We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice joint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
Ranked #3 of 14 Dullstroom B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice joint”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The place was being rennovated while I was there but it wasn't a hassle. The rooms were not disturbed by any of the noise and the service was still top notch.

Rooms were very clean. Slightly dated, but I thought they were great. Big spacious bathroom, fireplace in the large bedroom / dining area and a big balcony overlooking the dam. This place was pretty good.

I hda dinner there as well and it was really nice. I thought it was cheap too.

Room Tip: Go for the better rooms down the bottom near the dam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
37
62
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria North, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband and I as well as my brother and his wife stayed at the Peebles Country Retreat the first of February 2013 and I would like to compliment the management and staff on an excellent establishment.

The suites are extraordinary neat and beautifully furnished and we were treated with utmost friendliness . Dinner and breakfast was a feast!!

I can honestly recommend visiting this great experience of staying over in this hotel.

Room Tip: all the rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hulde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Peebles Country Retreat in mid-Dec 2012 and had an amazing time.

We had initially booked a standard suite but when we got there we found the room a little pocky especially since we were in Dullstroom to just relax and not to fish. So we upgraded to a luxury suite and it was the best decision we could have made. The luxury suite was enormous with a fire place, sleeper couch, dining table for 2, 2 wing back chairs and a huge balcony with 2 comfortable lounge chairs. It's the type of room you could comfortable spend an entire weekend despite the numerous attractions of Dullstroom.

Our room rate included breakfast and dinner. We were a bit suspicious as to how good a free dinner would be but it was excellent. The service was attentive without being overbearing and the staff seemed genuinely happy to serve. On our second night some mist had rolled in and it was drizzling so we decided to have dinner in our room by the fire place and the restaurant happily agreed to our request despite missing the deadline by which you need to inform them if you choose to have in room dining.

We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed I one of the presidential rooms which was really fantastic. There was a fire in the room which I thought was for decoration but when we came back to our room after dinner they lit it for us. As there was lots of wood we had a lovely evening in front of the fire.

The whisky bar is very well stocked and was ideal for a relaxing drink before or after dinner. Staff couldn't have been more attentive.

Room Tip: If one of the presidential rooms is available ask for it when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came a family of seven. From we arrived Tyrsday afternoon until we left Sunday after everything was top. One of the member had her 60th birthday and they made so much extra for us. If you want to have a relaxing stay, go there.Walk around, go flyfishing, have a dring and eat good, you get it.

Room Tip: All rooms are large. With fireplace, sitting group, working desk. You can have a big party in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The most spacious and tastefully furnished suites I have stayed in. Everywhere one looks is like a postcard. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The bar and dinners provided were very well prepared and presentation was top notch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles-Dullstroom, Manager at The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for the Review,

We hope to Welcome you back to Peebles - The Country Retreat.

Yours in Hospitality
Greg Pearson
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springs, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I would like to thank everyone at Peebles - The Country Retreat. The service, people, food , accommodation and atmosphere is something of the highest quality. This was a stay worth my while and will sure do it again. Keep up the great work......

Room Tip: Experience them all it will be worth your while
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dominique K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dullstroom hotels
6.6 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Critchley Hackle Hotel
Critchley Hackle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dullstroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#7 of 30 in Dullstroom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
Forest Creek Lodge & Spa
#3 of 30 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Treelands
Treelands
#5 of 30 in Dullstroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
The Rose Cottage & Co, B&B
#2 of 14 in Dullstroom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa

Property: The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
Address: Bosman Street, Dullstroom 1100, South Africa (Formerly Peebles Country Retreat)
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Dullstroom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Dullstroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peebles Country Retreat Hotel Dullstroom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing