We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Karoo Art Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$97
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$145
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Milner Hotel(Matjiesfontein)
$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whitehouse(Barrydale)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Schoone Oordt Country House(Swellendam)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveler rating
190
147
31
9
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
147
31
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitecape townfor salelive musicbar arearoad triplamb chopsspacious roomexecutive chefan overnight stayquirky placewooden floorsservice was excellentfood was fantasticlarge balconyhead chefold building
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 378 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Travelling is all about finding places like the Barrydale Karoo hotel. ( thanks to capetown.tv for the tip.) The drive along Route 62 to Barrydale from Cape Town is stunning ( we went via Worcester rather than the quicker southerly route and did not regret it), The hotel has no signage on the street ( in fact it still has the sign up from its previous name!) but you can't miss it - a brown (victorian era?) building with huge orange plant pots outside. Inside, a wonderfully quirky feel with impressive art lining the walls and eclectic furnishings throughout. Our room was enormous with a huge covered veranda overlooking the village and the hills beyond. The bar was friendly and had a great selection of local wines. Attached to the hotel is a wonderfully eccentric Eastern Mediterranean /North African restaurant with a Karoo twist on Mezze that was delicious. True, the hotel had no trace of our booking through their online system, the electrics in the room were as eccentric as everything else (lightswitch for the bathroom by the bed, ceiling fan that only worked with the light on), the shower was difficult to get to a pleasant temperature, the breakfast service was "relaxed" but you know what - it didn't matter. They are doing something right here and I am sure they'll iron out those little problems. I'd recommend it wholeheartedly. Travelling is about feeling that you are somewhere different, somewhere with soul. I felt that here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lbf12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Our maintenance team attended to all the quirky technical problems!
Soon coming up : the magic Clarke of the karoo restaurant moving into the hotel and taking over all foor operations/ our annual Portuguese music and food festival/ our annual blues music gestival : watch our website and Facebook site for detail !
Hope to see you again some time.
Theo Nel ( Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Had a great and very memorable stay at the Barrydale Karoo Hotel. Only stayed for one night as a stopover with 2 young kids but could have easily stayed another to explore the area had we time. We stayed in the Garden Suite which was fantastic for kids. They slept on mattresses on the floor but there was plenty of room and the enclosed patio/garden area was very private with a stunning fish pond. A covered outdoor seating area and a separate door leading to the breakfast room and pool was bonus feature. The hotel itself is very quirky and interesting to say the least. Lots of unusual artwork and armchairs(especially the two on the left of the main door. I dare you to lift the cushions!) Had the most fantastic meal in the Arabian/Morrocan style restaurant and I can still taste the delicious succulent lamb I ordered. Can honestly say it was one of the best meals I had in my Western Cape tour. I highly recommend trying to include at least a one night stay in this lovely town and hotel into your itinerary.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roisin_corr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Great review - many thanks for the positive feedback!
On your next visit to our garden suite please try our new twin his-and-her ooh-la-la outside showers !
Theo Nel (owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

My friend and I were stunned by the wonderful decor and crisp feel when we walked in after lunchtime on the 1st... A braai was in progress outside, so we sat down immediately for a sunday afternoon braai lunch, which was delicious, and excellent value at R100 each!! The pool was a great space to relax, and the budget room was very comfortable as well. Crisp white linen. The shower and basin were in the room, and the toilet down the passage was fine for us as friends.
There are lots of sofas and corners and books, which is great if you want to curl up and read.
We found the music in the bar just totally overboard - our room was vibrating from the noise!! (we were above the bar) And we like a good party, so we would imagine a slightly towned-down, classier type of music might attract a different sort of customer. So - in conclusion - if you're looking for a weekend party hotel, this is your spot!!, but if you're looking for a quiet retreat, it might not be quite suitable?? (unless you go for the garden suite, which seems divine and might be immune against the party-sounds...)

Room Tip: Rooms close to the bar will be noisy, so if you're looking for peace and quiet, ask for a room far away from it.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Sorry about the noisy music ! We do love good music though..The rooms directly above the bar are rented out at a much lower rate for this very reason - but our staff should have alerted you to the fact that those rooms are not suitable for guests wanting to have a quiet early night.. Next time please try a room in the wing away from the bar. I can really recomend our luxurious garden suite if you want peace and tranquility.
Hope to see you soon again!
Theo Nel ( Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Like Villa Kruger in Prince Albert, something totally different. Amazing decor, good service. This is a good stop over point when travelling to or from Cape Town. Route 62 is a tranquil, pleasant road, maybe an hour longer than the stressful and dangerous N1.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2012

Thank you for the kind words!
We agree with you - the Route 62 road to Barrydale is much much better than the N2.
As form July we will have a new enlarged wine list and Clarke of the Karoo restaurant operating from the hotel!
Theo Nel ( Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed overnight while on Route 62. A lovely place with a great restaurant too. The view from my bedroom reminded me of Florence, Italy.

Well worth a visit! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

thank you Paul!
Please visit us again when you are in South Africa next time!
Theo
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews