We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great in which place to commence our SA vacation.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradouw Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tradouw Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 6 Barrydale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A great in which place to commence our SA vacation.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I continue to be both delighted & amazed at the high quality of the B&B accommodation in this beautiful country. Tradouw Guest House is way up there at the top of the tree.

We stayed here for the first 2 nights of our latest SA vacation, having driven straight here after landing at 07.00 hrs at CPT. We received a warm welcome from Leon & were shown to our delightful room overlooking the huge & beautiful rear garden. We were soon relaxing on the sun chairs & watching with amusement as the chickens went about their daily routine.

In the evening, while we were waiting for Dennis to cook our delicious evening meal, we were entertained by Leon over a few glasses of wine in the cute little bar. We were also introduced to Delphine.

After a delicious breakfast served in the beautiful covered garden, we spent a relaxing morning in this beautiful Karoo town before exploring the magnificent Tradouw Pass. This is highly recommended.

In the evening before dinner at Clarke's, we were again entertained by Leon over a couple of cold ones. Leon really is a delightful & friendly host.

All too soon we were on our way along Route 62 towards Knysna. Thanks to Leon, Dennis & Delphine for such a wonderfully happy start to our holiday. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicmeljones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    27
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
88
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a small gem in Barrydale: comfortable rooms, a shady courtyard, extensive gardens (shared with the chickens), friendly hosts and excellent breakfasts all at a good price, make the Tradouw Guesthouse a no-brainer whether you're on route elsewhere or using Barrydale as a base for exploring the Little Karoo. I

Room Tip: If you'd like a slightly larger room, ask for one of the 'garden rooms'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for only one night in January 2013. The place is lovely decorated with simple but nice rooms. The room was clean and the place is run by very professional friendly hosts. Breakfast was good as well. Also we were provided with an awesome tip for dinner: the blue bistro which lies within walking distance of 10 minutes. I think I had the best steak of my life there.
Sitting in the lovely garden of tradouws with a gin-tonic and wine after dinner will be unforgotten.
If you are looking for a high-class luxury stay you are definitely wrong here but if you are just looking for a nice, clean, simple stay with very friendly surrounding you will be absolutely right in that place. We really enjoyed the stay there and will surely come back once we're in the area of barrydale again. Nothing to complain about here.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We ( a party of three) stayed twice: once for an hour on our way through to Shamwari, then on our way back for a night. This is a gem of a place, the setting, the ecclectic charm of the interiors, a bar (that I would love to dismantle, ship to Switzerland and put up in my study) and a garden of delights. Together with Leon's conversational skills (he makes the most elaborate comments on photographs) and professional excellence and the occasional sound of opera coming from the kitchen(?) this amounts to one of the best places I have ever stayed at. If I ever think of writing a novel or a lengthy poem away from the wife and the kids, this is where I'd set up camp.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Petridis56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Wonderful welcoming guest house full of charm. Just a few rooms either opening onto a peaceful, shady courtyard or the lovely back garden. Ours was very comfortable with a wonderful shower. Plenty of places to sit and chill, both inside and out, surrounded by a wonderful collection of 'stuff', with books to borrow. Fabulous small bar! Great conversation from Leon who couldn't be more helpful, delicious breakfast in relaxing surroundings. There was only one problem - we should have stayed longer!!! Perfect for catching your breath in a hectic road trip, don't miss it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatosKatossley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Not five star place, but place of five flowers and dozens of old, interesting gadgets! Really enjoyable place for refreshing stop. Room is not that big, but full of nice features - and gives You good sleep and needed shower. Garden is really beautiful, with those cats. But most of all: staff! Leon gave us many great advices and is a person who told us many details, which had made us wonder during previous days.
Also breakfast was great, seated in garden under vines.
Barrydale is nice, safe stop on Route 62 and Tradouw Guesthouse is the place for night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ettelbruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

An excellent welcome, an excellent private room, excellent recommendations for dinner, and a superb breakfast. Our hosts were most helpful. We stayed here in a tour arranged by our daughter to see the highlights of the Swartberg area, and this was one.

Room Tip: We stayed because it was a great stop over en route. The rooms were private and had our own access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 111Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
0.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
17.5 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sorgvry - House of Guests
Sorgvry - House of Guests
#2 of 6 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#1 of 9 in Barrydale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Cow Barn
Blue Cow Barn
#3 of 9 in Barrydale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradouw Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradouw Guesthouse

Property: Tradouw Guesthouse
Address: 46 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barrydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradouw Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradouw Guest House offers standard value for money small comfortable rustic private and quiet bedrooms for overnight or longer stays. Quoted rates are for bed only with full breakfast optional, thereby giving guests the choice of not having breakfast should they wish to sleep in late, or enjoy breakfast at one of the many restaurants in Barrydale. The building, one of the oldest in the village dates back to the late 1800s and was once the local trading store in the town. Situated in the charming village of Barrydale just off the now famous Route 62. There are 6 bedrooms outside the main house, four with a small bathroom with shower opening onto a vine covered courtyard and two larger queen bedded rooms with private patio and en suite shower facilities opening onto a large private landscaped Garden with abundant birdlife. There is a Guest Lounge with open fire place and various board games.Listen to music from Leons extensive collection of Classical, Opera and Broadway musicals. Relax, unwind or go for a walk through our extended indigenous gardens across the road from the guesthouse. Spend some time in Barrydale and experience the natural wonders of the Little Karoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tradouw Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing