We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax and unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Two hours drive from jo'burg and you feel like your in the Scottish highlands.

Lovely staff, great quality lodgings and food and fantastic scenery.

Go there

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrneand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    101
    29
    5
    8
See reviews for
94
260
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

in a lovely setting and location, however rooms could do with some touch up. Good food, lasting impression was the staff who were excellent and could not do enough for their guests.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mb1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

what an amazing weekend get away! Quality finished room, warm and friendly! the staff was so amazing,all eager to help with a friendly smile! the food is out of this world! Best duck ever! Highly recommendable for a warm luxurious weekend get away! The spa was such a treat! Well done !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was our last stop after 2 weeks touring- a beautiful valley just touched by autumn, surrounded by hills, with bright skies and sparkling water . The whole estate is gorgeous with walking and riding as well as fly fishing. The bird life was amazing and we even saw zebra on our walk into the reserve behind the hotel.
Our rooms were in the hotel cottage - we had a log fire which connected between the bedroom and the bathroom- real luxury to wallow in a bath in front of a blazing fire.
despite the fact that most of the hotel was taken over for a wedding, we received great service, particulalry from Andrew one of the front of house team, who looked after us at dinner and also fixed up both fishing and a trip to the spa.
The staff were all very professional and friendly- including laying a table for us outside for breakfast ( they probably thought we were mad but to English it was a warm day!).

We had a very relaxing massage at the spa whilst our mates fished- both experiences were excellent value for money. I wish now we had had another day or two to enjoy this haven.

Room Tip: If there are 4 of you then the two Hotel cottage rooms are ideal- complete with log fires, patios an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almelo
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Last place we stayed before leaving the country. How nice! Peaceful and charming. Good food and a beautiful room.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inepien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Walkersons is a must for all city slickers and for those wanting to experience the South African "countryside".

A mere 3 hour drive from Johannesburg, we were warmly welcomed at the estate. The drive down to the estate is spectacular.

The estate is impeccably maintained, enhancing it's natural beauty. The main area is warm and inviting, housing a beautiful fireplace which later served as the perfect setting for tea and scones and fun board games!

Rooms:
We booked the 5 star chalets (3 star self catering also available). Rooms are incredible spacious with a larger than king size bed and good linens, with a comfortable lounge and television area and a very mini kitchenette for necessities. I personally liked the cookie jar!

There are 2 bathrooms, 1 housing a tub and basin, the other the toilet and an AMAZING twin shower!! There was also a beautiful and private outdoor shower however the weather did not permit me to utilize same!

The highlight however was the food!!!

Dining is in 3 interleading rooms with fireplaces, elegantly decorated yet not pretentious. Every meal was an absolute treat. Breakfast was as expected (fruit, eggs, pastries etc) and did not fail to deliver. Dinner however was just spectacular.

Each din started with the most amazing soups followed by a choice in starter in the likes of a prawn and kingklip pate etc. There were about 4 mains to choose from catering to every palette and of course 5 star desserts. Portions are designed so that you partake in each course, much to my delight. A personal note: don't skip the soup and do try the scones!

Staff are exceptionally friendly and accommodating.

There is a decent spa on the premises too.

Do explore the estate and the town, filled with many surprising treasures!!

I will definitely return to walkersons which is now my fav escape from Jhb!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zajhbfemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Walkersons is truly five star with a top restaurant, great rooms/cottages and very tranquil surroundings. The service is what one would expect froma world class facility – always friendly and professional. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Luxury rooms offer everything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dullstroom
5.9 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
200 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
7.2 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#9 of 30 in Dullstroom
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
94 reviews
16.1 mi away
Valley of the Rainbow
Valley of the Rainbow
#2 of 30 in Dullstroom
53 reviews
13.2 mi away
Stonecutters Lodge
Stonecutters Lodge
#1 of 14 in Lydenburg
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walkersons Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkersons Hotel & Spa

Property: Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Address: Walkersons Private Estate | off R540, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Walkersons Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Walkersons Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing