We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"A special place to remember"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
eMalahleni, South Africa
1 review
“"A special place to remember"”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

It started off as a weekend getaway when I heard about the "Couples Retreat" and from that weekend on it became another and another to the point that we have decided to get married at Shayamoya. We have thouroughly enjoyed the comfort of the chalets, the hospitality of the staff, the great food and the activities such as the Tiger Fishing and mostly what the women enjoy, a massage in your chalet. The views are spectacular.
Thank You Lindy, Nomvula, Dudu, Douglas, Muse and the rest of the staff for your excellent service.
See you all soon.
Jason and Amy

Room Tip: Chat to Nomvula she will give the best advice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason3776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Jason
Many thanks, one of the best parts of running a special lodge like Shayamoya is the special guests we have who become part of the family, who appreciate Shayamoya's uniqueness. We look forward to creating one of your best memories ever on the 28th June! A brand new deck at the central has been laid and it looks stunning.
Best regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    30
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
26
48
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My family & I all enjoyed our stay at Shayamoya - the views from the restaurant are wonderful & the layout of the chalets is very private. You really do feel that you are away from the world. We took a family chalet, which is excellent value. This comprises a large double bed (very comfortable) as well as bunk beds & I think the possibility of a sofa bed as well. The bottom bunk is a little claustrophobic. The room was very spacious as was the bathroom.
Food was delicious - especially the wonderful braai. Bev was an amazing host & could not have done more to help & assist us with our stay. Whilst we were there we managed a round of gold at the local 9 hole course in Pongola - very good, a private rhino track on foot at nearby White Elephant Lodge - we came to within 5 meters of a sleeping black rhino - incredible & rather scary! We also headed up to Tembe Elephants as well as doing the "in-house" drive at the nearby reserve. There are no cats on the local reserve but it is a lovely relaxing way to see the beautiful scenery & certainly enough Giant Orb spiders!
This is a great place to stay for a few nights if you are on a restricted budget. There are a few areas where it could be improved - such as more thorough staff training (bar staff as well as housekeeping) - and with a little more attention to detail could be truly lovely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellybops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Bellybops

Many thanks for your review and I am delighted you had such a lovely stay. The area has so much to offer and since your visit, I have arranged that the Black rhino tracking is now permanently an offering to our guests. You are 100% correct, we have had a change over of staff but skills have been improved and bar training has since taken place throughout the service staff. You will also be keen to hear that the main deck has been replaced in the last few days, the sealant is going on today and then I will be able to load some new photos! So exciting!
Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014

It has the most amazing views . Good food and a stunning little pub - great for sundowners . The rooms cover all the bases and the wildlife are right on your doorstep - literally ! A must if you are passing through the area .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fletch23777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Fletch

Many thanks for your review. Shayamoya is really a special surprise and an ideal stop over when from North to South or East or West. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We spent 2 nights at Shayamoya and don't agree at all with the other comments!
The place is actually very nice and the staff friendly, but the chalet was terribly dirty: the toilet seat was broken and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in weeks (we just wiped over it with toilet paper and it got black!) and they even told us that they knew it had problems flushing down! The tub was just dirty, so we decided to always use the outside shower. The mosquito nets were moldy on the bottom.
On the second day we left our towels on the flor cause we thought we would get new ones, but instead they just hung them up again.
During dinner they would come to put away the day cushions and put a small chocolate on the pillows - one evening we came back and they had just thrown the cuschion on the floor!
We have already been to a lot of places in South Africa and we never had problems, and we wouldn't complain about Shayamoya if the price would have been around 500 rand per night, but considering that we paid 2.400 rand for the 2 days, this is just unacceptable!
The only nice thing was the boat cruise on the Pongola river (300R p/p).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alecta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your feedback although not totally positive. We appreciate all feedback from our guests which inspires us in our daily efforts to be better. I am glad that you enjoyed our friendly staff, the view which is priceless and the lovely boat cruise. On the other hand my sincere apologies for the Housekeeping, while it is difficult to keep the white mosquito netting clean on the ground, the mould is no excuse and the nets have been taken down to be replaced. Unfortunately the bath has been damaged from chemicals we guess, as those marks are permanent blemishes, not dirt. It is the first time a guest has mentioned this as a concern, however I will put this on my agenda to be replaced. While the chalets are serviced daily, the towels are replaced every 2nd day in our efforts to protect the environment of soap and detergents. As you say we were aware of the faulty toilet which would not dump entirely, unfortunately as it was the festive season, our local plumber was only able to visit in early January, which he did, and has replaced the entire toilet. Thanks again for bringing your concerns to our notice.
Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Shayamoya is set on a mountain overlooking Pongola Game Reserve and Lake Jozini. The chalets are beautifully designed - definitely try the outdoor shower! - and very private. We loved meeting up on the deck for delicious meals or a relaxing drink. Breakfast was an amazing spread with homemade muesli and muffins, as well as a divine cooked selection. There was also a sumptious choice for dinner, with a different menu every night. I recommend the salmon roulade! The Friday night braai (bbq) was SPECTACULAR!
Service was warm and efficient. Nomvulo on the front desk couldn't have been more helpful, and Musi our guide for various activities was incredibly knowledgeable regarding animals, birds and local affairs!
The activities on offer were actually the reason we booked for 5 nights: game drives, game boat cruises, sundowner cruises, cultural visits, meeting a sangoma, spa treatments and tiger fishing:) Although these kept us very busy, we took time to enjoy the peace and quiet of the pool, the deck and our private chalets. There was nothing more satifying than watching the eagles gather after an amazing day's game viewing from a boat!
Thank you Lindy and all the wonderful staff at Shayamoya for rejuvenating our souls:)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank salsticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Sally
Happy New Year! I am so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. Wow, you were busy doing activities all over the area! Have the Sangoma's predictions for Cowboy come true yet? Many thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to SA.
Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We came across the Shayamoya Game Lodge by accident and had a wonderful time. The staff were so willing to please both the food and accommodation were fine. The views overlooking the Pongola Reserve and the Josini Dam were breathtaking - lying in bed looking at that scenery, with the double door wide open was a real treat.
We drove through the Pongola Nature Reserve and were amazed at the variety of life to be seen - birds and animals were easily spotted; this is probably due to small size of the Reserve - the wild life here have fewer places to hide. We spent about 4 hours driving through, so it wasn't that small!
Price in the Lodge was very reasonable - Inside bath and outside showers - large 4 poster bed with mossy nets - ample storage and coffee making facilities - AND that view.
I wouldn't want to find fault with such good staff and facilities - we will certainly return soon.

Room Tip: There are only 10 rooms at the Lodge, all have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3rdroom1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest
Our view really puts Shayamoya in a different league - she has a special magic or soul about her.
Some guests stumble on her, and others spend 2 weeks here enjoying all the area has to offer. Or merely just relaxing and soaking up that chilled magic. We look forward to your return soon!
Best regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
291 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Lovely place and the staff were really friendly. My son and I even managed to catch some Tiger fish, which we were warned had not been biting recently. The rooms were basic, but good. My one suggestion would be to speed up the food delivery system a bit. It was somewhat slow, but tasty nevertheless, especially the Braai. The staff even laid on something for our son's birthday.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpybrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Brother


Thank you for adding your review. The braai evenings are special, under the stars, character in the bush. As you mentioned, we concentrate on quality so I do apologize for the kitchen timing which is normally quicker, especially out of the really busy season such as in the Christmas holidays.

Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
22.3 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
15.3 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
7.8 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
13.7 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 15 in Pongola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
4.5 mi away
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge

Property: Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
Address: P.O Box 784, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Pongola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing