We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for eating in or takeaway”
Review of Water Margin

Water Margin
Price range: $29 - $39
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for eating in or takeaway”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've eaten here twice, the first dining inside and the second for takeaway. The food is fantastic both times, and the takeaway was perfect. The food quality did not suffer on the takeaway and made for a tasty lunch the next day, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSY2Anywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    62
    40
    32
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Customer service”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having been going to water margin for many years for parties / family birthdays , was rather annoyed when my mum asked to add one more on to our table for a family birthday , to be told no by a rude member of the team , so we said we will have to cancel , she replied yes and we had a lovely meal at south garden in romsey .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beauty1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
160 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Sadly very disappointing food”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

It does sadden me when a trusted, quality restaurant drops its standards. I have eaten here (or had takeaways) since it became the Water Margin and have enjoyed good quality meals on many occasions. It is our automatic Chinese takeaway choice - but maybe not any longer.

One of the things it has always excelled at doing is producing remarkably low fat crispy duck dishes - obviously higher quality than most other establishments. How the mighty have fallen. Our latest crispy duck dish was full of fat - which was a shock!

Then all the small prawns in the special fried rice dish still had their dirty intestines inside. How disgusting! I would not expect a quality restaurant to serve them if they had been supplied with such poor produce. Not only do they need to do something about their prawn supplier but they also need to have a think about what they are choosing to serve, in terms of food quality.

This all tells me that a key ingredient to their success (quality food) has been allowed to slip - badly - and so they have decided to let themselves fall into the big group of mediocre Chinese restaurants. I guess I will be searching for a new regular venue. Very sad.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Nicholas-at-Wade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Much improved”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have reported before that the owner of this restaurant was very unfriendly and very unwelcoming. I have just revisited and the atmosphere was much better. She spoke to us and we felt welcome. The food as always was wonderful.
I would recommend this restaurant but the standard of welcome must be maintained as our previous experience was so miserable

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We took our Grandson there for his birthday treat and had the buffet and told them before ordering it was his birthday...but like many other reviews the staff could not have cared less..what we did find strange was when one of the waitresses asked our grandson how old he would be...11 he cried ...oh she said how nice...well how nice was she for when we got the bill they had charged him as an adult !!! at over £17 insted of £9 when i challenged them they said look at the menu adults are from 11 onwards ....
What a lovely bunch this lot are... we felt tricked as they could have said this up front so we could have made a decision to go or stay or have the ala carte as he never eats £17 pounds worth of food!!! ..So never again for our family... as it was we probably would not have gone back as the meat and fish content in the dishes are now so small its all fried onions and other bits of veg...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water Margin also viewed

 
Eastleigh, Hampshire
Chandler’s Ford, Eastleigh
 

Been to Water Margin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing