We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Magical paradise!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was one of the most incredible experiences I have had in many decades of travelling the world. Tswalu is quite simply a stunning place and, coupled with service of the highest order, a holiday here offers exceptionally high standards in every respect. The staff go out of their way for you and genuinely want you to have a great time with them. Our guide Andrew (and his tracker Jacob) were fantastic - so knowledgable and patient with our endless questions. Jacob's tracking of the lioness (plus cubs) and rhino was incredible! We also tracked two of Africa's rarer animals, an aardvark and a pangolin (rarely seen).From the second we landed 'til the moment of take-off, we were royally treated and had the best holiday of our lives. Go there!!

Room Tip: The family suites are a great option for parents and children
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Johnners77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    13
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
142
196
16
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

A magical place. We had an amazing time - everything about it is wonderful: the reserve itself, the guides and trackers, the accommodation, food and staff. The guides are extremely knowledgeable and the staff is uniformly warm and friendly. We'll go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmacd1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Well Tswalus landscape is like when mother earth is showing her best face, I cant find superlatives enough, well done , conservationproject like this in Tswalu is many steps ahead for a sustainable tourism, our guide Brett and tracker BT was so good teachers of the animals and plants especially the birdlife very intresting knowledge , superguides will come back soon with my kids ! Thanks all staff , and Justin a starchef of highest aclaim, G Hansson

Room Tip: number four is exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matilo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Places like Tswalu who are really serious about conservations tourism and sustainability - will give the next generation a chance to experience true wild life. I have been to top lodges all over Africa - when it comes to sustainable thinking Tswalu is one of the best I have experienced. I hope more rich families will follow in Oppenheimers footsteps and give next generation through conservation tourism a chance to encounter the species that are endangered.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOW710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you have the chance to go to Tswalu Kalahari Reserve don’t miss it. The Kalahari is a beautiful region, that reserve is amazing, with a lot to see, from suricates to lions, antelopes, white and black rhino…
The lodge is beautiful, staff very good. If you have the chance spend the night under the stars it is worth the experience. They have a platform with beds, shower under a tree….

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaellec73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Our family arrived at Tswalu (Jan 30th for four nights) after many hours of flying from Toronto and we were not disappointed! This setting is stunning! The service .... meals, towels after safari drives, laundry service etc were all outstanding. The staff really made our stay fantastic by exceeding our expectations. The food was also amazing and we appreciated some flexibility when it came to feeding our kids. Our guide Phil Stephanie and tracker Will were amazing! Phil was so entertaining and my kids loved all the stories and knowledge that he passed on. So many special memories... this trip will not be forgotten and we hope to return! Also special thanks to Phil for helping me make the most of my camera settings...my pictures only improved as our holiday continued! Thanks again to all the staff for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wally2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our visit to Tswalu (the 3rd lodge on our trip) got off to a rather fine start at Jo'Burg when we found that we were the only passengers on the executive plane transfer. The sheer size of the reserve is staggering 90 kms north to south x 60kms east to west.
Others have given fulsome descriptions of the reserve and their experiences, so rather than attempt to describe it over again a few highlights - the lion, the meerkat colony, the dreamlike landscape, the sunsets, sundowners and dinner high in the dunes, breakfast at 'The Lookout' and so much more.
Our guide Jaques was great and knowledgeable company and David our tracker I swear could spot at ant at 100 metres. Thami is warm and outrageous and deserves a TV show. Waiting staff Ernest, Louis, Betty & Rosy made every meal perfect and Stephanie was always warm and engaging.
At these price levels one has fairly high expectations but you will not be disapointed - the entire experience is extremely polished, very relaxing & totally geared to guests' individual wishes and tastes.
Having spent a lifetime in business I know that problems can occur in even the best establishments but it is the recovery that separates the great from the also rans. Early in our stay we encountered a small but important problem but I have so say that Joe (Lodge Manager) dealt with it in a way that not only solved the problem but exceeded our expectations - thank you.
Yes, we would (and I hope will) return

Room Tip: They are all of a wonderful standard and a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
0.0 mi away
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
#1 of 1 in Kwandwe Private Game Reserve
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
Samara Private Game Reserve
Samara Private Game Reserve
#2 of 15 in Graaff-Reinet
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cunningham Cottage
Cunningham Cottage
#1 of 13 in Kuruman
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tuningi Safari Lodge
Tuningi Safari Lodge
#15 of 23 in Madikwe Game Reserve
208 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tswalu Kalahari Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tswalu Kalahari Reserve

Property: Tswalu Kalahari Reserve
Address: Southern Kalahari | Kuruman, Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve 8460, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tswalu Kalahari Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tswalu Kalahari Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the luxury and beauty of this magnificent malaria free 100,000ha private game reserve, the focus is on flexibility and privacy, outstanding game viewing, gourmet cuisine, indulgent spa treatments, and getting to do the things you've only ever dreamed about.The uniqueness of the safari experience begins with a flexible itinerary, which allows you to dictate your own programme of games drives, bush walks and horseback safaris; and continues with the interactive game experience. With a dedicated vehicle, tracker and guide, you can tailor your Tswalu safari to include whatever appeals to you.Bond with the meerkats before they go foraging or spend the morning tracking the desert black rhino. Witness the sheer size and power of the Kalahari black maned lion. Experience the magic of star gazing and the thrill of sleeping under the night sky. Indulge in boma feasts and bush dinners, sundowners, wine tastings and dune picnics. And whatever you do, make sure you have enough time to experience it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Tswalu Kalahari Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing