We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Englishman in the Karoo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarke of the Karoo

Clarke of the Karoo
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Barrydale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
246 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“An Englishman in the Karoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Mike Clarke is now in the Barrydale Karoo Hotel, where he runs his restaurant from a deliciously eclectic venue, screeded floors, real floor to ceiling trees and some great candlesticks.

What we liked was the personal attention we received from staff and Mike himself. Having spent 11 years in the area he knows it well and is happy to dispense anecdotes and information.

But onto the food - when in the Karoo it's all about lamb. We were offered what sounded like a unusual warthog cappaccio to start , but were warned that if we had this we may not have space for the very delicious curry we selected for the main course. Mine was the lamb roti (smaller than the "official" lamb curry.. My partner's dish was generous, whereas mine was a for me just right. We both enjoyed the meal especially the plate of little extras (relishes etc). Our wine was a Pheasants run Sauvignon blanc - award winning and we were in no doubt as to why..
Our two hotel breakfasts were also great and we appreciated staff going the extra mile to offer us a table on the verandah overlooking the main street, vineyard and mountains beyond.Over our two day stay we sampled the French toast, omelette and health breakfast all of which were really good.
Will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tweet G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    52
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
st simons island, ga
Level Contributor
159 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What a surprise. Worth a detour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

This posting is one of several reporting on our Aug. 2012 family trip (2 grandparents, 2 parents, two 10 year olds) to Johannesburg (Westcliff Hotel), Victoria Falls (Royal Livingstone Hotel), Botswana (Camps: Kwetsani, Little Mombo, Jack's Camp). All booked through the tour operator Africa Odyssy. An add-on trip was done by myself & husband to Cape Town, Plett Bay & Franschook in the winelands, booked through Travel Butlers.

We stumbled on this restaurant (in Barryville in the hotel, down off the main road) going from Plett Bay to Franschook via the N62.

I had fantastic Karoo Lamb curry!!! Good wine. Nice European feeling room. Wonderful host!! Small fire going. Lots of charm and such a surprise find

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jjssi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food in the middle of nowhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

They have moved, and are now in the hotel with all the flags. I had a very nice potato soup and salad and my boyfriend raved about his lamb curry. The new dining room is somehow both cozy and modern; love the fireplace especially.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redlefgnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals of Our Lives!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this amazing little restaurant - the best lamb curry and lamb burger we've every had. We were passing by on our drive from Oudtshoorn to Franschoek and what an amazing restaurant. Fresh ingredients, tasty food and beautifully presented. It was our most memorable meal on our trip and we wish we could go back! Love this place and don't pass by without trying something here!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

I had breakfast at Clarke of the Karoo. After reading such rave reviews about the food I just had to go and was delighted with what I found. I had the haddock and parmesan omelette for breakfast. After a week of bacon and eggs it was a wonderful change, but so beautifully made and delicious that I ate the whole thing. No mean feat given the generous portion sizes.

The coffee was really good, just a pity no cappuccinos but hopefully that may change given the new plans on the cards.

Mike (the owner) was such a great host, lovely to talk to and full of suggestions about things to see and do in the area. Thanks Mike for your kindness and the happy hour drinks at the Barrydale Karoo hotel. Next time round I'm buying!

Go, eat, drink and be very merry. A wonderful place to eat, probably the best food I had on my route 62 trip.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clarke of the Karoo also viewed

Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
Barrydale, Overberg District
 
Barrydale, Overberg District
 

Been to Clarke of the Karoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing