We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Reviewed July 16, 2013

What an awesome stay at Critchley! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the Royal Suites which was very well equipped for the cold weather with a fireplace, electric blankets and underfloor heating in the bathrooms and heaters in bedrooms. It is very well located, close to all the shops and restaurants. We will definitely go back, loved every minute of it.

Room Tip: The Royal suites are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GinaD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross O, General Manager at Critchley Hackle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Good afternoon Gina,

thank you for the feedback received. What a great review. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Ross Owen

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 206 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent two nights at Critchley Hackle recently. Lovely room over looking the dam with a fireplace, great bed, bed heaters and a heated bathroom floor.
The food was pleasant especially the breakfast so why rate the place average? Whilst the dining room staff were friendly and pleasant the service was atrocious. Taking my used knife and fork and placing them on my side plate to be used on the next course? Shoving stuff across under my nose to other people and very slow service.
When will management learn not to take people straight off the street and put them to work without thorough training especially in places like this where you definitely expect better for the price and the rating. This is how it appeared. A couple of people in our group became quite annoyed.
However, the dining room service aside, we had a pleasant weekend.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the dam
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent three nights in Critchley Hackle at the end of our honeymoon. It was very quiet as really the end of the season but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We have a fabulous room overlooking the lake - huge bed, bathroom with underfloor heating, and an open fire which the turndown maid came to light each evening - perfect!

The staff couldn't have been more helpful - Yolanda at the Front Desk was very attentive and incredibly helpful, Michael taught us how to fly fish (we even caught some trout which was cooked for us that evening!) and the waiting staff at breakfast and dinner were lovely. Food was excellent - a huge breakfast (continental included fruit, cereal, toast, pastries, cold meats and cheese...) and good dinner menu.

Super location as you could walk to town (less than 2 mins) to get to other restaurants in the evening - Dullstroom Grill highly recommended.

My only complaint is that Dullstroom (and not the fault of Critchley Hackkle!) doesn't appear in any guide books that we saw - we were lucky to discover Dullstroom and would go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanne1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at Critchley Hackle for two nights and received wonderful service from all staff. The cottages are beautiful and we had a lovely view of the lake. The food was delicious and the breakfast a real treat. A small complaint would be that there were no linen napkins at dinner and the paper napkins that were offered seemed quite out of place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ADT1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My friend and I took two teenage boys for a weekend getaway. What a pleasant surprise it was, the hotel was superb. The lakeside rooms are beautifully decorated, cosy and warm. The staff excel themselves, wonderful customer service. We only had the breakfast which was fabulous. Overall a wonderful experience, an ideal getaway for the weekend.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

For a spur of the moment trip on a beautiful autumn weekend, we couldn't have wished for more. Beautiful views over the trout dam at breakfast, cozy cottage for our family with a log fire lit in the evenings and ample personal attention, this was such a treat!Suman took great care of us by making suggestions for activities to suit us and our 3 year old and even made our bookings.Was lovely to be able to go to great places like Walkersons for horse riding and tea but return to our more relaxed hotel.Would definitely return.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Vasanthie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The service and ambiance at the hotel is very good and the setting beautiful and restful. We stayed in one of the Royal Suites which are very spacious but rather sparsely furnished which is a pity. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the lake are the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BRIAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dullstroom
5.9 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
514 reviews
24.4 mi away
Fortis Hotel Malaga
Fortis Hotel Malaga
#1 of 1 in Waterval Boven
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Highlander Hotel
The Highlander Hotel
#3 of 14 in Dullstroom
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peace Corner
Peace Corner
#2 of 14 in Dullstroom
67 reviews
11.1 mi away
Valley of the Rainbow
Valley of the Rainbow
#2 of 31 in Dullstroom
67 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#8 of 31 in Dullstroom
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Critchley Hackle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Critchley Hackle Hotel

Address: 585 Teding van Berkhout Street Dullstroom 1110, Dullstroom 6000, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dullstroom
Price Range: $48 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Critchley Hackle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Mpumalanga Highlands and just 2.5 hours drive from Johannesburg, Critchley Hackle is a Mecca for stressed execs and tourists. Critchley Hackle has 22 beautifully appointed rooms and suites accommodating a maximum of 59 guests sharing. The hotel and its surrounding area is a great destination to just chill and enjoy the tranquil setting. The red tinned roof and sandstone building is typically “Old Transvaal”.A beautiful small lake stocked with Rainbow Trout awaits guests at their front door. We have trout rods and flies for the use of keen fisherman. Please note we do not practice catch and release, so your catch of the day is weighed and sold to the proud fisherman. Our team will be happy to either cook and or package the fish to be taken home.Ideally suited for both business and leisure, we offer luxurious country accommodation and leisure activities. The red tinned roof and sandstone building looks onto a small lake stocked with Trout.Guests are able to enjoy a morning or afternoon of fly fishing, just outside their room. Any fish caught on the day will be for the fisherman’s account, we do not offer a catch and release policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Critchley Hackle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing