We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunkeld Country Estate
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We recently spent a weekend at Dunkeld Country Estate in Dullstroom and it was amazing. Such a beautiful property! As you arrive through the gates, you drive through a pine forest which is really breathtaking. The service of the staff stood out for me, they were always friendly, willing to do anything to keep the guests happy and they truly were the stars of the show. We stayed in the KingFisher unit which is right next to one of the trout dams. What a brilliant place to stay and you can literally walk out of the front door a few paces and fly fish. It really is a beautiful place and very tranquil. At night we were having a braai outside and a group of wild horses that roam the estate came past our braai and were grazing just next to us, really was an amazing estate!! Great job to Management at Dunkeld for well trained staff, a clean estate and all round beauty of the estate.

Room Tip: I would recommend the Kingfisher room for the close proximity to a trout dam for fly fishing or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShawnLaggar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 265 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed at Dunkeld in a luxury unit (not self catering) and we were very pleased. Besides all the trout dams there is a lot to do. We hiked a bit and came close to some Zebra's. The food at Dunkeld is fantastic and very good value for money! All the staff were friendly and had a personal touch. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank devilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Dunkeld Country Estate is a luxury trout-and-game lodge. Situated in the highly sought after town of Dullstroom, the area boasts the spectacular Panorama Route offering magnificent views of remarkable landscapes. The resort boasts 17 well-stocked dams filled with Brown, Rainbow and Golden Trout, offering fly-fishermen enthusiasts the enjoyment of quality angling time in pursuit of that perfect catch.

Room Tip: Chalets go for it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verghese A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in Dullstroom for a night en route to The Kruger Park, and boy we are glad we did! Wish we could have stayed longer! Dunkeld would be the perfect holiday for anything from a family getaway, to a boys weekend, to a honeymoon. It is a BEAUTIFUL huge estate and there is just so much to do. Besides for the obvious fly fishing, they have putt putt and a pool, an awesome pub and restaurant, great hiking trails, bikes, game viewing....the list goes on. We stayed in a luxury lodge room and it was very romantic. Huge bathroom, fireplace etc...fantastic! We will definitely be back....the self catering chalets are very well placed and we think we may bring our family and try one of those next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebWeber1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Dunkeld Country Estate is a virtual oasis inthe most awesome Mpumalanga province! As we turned into the entrance we found ourselves in a most magical pine forest. Dinkeld is truly magical since that night at a wonderful braii my son and his fiance decided to get married ther in the pine forest, Alvina and her team created the most wonderful wedding and in less than 24 hours my son Darcy and Katie were husband and wife. Dunkeld Country Estate...takes my breath away!

Room Tip: Cottages are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a resort that offered spa treatments away from the bustle of Johannesburg but not too far. I found this estate and was intrigued until we arrived... Then I was transported to an entirely different place. It isn't easy to just switch off but it didn't take long. As you drive into the edtate you have this feeling of awe as you drive through a mini forest and finally you break through and find a quaint 'village' to visit. We spent the morning having spa treatments and just relaxing. There are plenty of ponds where you can fish or simply sit next to under graceful trees that shelter you from the harsh sun. There is so much more to do than we realised. You can also go horse riding, hiking, there are bycicles to rent, they have an awesome mini golf course with 9 holes and you can also go game viewing. The game are so comfortable in their environment and you will get truly incredible pictures - we saw mainly zebra and buck. The rooms were divine with bathrooms that are spacious. The food at the restaurant is delicious. Don't miss this South African treasure!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Overall a disappointing experience, from a smoked-out dinner venue, double booked spa appointment, no coffee at b/fast and rental trout fishing rods without flies. Beds did have electric blankets but no adaptors for the electrical plugs. We did get our cofee-less b/fast credited. Nice linen on beds. Won't be back soon..

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Batavians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dullstroom
7.2 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
503 reviews
2.3 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
203 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Highlander Hotel
The Highlander Hotel
#3 of 14 in Dullstroom
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 31 in Dullstroom
98 reviews
9.0 mi away
Valley of the Rainbow
Valley of the Rainbow
#2 of 31 in Dullstroom
64 reviews
19.6 mi away
Stonecutters Lodge
Stonecutters Lodge
#1 of 16 in Lydenburg
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld Country Estate

Address: 80 Tonteldoos Road, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Dullstroom
Price Range: $121 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkeld Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld Country Estate is a beautiful trout-and-game resort situated on over 1000 hectares only 3.7Kms from the popular village of Dullstroom. The area, renowned for its sub-alpine climate, high altitude and fly fishing waters, is favoured by city dwellers wanting to relax in the country and enjoy fresh air and panoramic views only 2.5 Hours from Johannesburg. The Resort consists of a central Lodge which offers 13 spacious Hotel rooms dotted around a fishing dam and near the main restaurant/ reception area. Our self-catering accommodation consists of 4 private self contained family suites and an additional 20 self-contained one bedroom chalets. Most of our rooms have an open fireplace to keep warm on those cold, and most popular, misty days. The heritage of the estate has been preserved with the conversion of the old farmhouse into a restaurant, which is more than a hundred years old. Our new reception, lounge and jazz bar was opened in August 2014 and compliments our banqueting facilities which cater to weddings, functions and conferences. We have a stone chapel, tea garden and can cater to your every need. Dunkeld is well known for its forest weddings. The resort boasts many well-stocked dams filled with Brown, Rainbow and Golden Trout, offering fly-fishing enthusiasts from novice to experienced the enjoyment of quality angling time in pursuit of that perfect catch. We are also passionate about introducing children to the art of fly fishing and one of our on-site guides holds a demo and teaching session every weekend. The estate also offers a host of family and child orientated activities. Our horse out rides are very popular as is our kiddies activity program. We are introducing new and fun activities every week. The Estate is located on the famous Panorama Route which takes visitors from Dullstroom all the way through remarkable landscapes to the Blyde River Canyon, Echo Caves and Pilgrims Rest. Dunkeld is also the perfect rest stop on the way to the Kruger National Park and the private reserves located in the Timbavati and Sabi Sands Reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Dunkeld Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkeld Country Estate Hotel Dullstroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing