We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How Amazing is this place...!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ulusaba Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ulusaba Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“How Amazing is this place...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

We went to South Africa to get married and we could never have found a more amazing place to do it!

We flew in by light aircraft and were met by our ranger Greg who met us with champagne before taking us to our lodge. We stayed in Safari Lodge and got upgraded two levels to a River Room which was the most amazing room I have ever stayed in!

It was reached by a rope bridge, was totally self contained with a massive four poster bed, wood everywhere and a huge bathroom with Virgin toiletries! The mini bar was fully stocked, including Moet champagne!

Everythng about this place is amazing and magical - the staff cant do enough for you, make you feel like one of the family. The rangers are passionate about the bush and the animals and go out of their way to make sure you see everything possible. The food is amazing and the all inclusive bar had every drink imaginable including some vintage wines and whiskeys - we were just told to help ourselves to the bar as very often there would be nobody manning it, which suited us!

our wedding day was lovely, so chilled out and stress free. We came away by ourselves, so the ceremony consisted of our minister (Carl, who was lovely), the manager and head of housekeeping were our witnesses. Our ranger came too as did the beutician who came to my room to help me get dressed, did my make up and provided me with more champagne! My now husband propped up the bar with the manager for a while as I was late! We got married in Rock Lodge overlooking the bush at sunset. Afterwards, we had cake and canapes then African dancers came down and danced and sang for us which was a lovely surprise. We then jumped in our Land Rover to meet up with our group for our evening safari where we were met with more champagne, then we had a private dinner in our room - the chef said he would cook us anything we wanted!

We only stayed three days as its not cheap here, but was worth every penny and have made my husband promise to take me back there for our fifth wedding anniversary!!

  • Liked — Everything was beautiful, well mainained and blended in with the environment - pure luxury
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
62
240
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2007

On July 27, I along with my children, ages 12 (girl) and 10 (boy) as well as my aunt, stayed at the Rock Suite at Ulusaba! The staff, the luxury, the FOOD, the game drives, the ATMOSPHERE of the BUSH are absolutely mindblowing! This is a place where everyone including the security officers that accompany and guide you back to your room at night (you are in the habitat of God's BIG FIVE) know you by name. Ulusaba literally tailored my picky eating children's food so that they never thought twice about whether or not they were going to enjoy a meal!

From moment you arrive, you are greeted by you ranger and escorted from the plane tarp to the luxurious accomodations of Ulusaba. To personalize your stay, they had books inscribed to each one of us individually along with backpacks loaded with snacks and games for the kids!

I personally felt that Ulusaba became my EDEN! From the hustle of the big city USA life, Ulusaba does a wonderful job of making certain your stay is relaxed, and filled with as much game action, anyone can tolerate short of a National Georgraphic experience! From the Elephant to the Impala, Ulusaba's trackers and rangers have to be some of the best in South Africa! I sing the praises of Anios (our tracker) and Steve (our ranger). Whatever animal we wanted to see, it didn't take long before we were within 10 feet of them. Imagine being 4 feet from 5 fully grown male lions with only a spotlight and and an engine running! Incredible! Or seeing a Leopard devour her prey in the tree while Hyeanas await her leftover bones!

Even the massge therapist did such an incredible job that I fell asleep and awoke to my own snoring! Talk about relaxed!!!!!!
To add a touch of exhuberance, Sir Richard Branson's cosmetic line of body washes, VIE, left us feeling fresh and clean while having had 2 Safari drives per day for 4 days. ULUSABA is my official place to stay and play! Kudoos to the ROCK LODGE STAFF!

  • Liked — Ulimate luxury
  • Disliked — Threadcount of sheets! I'm a bit of a snob and like soft sheets!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MINGELEYWALKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2007

Truly an amazing, uplifting experience! I will break the review down into sections: Airport/transfers, Lodge, Room, Staff, Ranger and Tracker, and Overall Experience.

Airport/Transfers:
You are met by your ranger at the airport, greeted with a hearty welcome and a glass of champagne. A great way to start off your day after arrival. The ranger takes you to the lodge so you can settle in before your first evening game drive.

Lodge:
Oh my! What’s to be said that has not been already. We got a chance to view both Safari and Rock Lodges and while both of them are incredible for different reasons, I must say my preference resides with Safari Lodge for its luxury in the bush feel! You are so close to the action and the sound of animals in the mornings is a wonderful thing to wake to! The rope bridges really add to the feel of the exclusivity of the lodge and they are quite fun to cross after your wine in the evenings. It has a real open feel in all of the rooms and there are real trees that some of the rooms are built around growing and swaying in the rooms themselves! There is a natural beauty in the use of wood and rock, yet a contemporary look in some areas as well.

Rooms:
We were fortunate enough to view all 3 types of rooms. Our room was the Elephant room. I would book that same room every time. We loved it! We also saw one of the River rooms and 2 of the Safari rooms. All 3 are lovely. The main differences between the rooms are size and privacy. The safari rooms are a bit smaller, especially in the bathroom area and they are closer and on the path of the main lodge so there is quite a bit less privacy. That being said, the rooms are still lovely and the back porches have great animal viewings. The River rooms are the largest rooms and the furthest away from the main lodge, so the most private. I would say if you can do it, the Elephant room which is not quite as large as River, but still fairly big and still very private is worth the extra over the safari rooms. The open shower and bathtub with animal viewing opportunities exists in all 3 room types and are fabulous! I wanted to take the bathroom (and the view) home with me, sadly, they do not allow this nor will they let you take home the remarkably beautiful and comfortable beds.

Staff:
The friendliest, kindest, most amazing people. They make you feel right at home and you truly want for nothing! Some of them had schedules that allowed them to join us for some of the dinners and this was one of the highlights of our trips. Getting to know the people that live there, work there and see the soul of the place in them, was a wonderful experience. Ulusaba would not be what it is without their efforts.

Ranger and Tracker:
Although all the Rangers and trackers are wonderful, we praise the name of Trevor and Jack! We swear they must have X-Ray vision and secret powers to accomplish what they do and to know what they know! These two work extraordinarily well together as a team. There was nothing they would not do to track down an animal, yet both of them very respectful of the animals and would not do anything to jeopardize the animal or interfere with its ordinary behavior or disturb them in any way. We loved that! They both contained so much knowledge about so many things and were fun as well! Although there are stated amounts of time for the game drive, they certainly would not rush you back when something amazing was happening and they always seemed to locate something amazing! You can see they trust each other and the chemistry between them enhances the whole experience. Thank you Trevor and Jack, the only 2 we would ever want again!

Overall experience:
We traveled for 26 hours total to get there and spent only 4 nights. We would travel another 26 hours to spend only 2 nights if that’s all we could get. That’s how amazing the entire experience was and we hope to get back there again!

  • Liked — Game Drives
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank oinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2007

What can be said that has not already been expressed in earlier reviews about the Safari Lodge at Ulusaba, this place really is a piece of Heaven on Earth!!

The animals on the game drives are in abundance and you get to within 6 feet of all of them. Amongst others we saw Rhino, Hippo, Buffalo, Wildebeast & Giraffe. Our jeep even sat in the middle of a heard of 40 Elephants including baby Elephants whilst they passed us by without a care in the world. We saw a female Leopard playing and teaching her young off spring how to stay safe up a tree. A heard of Zebra with all their young in tow, a pack of 6 Lion's all brothers vying for the attention of two Lionesses. And on the final day we even had the rare sighting of two 6 week old lion cubs hiding in bushes by the dry banks of the river while mum was out hunting for their dinner.

The accommodation, food, service, staff, all the rangers and trackers at the Safari Lodge were amazing throughout our stay and if I could have rated this review higher I would have.

As well as being there to view the wide range of animals on the game drives and experience the impeccable service that the Safari lodge offers myself and my fiancee were there to get married. We were extremely lucky that 15 of our closest family and friends also made the trip to Ulusaba to witness this special occasion with us.
We all stayed at the Safari Lodge on a Premium Exclusive basis for a total of 4 nights/5 days and on our 3rd night at sunset we were married on the viewing deck at Rock Lodge, before going on an evening game drive in our wedding attire (where we saw a Serval - very rare our ranger Duard soon advised!) to our secret bush wedding reception location.
Imagine ours and our guests surprise when driving around a corner in the middle of the bush we saw all the trees lit up by fairy lights, a fully stocked bar, a disco with dance floor+glitter ball hanging from a tree, table seating for 20, a complete kitchen, outside toilets, seated quite zone, African dancers etc etc.. and to top all this towards the end of the night we even had a few gate crashers, a pack of 6 Hyenas decided to join us after being attracted by the smell of the food. Truly unforgettable!!

If you are looking for a Safari that guarantees you the Big 5 and more or if you are looking for somewhere unique to get married and want to do a Safari as well, then the Safari Lodge at Sir Richard Bransons Private Game Reserve Ulusaba will exceed all your wishes and present you with some truly magical and memorable experiences.

We will never forget this place and we cannot wait to go back!

Helpful?
3 Thank thebuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2006

Ulusaba is out of this world. we can only give this five stars because there isn't an option to give it any more. All of the reviews and pictures cannot do it justice you really have to experience Ulusaba to understand.
When we initially booked this we did think it was expensive when we came away we thought it was value for money for such a lifetime experience

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicemule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2006

We spent 3 nights here in september and it is by far the best travel experience we have ever had, and we can list some smart places! From the reception at the airstrip by your ranger through the amazing rooms and grat staff. They have thought of everything and can't do enough for you. Our Ranger and Tracker, Phillip and Joe where great, always finding animals and very knowledgable and friendly.
Can't praise this place enough. I have no idea where the single poor reviewer stayed but it wasn't this resort!
It's expensive, but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank bagpuss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2006

My wife and I have travelled many times to Africa and have experince different lodges BUT, I have to say that Ulusaba Game Reserve is the best we have EVER experience!! From the location of the lodge, to the food, to friendliness staff (nothing is too much trouble) and the amazing game drives, there is nothing i can fault this faboulous Lodge. I would definitively recommend Ulusaba lodge to all of our friends and family. My wife and i had such a fantastic time that we did not want to leave Ulusaba (my wife even cried when we left !) . If you have not been to Ulusaba you have not lived! We can not wait to go back! In fact we have already booked our next trip to this magical place called Ulusaba. Watch this space we will be back and back again....

  • Liked — the game Drive, staff and food! Everything really!
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Katya&Spencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
2.0 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
9.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
5.2 mi away
Savanna Private Game Reserve
Savanna Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#7 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#12 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
15.9 mi away
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
andBeyond Kirkman's Kamp
#10 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulusaba Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulusaba Safari Lodge

Property: Ulusaba Safari Lodge
Address: Sabi Sand, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ulusaba Safari Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari Lodge is built along the banks of the dry Mabrak riverbed. The 11 rooms at Safari Lodge include a Treehouse Suite overlooking the nearby Xikwenga Dam as well as three other room types: Safari, Elephant and River Rooms, some of which have private plunge pools. Kids over the age of 12 are welcome to stay at Safari Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ulusaba Safari Hotel Ulusaba Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing