We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sign of the Times”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We decided to take a on night Mid-week break in Dullstroom and chose this hotel. There were problems for the start, they could not find the booking made via their web site on the internet, fortunately I hade brought all the paper work to show the deposit that was paid. Then the keys did not fit the room allocated, and eventually we were given another room with the room service keys. There was no key for the balcony and we could not use it. The TV in the room had only one channel and on checking the TV in the bar it too had only one channel, which implies their satellite service was not working. We decided to eat dinner at the hotel, two of the main menu items we chose were out of stock, one of these being a rump steak. The food was disgusting, the prawns in the prawn cocktail were raw an we waited for 50 minutes for main course, lamb chops that were so fatty that my partner left hers. Then at 3 am the stomach cramps and nausea began, was this the hotel food that caused it, we can't say for sure, but as we both had nothing to eat the day of arrival except at the hotel, there is a good chance. We had intended to stay the following day in Dullstroom to enjoy the beginning of the arts festival, but had to leave early because my wife was so ill. This hotel does not deserve the 4 star rating and I would suggest avoiding it at all costs.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryS_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Critchley Hackle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 202 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2009

Stayed here for one night in October, on the way from Hoedspruit back to Joburg. Had been to Dullstroom before and this is meant to be the nicest hotel there. The service was very welcoming and the setting, with cottages circling a small lake (or large pond!) is very very pretty. Our room/cottage was beautifully done in a white/rustic style. A door opens onto a little patio, with chairs, overlooking the lake. Overall this was a lovely place that I would recommend, with the caveat that the food is a little bit "precious" and my breakfast "kedgeree" turned out to be deconstructed - ie. half a kipper and a cold boiled egg! However, I wouldn't let that get in the way of staying there - it really is a great spot. Unless you are into fishing, Dullstroom doesn't have a massive amount going on. I did notice they had a restaurant called Canimamba there, which is the sister to the same-named restaurant in Graskop. I don't know about the Dullstroom one, but the one in Graskop gave us just about the best meal of our trip to South Africa! Highly recommended. Also, the bird of prey centre just outside Dullstroom is excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Dullstroom has a wonderful secret: Critchley Hackle's service, facilities, staff and atmosphere is something that made our long weekend a memorable, excellent trip.
From the underfloor heating in the newly renovated bathrooms, in room fireplace, king-sized beds and the at home feeling that the staff and service emphasizes - a real treat.
Well done Critchley Hackle.
We'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Lovely setting. Was practically empty when we were there. If you want to just sit around, it is that kind of place.

Nice dinner. Friendly manager.

I recommend Plumbago at Hazyview where we stayed the next two days for an over the top experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for one night on our way to the Kruger last week.
Its a nice hotel. Wont say to stay longer than 2 nights though. The rooms were very spacious, with a fireplace and electric blankets, which makes it very cozy at night. I do think the bathrooms need some upgrading, but werent bad...
Very nice halfway stop for 1 night. Very good breakfast!!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank MediaManagerSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank loredana456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
5.9 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
494 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
2.3 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#9 of 31 in Dullstroom
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 31 in Dullstroom
99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peace Corner
Peace Corner
#1 of 14 in Dullstroom
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
#2 of 14 in Dullstroom
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Critchley Hackle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Critchley Hackle Hotel

Address: 585 Teding van Berkhout Street Dullstroom 1110, Dullstroom 6000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Price Range: $49 - $721 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Critchley Hackle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Mpumalanga Highlands and just 2.5 hours drive from Johannesburg, Critchley Hackle is a Mecca for stressed execs and tourists. Critchley Hackle has 22 beautifully appointed rooms and suites accommodating a maximum of 59 guests sharing. The hotel and its surrounding area is a great destination to just chill and enjoy the tranquil setting. The red tinned roof and sandstone building is typically “Old Transvaal”.A beautiful small lake stocked with Rainbow Trout awaits guests at their front door. We have trout rods and flies for the use of keen fisherman. Please note we do not practice catch and release, so your catch of the day is weighed and sold to the proud fisherman. Our team will be happy to either cook and or package the fish to be taken home.Ideally suited for both business and leisure, we offer luxurious country accommodation and leisure activities. The red tinned roof and sandstone building looks onto a small lake stocked with Trout.Guests are able to enjoy a morning or afternoon of fly fishing, just outside their room. Any fish caught on the day will be for the fisherman’s account, we do not offer a catch and release policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Critchley Hackle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing