Klein Karoo table in the world! Please stop over again when passing through and put our new menu to the test.
regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We liked this hotel! Only a one night stay on our South African travels, but it was so different from other places we stayed, and in a pleasant, quirky way. Decor individual, to say the least! We were shown to one room, with a balcony overlooking the 'village' street, which would have been fine, yet within minutes were visited and offered an upgrade to the 'Garden Suite', which was even better! Nice big bed with good linens, a fine shower and it's 'own' garden area (though I did discover this could be accessed from the pool area, until I locked the adjoining gate). The staff were all pleasant and helpful, and the few 'locals' we spoke to in the bar obviously like the place. This was 'out of season' so the hotel was not full, so none of the noise some other reviewers have mentioned. Area outside the hotel was very busy in the morning with local traders, workmen etc. The breakfast was served by the privately run restaurant within the hotel, and was fair, however the food was rather lukewarm, despite being cooked 'fresh'.
If you want something quirky and different, this is the place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pob-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you - and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Yes we understand traveller's want to enjoy the full experience - which ,in totality,is more than the sum total of a good bed or a good meal etc. Our kitchen /restaurant/menu are being completely revamped and as from 1 July 2013 we will present the best authentic Klein Karoo table in the whole of the Klein Karoo - in fact,in the whole of the world! Toitnette du Toit starts as our new chef - and she is an expert on local dishes ,made from available fresh local produce. We have built a traditional bread oven just outside the kitchen for her - so from now on we bake our own bread. Secret recipes obtained from local elders will also feature! Hope to see you back when visiting SA again.
Regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glucksburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a wonderful, fun-filled one day stay with family and friends at the Barrydale Karoo Hotel during the February holidays. Had a marvelous evening in the bar! THX to all! Great Staff, the rooms were clean and cosy, with great coffee in the room.No complaints at all and extremely good food, but you must like lamb.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carstensabine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
"But you must like lamb" - I liked that !
The good news is that as from 1 July our new chef Toitnette du Toit, born and bred in Barrydale,will extend the menu and regularly change it,depending on what wonderful fresh ingredients from the area are available. And remember the coastline is just a hundred kilometres away - so do not be surprised to every now and then see us having a fresh fish braai ! But there ALWAYS will be lamb or ostrich dishes available- we are part of the Klein Karoo!
Regards
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We had a wonderful, fun-filled three day stay with family and friends at the Barrydale Karoo Hotel during the December holidays. The hotel was extremely accommodating towards my young children (3 and 5 years old). Highly recommended as a child-friendly facility.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miemie_dp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
This is the great benefit of staying for a few days - the hotel is n good home-base from which to explore the village Barrydale the surrounding Klein Karoo . Our staff are all locals from the area and can guide guests to find those secret gems you will not find in a book or on the web. Hope to see you back in good time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
17.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
18.0 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
66 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tradouw Guesthouse
Tradouw Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Barrydale
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
25 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#1 of 8 in Barrydale
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whitehouse
The Whitehouse
#4 of 6 in Barrydale
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Art Hotel

Property: Karoo Art Hotel
Address: 30 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa (Formerly Barrydale Karoo Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karoo Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best country hotel in the whole of the Klein Karoo! An ideal stop-over between Cape Town and the Garden Route, a must-stay for any visitor! Best food and most comprehensive wine list in the whole of the Klein Karoo! ( Wine list has just been awarded a Diners Club Wine List Diamond Award - the highest award possible) ! Restaurant has just won the Klein Karoo Gourmand Award ! Loads of historic character. Most friendly staff. Rooms with balconies and views available. Character bar and great restaurant. Huge swimming pool for hot summer days. Many open fireplaces for the winter nights! Karoo hospitality. The hotel is an art gallery with many paintings by local artists on display and for sale .Some rooms with cable TV available. Staff are keen to share local things to do and to see with guests.We even have a private 40 seater private cinema for use by our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Karoo Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing