We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gretel cottage - Cramped accommodation in a beautiful estate” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walkersons Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Certificate of Excellence
Joburg
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Gretel cottage - Cramped accommodation in a beautiful estate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

There is plenty that has been said about the magnificent setting that Walkersons has to offer and it's all true
Our family of four stayed in the Gretel cottage - one of the hotel's self catering cottages, which at R1850 per night is overpriced. The open plan kitchen and living room is very small and cramped. The double bed should be at least a king size rather than the queen or double which it is. The positioning of the cottage is not great - tucked away and a fair distance from the dams.

Walkersons Estate is still a lovely location but choose your accommodation carefully

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanJhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    73
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
71
214
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My fiancee and I went to Walkersons for two nights on a long weekend and it was absolute bliss. Our room looked out onto a small pond, where ducks swam and fishermen fished. It was cold, so someone came and made a fire for us, and came to replenish it. On a whim we rented their bicycles and had the most fun morning riding around! We also went on a horseride- I rode Maverick and he was super eager and just lovely. They also offer fishing rod rental- but we didn't find time to try these out.

Their suppers were all 4 courses and absolutely delicious, as were the breakfasts. Their waiting staff are very knowledgeable (I got a wonderful talk on red wine blends) and very warm.

I cannot, cannot wait to go back!!

Room Tip: We had a lakeside suite- and they might not be the best for quiet, as people like to sit outside by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDoeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel lies 10km out of Dullstroom and a long and windy road off the main road into a magnificent valley of numerous dams for fishing. The beauty is that you do not hear any traffic from the main road.
We stayed in 2 adjoining luxury suites with magnificent views.
The room has a very large king size bed with firm mattress, cotton bedding, either single duvet's or 1 very large one, extra fluffy blankets are in the room for the very cold nights as it was during August this year.
Underfloor heating - but this only worked on half of the room. You can adjust the heating on the underfloor heating.
A fire place which is lit every late afternoon and is replenished with wood while you are at dinner in the hotel. They also ensure that the fire stays lit until you arrive back in your room.
Request for additional wood was no problem and attended to within 5 minutes.
Ample storage space for clothing on either side of the bed.
Coffee/tea available in room. Filter coffee with plunger as well and biscuits.
Fully stocked mini bar with sparkling wine, white and red wine, and other alcoholic drinks and soft drinks, as well as snacks.
Heated towel rails in the one bathroom with the bath, which is located on one side of the room.
The shower with twin shower heads, toilett and outside shower is located in the second "bathroom" which is adjacent to the first bathroom.
Lots of clean white fluffy towels.
Ample bath amenities ie shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, hand wash, body lotion etc.
I liked the individual lights next to the bed which assist with night time reading.
The main lodge has lots of fire places to keep you pleasantly warm.
The meals, both breakfast and dinner, were outstanding.
Dinner consists of 4 courses with "palate cleansers" between every meal.
Breakfast started with yogurt and fresh fruits followed by a la carte.
Light meals are served in the late afternoon.
We ate the toasted sandwiches which are served with salad and hot chips.
All the food that we tasted in this establishment was of the highest standard, tasty, well prepared and presented.
We hired bicycles for the morning and did the horse riding while others fished.
Any problems we had were sorted immediately with a smile at all time.
The only reason why I only gave this hotel 4* was that the rooms needed desperate maintenance. The wooded frames all need varnish and the doors stick and are not easy to open. The shower doors do not seal as the seal strip is broken off or missing.
On the side of the bath, the cover was loose. Some of the pugs against the wall need to be tightened and screwed back into the wall. Some of the spot lights were not in working order.
The trays are not cleaned and the milk was not replenished. No bottle opener in the room for the wine they supply.
These are negligent items, but for a 5* establishment, these things should all be perfect.
All in all, it was a very pleasant stay, and we shall be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madame_XYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

The hotel is close to the quaint little town of Dullstroom. The hotel and cottages are built around trout dams in a country setting. We stayed in 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom cottage. The cottage was equipped with a gas fireplace and the beds had electric blankets for comfort. We took our meals at the hotel and the food was outstanding, I wish I had the recipe for the peppadew soup! The hotel decoration is lovely and the staff were very friendly. We had a wonderful time and we'll be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gretel cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asnerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night, but would have liked to stay a little longer, just to get pampered and enjoy food, drink, and atmosphere. Wonderful lodge with old English (Scottish) feeling, large fire places that get lit in your room in the evening. It gets cold here in the night, and they were well prepared. Creative chef it seems serving great food accompanied by great SA wines. Overall a wonderful experience - too short for us.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AlvinZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the Lookout cottage. 4 star self catering. Had a Morso fire place in the lounge with ample wood available. We went for dinner on Friday night in Dulstroom and staff had replenished wood while we were out. 14 trout dams to fish on, fishing was quite good. Estate is very well kept. Cottage has everything you need, including a dishwasher and ice machine. The cottage has 3 rooms, 2 singles, a double bed and a king size bed in the room with a beautiful view of the valley. Would definitely go back there. Staff were very friendly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ZAExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Two hours drive from jo'burg and you feel like your in the Scottish highlands.

Lovely staff, great quality lodgings and food and fantastic scenery.

Go there

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrneand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dullstroom
5.9 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
7.2 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#6 of 28 in Dullstroom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#2 of 28 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
5.8 mi away
Peace Corner
Peace Corner
#1 of 11 in Dullstroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
21.7 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walkersons Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkersons Hotel & Spa

Property: Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Address: Walkersons Private Estate | off R540, Dullstroom, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Walkersons Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Walkersons Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing