We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunkeld Country Estate
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what a gem!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in Dullstroom for a night en route to The Kruger Park, and boy we are glad we did! Wish we could have stayed longer! Dunkeld would be the perfect holiday for anything from a family getaway, to a boys weekend, to a honeymoon. It is a BEAUTIFUL huge estate and there is just so much to do. Besides for the obvious fly fishing, they have putt putt and a pool, an awesome pub and restaurant, great hiking trails, bikes, game viewing....the list goes on. We stayed in a luxury lodge room and it was very romantic. Huge bathroom, fireplace etc...fantastic! We will definitely be back....the self catering chalets are very well placed and we think we may bring our family and try one of those next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebWeber1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    66
    44
    42
    19
See reviews for
122
66
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Dunkeld Country Estate is a virtual oasis inthe most awesome Mpumalanga province! As we turned into the entrance we found ourselves in a most magical pine forest. Dinkeld is truly magical since that night at a wonderful braii my son and his fiance decided to get married ther in the pine forest, Alvina and her team created the most wonderful wedding and in less than 24 hours my son Darcy and Katie were husband and wife. Dunkeld Country Estate...takes my breath away!

Room Tip: Cottages are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a resort that offered spa treatments away from the bustle of Johannesburg but not too far. I found this estate and was intrigued until we arrived... Then I was transported to an entirely different place. It isn't easy to just switch off but it didn't take long. As you drive into the edtate you have this feeling of awe as you drive through a mini forest and finally you break through and find a quaint 'village' to visit. We spent the morning having spa treatments and just relaxing. There are plenty of ponds where you can fish or simply sit next to under graceful trees that shelter you from the harsh sun. There is so much more to do than we realised. You can also go horse riding, hiking, there are bycicles to rent, they have an awesome mini golf course with 9 holes and you can also go game viewing. The game are so comfortable in their environment and you will get truly incredible pictures - we saw mainly zebra and buck. The rooms were divine with bathrooms that are spacious. The food at the restaurant is delicious. Don't miss this South African treasure!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Overall a disappointing experience, from a smoked-out dinner venue, double booked spa appointment, no coffee at b/fast and rental trout fishing rods without flies. Beds did have electric blankets but no adaptors for the electrical plugs. We did get our cofee-less b/fast credited. Nice linen on beds. Won't be back soon..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Batavians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dullstroom hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

we stayed there for a weekend for my husband's birthday. I booked months in advance for two families. The self-catering unit for 4 people is nice but we had no lights in some rooms when we arrived at night. They repaired that evening, only for us to ask them to come back and put more bulbs as each spotlight had at least two bulbs missing making it dark. The electric blanket did not work and they advised- after asking several different people to replce- that they actually didnt have another one! They are a 4 star hotel and self-catering. We were then given one and told they had taken it out of someone else's unit.
We were told we could arrange fly-fishing on the day when we called to try book a month in advance. On the day they said no more rods were available !! after a call to the manageress we managed to get a few rods to share. The staff giving the lessons then began fishing with the rods instead of teaching my sister-in-law. The horse riding was great but after getting there first, they gave everyone a horse including my small children and left my husband and I standing there- after we had given them the booking and reminded them twice. The one bathroom was so dirty we could not use it until they came to clean it.

At dinner they did not have cold champagne, the food was great though and can recommend.
Overall it is not a 4 star- maybe 3. We would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry312578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTDR, Public Relations Manager at Dunkeld Country Estate, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Kerry312578,

First of all I must apologise for only responding to you today - so long after your stay and review. We are trying to get our ducks in a row regarding our online responses and will be responding to each and every review received from day 1 no matter how long ago. I also would like to apologise for your various disappointments when you did stay - even though you tried to avoid disappointment by pre-booking your horse ride and fishing rods.

In response we are in the process of finalising an activity pre-booking system for guests and we have bought in even more rods to cater to demand.

There are no excuses for a dirty bathroom and your report was given across to management as a matter of urgency. Management are also conducting more spot checks and the housekeeping process is under review.

Berna Williams joined the Dunkeld Activities team in August together with Bridgit du Preez who manages our stables. Their input has had a dramatic change for the better in our activities program and horse interaction - especially with children.

We would love you to experience the changes that have been put in place. In order to do so and thank you for bringing this to our attention we would like to offer you and your immediate family a complimentary two day weekend (or 3 day midweek) at Dunkeld Estate. We will also provide you with 2 complimentary rod hires and 2 complimentary horse rides. Please contact me on nc@touchdowncorp.com to confirm the details of the voucher. Once again, sorry for the late reply, now that we know where to go, we are going to be responding to any reviews quickly and efficiently.

Kind Regards
Natacha C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Had a relaxed, weekend stay at a spacious, 3-bedroomed chalet. Chalets quite a distance apart, therefore very private and ideal for tranquil game viewing. All the necessary amenities were available. I appreciated the use of the filter coffee machine, as I prefer 100% pure ground filter coffee. Staff members friendly and helpful. We had Mother's Day buffet lunch at the hotel and all mothers were treated to free sparkling wine & lunch - a thoughtful gesture which us mothers really appreciated. THANK YOU to Management & staff at Dunkeld Country Estate. There are a variety of activities available on the estate, but as we had a hectic couple of weeks at work, we just relaxed and enjoyed the peaceful scenery and game. To us city dwellers, this was "food for the soul". A trip into Dullstroom was a pleasant surprise, as there are a number of interesting shops and galleries we visited.

Room Tip: Our bedrooms had wall heaters, but it is advisable to take a travel blanket with, can get quite chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustJudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanseria, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The Dunkeld Country Estate is a lovely location with 13 or more trout fishing dams, beautiful gardens, endless cycling\mountain biking trails, fantastic horse riding and tranquil game viewing.

I noticed that the hotel and the self-catering units are graded as four star by the South African tourism council however the self-catering unit we stayed in was 3 star at a push. The bathrooms are in need of refurbishment, with both the shower and bath leaking all over the floor, the units are poorly maintained, the sleeper couch and the microwave was broken and the house-keeping was non-existent on the Sunday we were there and generally very poor. The entire stay they did not replenish the toilet paper and bathroom amenities.

We stayed there for four nights and ate at the hotel restaurant for one breakfast and one dinner. The breakfast buffet is ordinary and for R100 per person we were disappointed that we did not see smoked salmon, swiss emmentaler cheese and some imported cold meat on the buffet. The dinner was slightly better albeit we ordered prawn curry and were surprised that the prawns were cooked in their shells with the head on in a coconut milk curry sauce. The flavour was good however this should not be listed a traditional prawn curry on the menu.

The horse riding was excellent and Fiona was fantastic. She took our 3 year old and his friend on numerous horse rides which they really enjoyed. Overall the trip was very good, Dunkeld is the ideal retreat in Dullstroom, when traveling with a three year old and a newborn. There is room for improvement (especially the house keeping) but we thoroughly enjoyed our time hence my rating very good as appose to average.

Room Tip: Room 31 is a great self-catering unit overlooking the dam, however, due to the forest next to it, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swissfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
7.2 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
440 reviews
2.3 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
200 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Valley of the Rainbow
Valley of the Rainbow
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
49 reviews
15.3 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#2 of 30 in Dullstroom
91 reviews
1.9 mi away
Treelands
Treelands
#5 of 30 in Dullstroom
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkeld Country Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkeld Country Estate

Property: Dunkeld Country Estate
Address: 80 Tonteldoos Road, Dullstroom 1110, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Dullstroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkeld Country Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkeld Country Estate is a beautiful trout-and-game resort situated on over 1000 hectares only 3.7Kms from the popular village of Dullstroom. The area, renowned for its sub-alpine climate, high altitude and fly fishing waters, is favoured by city dwellers wanting to relax in the country and enjoy fresh air and panoramic views only 2.5 Hours from Johannesburg. The Resort consists of a central Lodge which offers 13 spacious Hotel rooms dotted around a fishing dam and near the main restaurant/ reception area. Our self-catering accommodation consists of 4 private self contained family suites and an additional 20 self-contained one bedroom chalets. Most of our rooms have an open fireplace to keep warm on those cold, and most popular, misty days. The heritage of the estate has been preserved with the conversion of the old farmhouse into a restaurant, which is more than a hundred years old. Our new reception, lounge and jazz bar was opened in August 2014 and compliments our banqueting facilities which cater to weddings, functions and conferences. We have a stone chapel, tea garden and can cater to your every need. Dunkeld is well known for its forest weddings. The resort boasts many well-stocked dams filled with Brown, Rainbow and Golden Trout, offering fly-fishing enthusiasts from novice to experienced the enjoyment of quality angling time in pursuit of that perfect catch. We are also passionate about introducing children to the art of fly fishing and one of our on-site guides holds a demo and teaching session every weekend. The estate also offers a host of family and child orientated activities. Our horse out rides are very popular as is our kiddies activity program. We are introducing new and fun activities every week. The Estate is located on the famous Panorama Route which takes visitors from Dullstroom all the way through remarkable landscapes to the Blyde River Canyon, Echo Caves and Pilgrims Rest. Dunkeld is also the perfect rest stop on the way to the Kruger National Park and the private reserves located in the Timbavati and Sabi Sands Reserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Dunkeld Country Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkeld Country Estate Hotel Dullstroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing