We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quirky and all the better for it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karoo Art Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karoo Art Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrydale
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“quirky and all the better for it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2012

Travelling is all about finding places like the Barrydale Karoo hotel. ( thanks to capetown.tv for the tip.) The drive along Route 62 to Barrydale from Cape Town is stunning ( we went via Worcester rather than the quicker southerly route and did not regret it), The hotel has no signage on the street ( in fact it still has the sign up from its previous name!) but you can't miss it - a brown (victorian era?) building with huge orange plant pots outside. Inside, a wonderfully quirky feel with impressive art lining the walls and eclectic furnishings throughout. Our room was enormous with a huge covered veranda overlooking the village and the hills beyond. The bar was friendly and had a great selection of local wines. Attached to the hotel is a wonderfully eccentric Eastern Mediterranean /North African restaurant with a Karoo twist on Mezze that was delicious. True, the hotel had no trace of our booking through their online system, the electrics in the room were as eccentric as everything else (lightswitch for the bathroom by the bed, ceiling fan that only worked with the light on), the shower was difficult to get to a pleasant temperature, the breakfast service was "relaxed" but you know what - it didn't matter. They are doing something right here and I am sure they'll iron out those little problems. I'd recommend it wholeheartedly. Travelling is about feeling that you are somewhere different, somewhere with soul. I felt that here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbf12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Our maintenance team attended to all the quirky technical problems!
Soon coming up : the magic Clarke of the karoo restaurant moving into the hotel and taking over all foor operations/ our annual Portuguese music and food festival/ our annual blues music gestival : watch our website and Facebook site for detail !
Hope to see you again some time.
Theo Nel ( Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    131
    27
    9
    1
See reviews for
63
164
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Had a great and very memorable stay at the Barrydale Karoo Hotel. Only stayed for one night as a stopover with 2 young kids but could have easily stayed another to explore the area had we time. We stayed in the Garden Suite which was fantastic for kids. They slept on mattresses on the floor but there was plenty of room and the enclosed patio/garden area was very private with a stunning fish pond. A covered outdoor seating area and a separate door leading to the breakfast room and pool was bonus feature. The hotel itself is very quirky and interesting to say the least. Lots of unusual artwork and armchairs(especially the two on the left of the main door. I dare you to lift the cushions!) Had the most fantastic meal in the Arabian/Morrocan style restaurant and I can still taste the delicious succulent lamb I ordered. Can honestly say it was one of the best meals I had in my Western Cape tour. I highly recommend trying to include at least a one night stay in this lovely town and hotel into your itinerary.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roisin_corr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Great review - many thanks for the positive feedback!
On your next visit to our garden suite please try our new twin his-and-her ooh-la-la outside showers !
Theo Nel (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

My friend and I were stunned by the wonderful decor and crisp feel when we walked in after lunchtime on the 1st... A braai was in progress outside, so we sat down immediately for a sunday afternoon braai lunch, which was delicious, and excellent value at R100 each!! The pool was a great space to relax, and the budget room was very comfortable as well. Crisp white linen. The shower and basin were in the room, and the toilet down the passage was fine for us as friends.
There are lots of sofas and corners and books, which is great if you want to curl up and read.
We found the music in the bar just totally overboard - our room was vibrating from the noise!! (we were above the bar) And we like a good party, so we would imagine a slightly towned-down, classier type of music might attract a different sort of customer. So - in conclusion - if you're looking for a weekend party hotel, this is your spot!!, but if you're looking for a quiet retreat, it might not be quite suitable?? (unless you go for the garden suite, which seems divine and might be immune against the party-sounds...)

Room Tip: Rooms close to the bar will be noisy, so if you're looking for peace and quiet, ask for a room f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Sorry about the noisy music ! We do love good music though..The rooms directly above the bar are rented out at a much lower rate for this very reason - but our staff should have alerted you to the fact that those rooms are not suitable for guests wanting to have a quiet early night.. Next time please try a room in the wing away from the bar. I can really recomend our luxurious garden suite if you want peace and tranquility.
Hope to see you soon again!
Theo Nel ( Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

Like Villa Kruger in Prince Albert, something totally different. Amazing decor, good service. This is a good stop over point when travelling to or from Cape Town. Route 62 is a tranquil, pleasant road, maybe an hour longer than the stressful and dangerous N1.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2012
Thank you for the kind words!
We agree with you - the Route 62 road to Barrydale is much much better than the N2.
As form July we will have a new enlarged wine list and Clarke of the Karoo restaurant operating from the hotel!
Theo Nel ( Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed overnight while on Route 62. A lovely place with a great restaurant too. The view from my bedroom reminded me of Florence, Italy.

Well worth a visit! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
thank you Paul!
Please visit us again when you are in South Africa next time!
Theo
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed over a weekend for 1 night. We were booked into a room with 2 single beds, asked to get moved which was no problem at all. Bed in the new room was like a bouncy castle so we asked to move again (I have a bad back so I'd suffer a bad bed badly!). Rooms clearly haven't always been 'non smoking', which wasn't great for 2 non smokers. Got back at night and there was a party nearby until the small hours which allowed us no sleep in our now third room, so we asked again to move to the other side of the hotel, which again was no problem, and finally we got some sleep. Breakfast was brilliant though, and when the pool is ready that will be great also. The staff are as helpful and friendly as you're likely to get, I just think they have a challenge with the place. We're not fussy people, but 3 of the 4 rooms we were in were very sub standard.

Room Tip: Don't go for the 'basic' rooms, spend a little more and you'll get a lot more at thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We are truly sorry about the unfortunate experience of our guests and would like to apologise unresevedly to them. They were budget room guests and for that reason did not get our best ( more expensive) rooms, up to the end when they were upgraded free of charge as a token of our apology for the inconvenience suffered by them. My staff reports that naln and partner acted graciuosly and friendly at all times , for which we thank them. The good news is that we learn from our mistakes and that we are improving the standard of our services from day to day. Readers are invited to read the other Tripadvisor reviews - which will make it clear that we are in general held in high esteem by our guests! To say that 3 of the 4 rooms seen by them were "very sub-standard" is however too harsh and unwarrented. Firstly they opted for our budget rooms - we also have more luxurious rooms available but off course one pays more for them! The fact that one room had two single beds; another's mattress was found too soft for a guest with a particular back problem ; and the third one was a bit noisy because of some party going on nearby that particular nigh hardly makes those rooms " very sub standard". However - our swimming poool is now fully renovated. It is summer time in the Klein Karoo and much fun is to be had at our hotel this summer season. See our website for our live music entertainment and our special packages for the Christmas and New Year's weekend packages! Naln and partner are invited to contact me upon their next visit to SOuth Africa for a complimentary stay in my hotel to make up to them. regards from sunny South Africa, Theo Nel ( Owner) theo@barrydalekaroohotel.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Spent an evening here and was very impressed with the management of the hotel. Very professional and organized, and helpful. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: I walked around and looked at several of the rooms, they all looked good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsOnTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrydaler, Owner at Karoo Art Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Many thanks ! Your comments are appreciated and have been brough to the attention of all staff - smiles all around !
Regards
Theo ( Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
17.3 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
18.0 mi away
Swellengrebel Hotel
Swellengrebel Hotel
#3 of 4 in Swellendam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tradouw Guesthouse
Tradouw Guesthouse
#1 of 6 in Barrydale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#1 of 9 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorgvry - House of Guests
Sorgvry - House of Guests
#2 of 6 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karoo Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karoo Art Hotel

Property: Karoo Art Hotel
Address: 30 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa (Formerly Barrydale Karoo Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Barrydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karoo Art Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the best country hotel in the whole of the Klein Karoo! An ideal stop-over between Cape Town and the Garden Route, a must-stay for any visitor! Best food and most comprehensive wine list in the whole of the Klein Karoo! ( Wine list has just been awarded a Diners Club Wine List Diamond Award - the highest award possible) ! Restaurant has just won the Klein Karoo Gourmand Award ! Loads of historic character. Most friendly staff. Rooms with balconies and views available. Character bar and great restaurant. Huge swimming pool for hot summer days. Many open fireplaces for the winter nights! Karoo hospitality. The hotel is an art gallery with many paintings by local artists on display and for sale .Some rooms with cable TV available. Staff are keen to share local things to do and to see with guests.We even have a private 40 seater private cinema for use by our guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Karoo Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing