We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money!!”
Review of Highland Rose

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Rose
Ranked #11 of 14 Dullstroom B&B and Inns
Jhb
1 review
“Good value for money!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Good venue, needs a bit of maintenance here and there, bath enamel chipped, door lock bathroom broken, tap handles loose.Garden beautifull, spa was fantastic, lights can be dimmed!! The guy who books you in can help with the luggage.The food I would say was basic but well prepared. Asked for Brandy and was told we dont keep it just to find the fully stocked bar around the corner....no mixers for drinks....beer was limited to a few local brands. Staff needs training, little bit of hands on maintenance, and better management ....this venue can then increase their prices by 30% and still be cheaper than the mainstreem....spa was fantastic!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jaco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    39
    16
    15
See reviews for
20
78
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Advertises 4 Star grading and AA Highly Recommended, when asked proof, I was told they don't subscribe - but the boards are not taken off, and web sites not corrected. Manager was quite rude about this. "Luxurious facilities and excellent service" do not exist !!
Water pipes make a noise, mattresses need to be replaced - in all - a 'run down' establishment. Breakfast - a joke - food served - no questions/choice i.e. allergy. What an unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tiily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dullstroom hotels

Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It was an amazing place to stay. So quite and serene. The food was out this world. The couples massage and champagne was better than we imagined it would be. Will definitely visit there again as soon as our workload allowed us to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Black widow spiders pounce at you and your baby near bedtime. When we wished to leave instead of stay over and risk a bite, noone working for the establishment could be found, not even security which was terrifying since the hotel is within walking distance of a township. The place is hard to find,especially after dark and the employees are not helpful. This trip saw us trekking out into the mist and rain in the middle of the night with our 3 month old baby looking for alternate accommodation or risking the drive home instead.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The house is an old restored farmhouse; our suite was very comfortable with two bedrooms and a massive old bathroom. No complaints there.
But we were in a hurry in the morning and "breakfast from 8" meant the staff arrived to start preparing the breakfast at 8, and we were feeling stressed by the time the meal actually arrived at about 8:45.
And then the really curious thing was that we weren't asked what we would like for breakfast; we were simply given two poached eggs on toast, two rashers of bacon, a hotdog sausage and a kind of mince made from onion and mushroom, liberally sprinkled with paprika. (And for some reason my wife was given just one egg. Had they run out? Who knows, but there it was; my daughter and I had two eggs, my wife just the one, no explanation!) The resulting spiciness was not at all to my wife's liking and she left most of hers. We didn't have time to ask for anything else so we just left.
And then, just small things but slightly off putting: one of the waitresses was chewing gum; the waiter had his iPod headset plugged into his ears.
We got the impression that the owners leave everything to the staff and there's no oversight.
In summary: the rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet; the service just needs a little improvement.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank robdotinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Highland Rose for three nights from 18-21 March 2013 for our second wedding anniversary. Upon arrival we were excited at the colonial old house and beautiful gardens. However we waited about ten minutes to be greeted at reception...as it turned out there are three staff members that seem to do everything...spa, food, waitress ect. Despite this we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room, Rose cottage. It was neat, small and clean. The bed and linen was superb and the only thing we would improve was the large doorless shower that wet the entire bathroom when we used it. The food at the establishment was superb, home style comfort food...huge portions. We also liked the fact that you could chose what ever wine you wanted from their tiny selection. The chef Marie Ann was great, she greeted us every night and always accommodated any special requests with a smile and sense of humor. We also went to the Serenity spa for half the day and we were very spoilt. The treatments were a treat although the spa ladies were noisy at times which made it a bit hard to relax. A word of warning, there is a very loud train that is close to the house that woke us up once a night, but nothing we didn't get used to. I must say that we would highly recommend this hotel and we would return if it was in another town. We found Dullstroom tiny, lots of businesses have closed and there is very little to do. Thanks to the staff at Highland Rose

Room Tip: No pool or gym on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Cape, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We booked into the Highland Rose for a couple of days while exploring the Dullstroom area. We were met by the staff on our arrival and assisted quickly to check in and shown to our room. We stayed in the Bramble cottage. It is a nice quite place and I liked that you have a place to park you vehicle behind lock and key. The B&B is very cosy and comfortable but I'm not sure that I would rate it as 4 star accomodation (actual rating).There were few issues which included a broken bed. When I reported it, the staff advised that this has been brought to the owners attention and they are waiting for it to be fixed. The TV is old and small and is set up about 5 meters from the bed which is a bit of a problem. The great features about the room is that it has the full DSTV package and it has a lovely fireplace. The breakfast seved while we were there were also great.The garden is kept really well and adds to the atmosphere. Overall we had a good stay but I feel that aat R750 per night it is on the experssive side for what you receive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank savistor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
6.4 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
480 reviews
0.8 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
#2 of 14 in Dullstroom
88 reviews
10.3 mi away
Valley of the Rainbow
Valley of the Rainbow
#2 of 31 in Dullstroom
58 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#9 of 31 in Dullstroom
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Rose

Property: Highland Rose
Address: Amajuba Street | Plot 442, Dullstroom, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dullstroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Highland Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing