We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply amazing!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ulusaba Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply amazing!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was our second trip to Ulusaba within 4 months - loved it so much the first time couldn't wait to go back! Everything about the place is simply superb, especially the staff. Kim and Blair (just to name a couple of the front of house staff) were so welcoming, and nothing was a problem! Then there are the game drives - Wow! You get so incredibly close to the animals it really is quite unbelievable, our ranger Brandon and tracker David were so knowledgeable - and so much fun - many laughs were had! I unfortunately injured my knee whilst out on drive, but the treatment, care and attention shown by all staff was wonderful. The third visit is already booked - and the countdown is on till our return!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, General Manager at Ulusaba Safari Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Two trips to Ulusaba within four months! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy Ulusaba so much and thank you for sharing your wonderful comments. The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back for your third visit very soon.

Have a magic day!
Karl Langdon
General Manager
Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    8
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
62
241
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

4 weeks ago we arrived at Ulusaba safari lodge...we absolutely loved it. Everything was fantastic and first class. The staff could not be more helpful;.....our Ranger, Sean,was so knowledgeable about every type of animal and bird we saw as well as being great fun. He and James our tracker,made sure we got to see what we went there for and the Amarula hot chocolates were the best on the early morning safari drives!!
We will definitely be back to visit Ulusaba Safari Lodge.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Elephant rooms which we really liked. Some of the other rooms at Ulusaba are a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARoberts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, General Manager at Ulusaba Safari Lodge, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests especially regarding our staff. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We’re delighted that you loved your safari experience at Ulusaba and that the Amarula hot chocolate every morning was a welcome treat, a must for every visit. We hope to you see you again very soon.

Have a magic day!
Karl Langdon
General Manager
Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is our 3rd visit to Ulusaba & this is the only place on the planet we ever go back to on holiday.

We stayed 7 nights in a safari room-well some of the time anyway & the rooms are totally adequate for what is required. A friend had a Elephant room and this was larger, but that was about it. The tree house suite was fantastic and if you can stretch to the cost you won't be disappointed.

The game viewing in February was very good even though the bush was very green. The game is there but is brought to life by the knowledge of your ranger and guide. Philip & Anton were ours and Phil's knowledge is encyclopaedic, I cannot recommend those 2 highly enough.

There is a fantastic selection of top flight South African wines which you are more than welcome to choose from and the wine cellar makes for a lovely dinner setting for a special evening or 2. The food selection is excellent and there is plenty of choice.

Rock lodge is lovely but more compact in the public areas and therefore we prefer Safari lodge, probably best for the 1st time if you do a couple of nights at each and then make you own choice for your next visit!

The viewing platform at Safari lodge is a 800 metre walk across rope bridges and raised wooden walkways, a lovely walk looking down on the game below & a great way to spend a couple of hours watching hippos, crocs, fish eagles, elephants & any other animal that chooses to visit the dam.

The staff are fantastic and nothing is ever too my trouble. The 2 general managers are Karl & Llane and they are legendary, without them Ulusaba would be a poorer place. Kim & Blair (the the rest of the staff) manning Safari Lodge are great examples of what hospitality is all about.

If you are considering a safari please go to Ulusaba you will not be disappointed.

We hated the whole experience so much we have already booked to go back next year!!

Thank you to all at Ulusaba & keep it up, you have set the bar high

Mark & Anne-Marie

Room Tip: Pay your money and take your pick, there all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antipest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a three night stay at Ulusaba where the four of us stayed at the magnificently appointed Cliff Lodge. There have been a plethora of superlatives from earlier posts on tripadvisor which normally puts you on alert but I have to say we pretty much have to agree with all of them. The people normally make the experience and this was most definitely the case here. Calvin and John looked after us on our game drives and displayed great patience in dealing with us, shared their vast knowledge of the wildlife and bush with us and even assisted with photographing techniques.
At the lodge Antoine and Shane could not have done more to make the rest of the day more comfortable. Antoine always had our glasses full and Shane's culinary skills never left us hungry with a diversity of menu that could have shamed a top restaurant.
Every day was a new adventure and although it is an early start you look forward to it - we saw pretty much everything thanks to John and Calvin, traversing even the most unlikely ground to get a better angle on a lion or leopard without been obtrusive to the animal.
We had a brief tour of Safari lodge which was also stunning but our preference was where we had chosen. We sadly missed out on a boma experience with the Shangaan dancers but that leaves us an excuse to go back again....

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scubanut62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, General Manager at Ulusaba Safari Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Cliff Lodge. We feel incredibly blessed that our job is to try and ensure all our guests have a unique bush adventure when staying with us. Credit goes to each and every member of our Ulusaba Family who represent the true spirit of the Lodge and aim to create the magic we hope you experienced. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes
Karl Langdon
General Manager of Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitges
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have just returned from 6 nights at Ulusaba, 3 of these nights were spent at Safari Lodge and the other 3 at Rock Lodge. I am reviewing Safari lodge here. We stayed in River room 2, which is an absolutely gorgeous room with a large sitting area, sundeck, very large bathroom and the best of the room was it's position, the sundeck overlooks an area which attracts all the wild animals, whilst we stayed here a herd of over 30 elephants came right outside the room, as did a number of other animals.

The main lodge provides the communal area and this is where the delicious food and drinks are served, every meal we had was really good and introduced by the chef. We also requested private dining in the wine cellar which provided for a really special night;s dining in the stars and alongside the dry river bed.

The drives were the really special part of this experience, we were lucky enough to have two great guys for our drives, Rico was our ranger and Orange was our tracker, together they made the 7 hours a day we spent with them extra special. They went that extra mile to find animals that you asked them for and on most drives we saw 3 or 4 of the big 5 and one morning saw all 5 in the one drive. Over and above that Rico and Orange were really friendly and we had a great laugh with them as well - as far as we are concerned the star of the show!

This was our first experience at Safari and now we are hooked and intend to return to Ulusaba next year!

Thanks to everyone on the team for making our stay so memorable and so so special.

Room Tip: River room 2 provides the best outlook and facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryWhite40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRINCETON, NJ
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Just spent 4 days at Safari Lodge and would highly recommend the experience. Our ranger Ryan was a delightful wealth of knowledge and did everything to make our stay perfect. It is a small lodge never overwhelming and low key. You need minimal amount of clothing because daily laundry is included.They even have rain parkas in the range rovers for each guest! We saw the Big Five and more in our short 3 night stay. The facility is well maintained and food was delicious and varied. We stayed at the River 4 room which is way too far from the lodge and required traversing several rope narrow bridges and stairs. All rooms are beautiful so save your money and stay at the closer rooms. The nearby lodges ranger's are always in radio communication to advise where all the animals have migrated to insure a rich experience every day.

The airstrip is only minutes from the lodge entrance and all check in is done in minutes at the airstrip while sipping champagne!! We will return with the rest of our family next year.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the main building multiple elephants are seen from all rooms and dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAMILYDOCPrinceton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, General Manager at Ulusaba Safari Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We love hearing feedback from our guests experience with us and thank you for taking the time to share yours. We look forward to welcoming you back with the rest of your family!
Best wishes
Karl Langdon
General Manager of Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

This was honestly one of the most magical places I have ever been to. From start to finish the whole trip was just perfect. We flew from JNB to the Ulusaba air strip and were met by Sean and James, our ranger and tracker. They stayed with us for the whole 3 days and 6 drives that we did, and were brilliant, both so knowledgable and obviously loved their job.
The accommodation was stunning, although you are hardly in your room, you are either on a drive, or eating- the food is endless and unbelievable quality.
I have never eaten so much in such a short space of time!
The 2 daily drives are definitely the highlight of the day, we saw so many animals, in such close proximity, they don't even seem wild as they come so close to the jeep, and are obviously not bothered by people.
We were so sad to leave, and are already planning our next trip. A massive thanks to all the staff there, who really go above and beyond to look after you- Kim, Blair, and all of the kitchen staff who make such beautiful meals! We only got 4-5 hours sleep a night, and came home exhausted, but it was so worth it, there just isn't time to sleep, there are so many other things to do!
Thank you beautiful Ulusaba, we will be back next year without a doubt.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nem014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VLELondon, General Manager at Ulusaba Safari Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your review, we’re so glad you loved your stay with us from start to finish. Ulusaba is truly a unique place and we are happy you were able to enjoy the magic. We will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and hope to welcome you back again next year.
Best wishes
Karl Langdon
General Manager of Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
2.0 mi away
Dulini Lodge
Dulini Lodge
#1 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
372 reviews
9.0 mi away
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
Londolozi Private Game Reserve
#2 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
433 reviews
9.1 mi away
Simbambili Game Lodge
Simbambili Game Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Savanna Private Game Reserve
Savanna Private Game Reserve
#3 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
397 reviews
16.3 mi away
Lion Sands River Lodge
Lion Sands River Lodge
#11 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
759 reviews
2.8 mi away
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Reserve
Inyati Game Lodge, Sabi Sand Res...
#1 of 1 in Inyati Private Game Reserve
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ulusaba Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ulusaba Safari Lodge

Property: Ulusaba Safari Lodge
Address: Sabi Sand, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park > Sabi Sand Game Reserve > Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Ulusaba Private Game Reserve
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ulusaba Safari Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safari Lodge is built along the banks of the dry Mabrak riverbed. The 11 rooms at Safari Lodge include a Treehouse Suite overlooking the nearby Xikwenga Dam as well as three other room types: Safari, Elephant and River Rooms, some of which have private plunge pools. Kids over the age of 12 are welcome to stay at Safari Lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ulusaba Safari Hotel Ulusaba Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing