We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth stoping to spend the night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tradouw Guest House
Ranked #1 of 6 Barrydale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“worth stoping to spend the night”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I dont think I can add to the recent reviews.
The guesthouse is back in the 60s,but very clean and a good food.
nice garden to have your sundowners and another garden opp. the guesthouse to spend time in. Its a must if you are in the area. If Leon reads this review thanks for the beer.

Room Tip: Ask for the room opp. the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    27
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
89
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rodgau
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stopped over in Barrydale on our way along Route 62 and stayed in Tradouw Guesthouse for one night only - unfortunately! The guesthouse is such a special place - we felt taken back to the "good old times". It is full of antique items in the dining room, it also has a quaint little bar with beautiful old turntables.
Leon is such a gentle man who looks after each one of his guests so well. It is a real pleasure to share his company. His partner Denis prefers to stay in the background (= kitchen); he cooked a wonderful 3-course meal for us - we loved the springbock carpaccio! We had breakfast in the garden under the vines - it was delicious, too.
The garden in the back is very spacious, you can find lots of quiet corners on the grounds to relax and enjoy. There is another amazing garden belonging to the house accross the street with a medicine wheel, a petanque court, orchard and "Priscilla"
We would have loved to extend our stay... We will definitely come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We needed an overnight to break up the drive on route 62 (which by the way is a MUST if in SA... Amazing scenery - maybe the best in my opinion) so we stayed here. Not only were we greeted by the most charming and helpful host in Leon but were treated to a wonderful home cooked 3 course meal too courtesy of Dennis.

This is maybe my favorite guesthouse I've ever been to. traveling is all about the people you meet and these guys were great.. and couldn't do more for us. plus it was such great value for money. Barrydale was also the nicest town in this area for me and was a perfect stop. Maybe one of my favorite on our whole travel through SA.

Why stay in a normal hotel when you can join these guys for an evening, just looking through their collection of antiques and prized possessions are worth the stop alone. great bar great food and lovely rooms.

Thanks again to the owners. 100% 10/10 5*s all the way from the "famous 5" from UK

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWS81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk UK
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Only stayed for one night but did not want to leave at all the next day. Leon is a charming and attentive host and Dennis a fantastic chef we had a lovely 3 course meal and delicious local wine. Met Priscilla the next morning and were made to feel so welcome. The gardens are lovely a real treat, wonderful breakfast in a lovely setting.
The dining room has a great atmosphere and reflects the taste of Leon and Dennis
Thanks

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easterntravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

South Africa is blessed with many delightful and affordable small hotels and B and Bs - but The Tradouw Guest house is unique and very special. It has drawn us back each year for the last ten years. Dennis and Leon are the ultimate hosts and have created a style that is "old world, shabby chic" which evokes a timeless yesterday world of courtesy and kindness. Here one can chill out and gear down and reconnect with oneself.
Oh, and by the way, the simple rooms are very comfortable and clean and all en suite. The food conjured up by Dennis is simply delicious. Arrange for evening meals and you will feast on proper home cooked food cooked with great care and attention to detail. There are treats around every corner : A lovely garden with good shade and many birds, a delightful vine covered courtyard, Would you like to play petanque or tickle the ears of a pot-bellied piggy - or explore the American Indian medicine garden ? Its all there for your pleasure - and more besides. Please ENJOY.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celiajm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We found this place entirely by chance and it is a gem. It is not fancy, no air con, no fridge but real Africa. All in keeping with the special atmosphere created by Leon and Denis. They provided basic but delicious Lasagne, made by Denis, at short notice after our tired arrival in the evening. Room was quaint and comfortable; very clean. We loved the dated furniture and furnishings in the public spaces. A fascinating small bar. Breakfast outside was a delight. Leon was full of humour and stories: a lovely man. Staying at this place was a great experience.
Highly recommended: five star atmosphere and great value. Would definitely visit again. A great over night stop on this long journey to the garden route.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is truly a gem of a place to stay. The owners Leon and Dennis are wonderful people. Leon kept us amused with his stories and great hospitality during our two day stay and Dennis cooks the most delicious food. We enjoyed his breakfasts and the two evening meals that he prepared for us. Leon kept on insisting that it was simple home cooked food but it was delicious and beautifully served. The rooms are simple but spotlessly clean and the gardens a haven of peace and tranquility. You won't find anywhere better to stay and we will most definitely return and would not hesitate in recommending this guest house. Thank you Dennis and Leon for welcoming us into your home, we arrived as strangers but left as friends.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittledogNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrydale
0.3 mi away
Karoo Art Hotel
Karoo Art Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barrydale
334 reviews
17.5 mi away
Schoone Oordt Country House
0.5 mi away
The Karoo Moon Motel
The Karoo Moon Motel
#3 of 6 in Barrydale
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Whitehouse
The Whitehouse
#4 of 6 in Barrydale
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy's Place
Sandy's Place
#1 of 8 in Barrydale
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sorgvry - House of Guests
Sorgvry - House of Guests
#2 of 6 in Barrydale
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradouw Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradouw Guest House

Property: Tradouw Guest House
Address: 46 Van Riebeeck Street, Barrydale 6750, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Barrydale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Barrydale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradouw Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tradouw Guest House offers value for money comfortable rustic private and quiet en-suite bedrooms for overnight or longer stays. Quoted rates are for bed only with full breakfast optional, thereby giving guests the choice of not having breakfast should they wish to sleep in late, or enjoy breakfast at one of the many restaurants in Barrydale. The building, dates back to the late 1800s and was once the local trading store in the town. Situated in the charming village of Barrydale just off the now famous Route 62. There are 6 bedrooms outside the main house, four with a small bathroom with shower opening onto a vine covered courtyard and two larger queen bedded rooms with private patio and en suite shower facilities opening onto a large private landscaped Garden with abundant bird life. There is a Guest Lounge with open fire place and various board games.Listen to music from Leons extensive collection of Classical, Opera, Broadway musicals and his all time favorite French singer Jacques Brel. Relax, unwind or go for a walk through our large extended indigenous gardens across the road from the guesthouse meet our family of sheep and cows and take a stroll down to the to the river. Spend some time in Barrydale and experience the Little Karoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tradouw Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing