We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2013

High above Lake Jozini, you get a wonderful perspective of the lake and near by Swaziland. With a few tweaks this place could be 5 star. We liked the views, food and the staff. The lodges are very private and with a little bit of effort and money could be perfect.
This is a wonderful stopping off point if you are coming or going to Kruger.
The game viewing and fishing give it an edge over some of the other locations near by.
Overall very good value for money.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Strawberry
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at Shayamoya, the food, the panoramic view and our friendly staff. We are constantly upgrading our facilities and aim for 5 Stars at very reasonable prices.
Regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 145 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stopped here on our way from Tembe elephant park to Swasiland. Very well situated, border crossing to Swasiland is only a few kilometers away. The lodge itself offers amazing views on Jozini lake. The rooms are nice with a small terrace. Restaurant and bar are very cosy and super relaxing to sit there and watch the surrounding mountains . Our set menu was of good quality and the service friendly and efficient. Very nice lodge nd certainly worth a stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstuurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your review where you have covered most of our attributes very nicely. Next time you should really enjoy a boat cruise or game drive which is such a rich and rewarding experience giving you a different perspective of Lake Jozini and the surrounding Phongolo Nature Reserve. The gateway to Swaziland many people say!
Regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at Shayamoya for fishing for three nights after spending some days in Kruger. The lodge is beautifully situated on top of the hill above the lake. The chalets are absolutely stunning, the pictures online are not deceiving. Although the weather turned quite bad while there, we still absolutely enjoyed the restaurant’s deck with great views and the outside shower in our chalet.

The food in the restaurant is yummy, try the chicken with sambals and the chicken salad. The service is nice and fast, thanks to Dudu who does a great job behind the bar! On our first night there was a Braai in the Boma, if this is the case while you are there, do not miss this for anything: It was such a memorable evening with great food and great conversation. We had Impala straight from the grill, so delicious.

We also tried Tigerfishing. Ian, our guide, found some spots where the water temperature was ok although the weather was not perfect for fishing and so we still had a successful day with some bites and also could land two fishes.

I hope, we will be able to come back sometime to experience the lodge in better weather, but I can already say that this is a great place and I will recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: The chalets are divided into two grups, one quite close to the restaurant and one farther down the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trillian82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Dear Guest
Compliments of the season to you! Many thanks for your detailed lovely review. The weather was not great the entire December with rain and more rain but it seems the sun has finally come out and warming things up. We look forward to your next visit!
Regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Shayamoya for an overnight stay on our way back from Kruger Park through Swaziland to Durban-very convenient . Staff were great -Nomvula at reception who is very friendly and efficient Smilo who ,when I enthused over the delicious muesli at breakfast arrived back with the recipe! These touches make a place special and although we only spent one night it will be the first of others

.We were given the family unit which was very spacious with lovely decor plus we had the added bonus of the resident owl joining us on our deck.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view -some onto Lake Jozini and ours looked into bush and beautiful trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Owner at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your review. Nandi, the Spotted Eagle Owl is a true character at Shayamoya. The most photographed owl in the World! Many thanks for appreciating the genuine touches we like to add such as the home roasted muesli and we are rewarded especially by our guests who acknowledge the friendly and efficient service. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Kruger Park.
Regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stopped in at Shayamoya on our way to Pongola from Mozambique for lunch. We were greeted warmly by Bev. The view is amazing from the resaurant deck, on a clear day you can see the Jozini (Pongolapoort) dam and its surrounding game reserve.

The food was really good, the service was great and the prices were reasonable!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Manager at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive feedback on our food and service. The view is really something so special that makes Shayamoya so unique - breathtaking. We hope you can spend more time with us on your next visit to Mozambique. Travellers often break up these long journeys to the beach with a touch of the bush and tiger fishing. We look forward to your return visit. Regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a wonderful day and a half at this lodge. From the start it was a success. Our greeting was warm and friendly as we were introduced to the staff over sun downers in the main room that has an amazing view over the surrounding area & lake. The rooms were comfortable and spacious with outside showers & comfortable beds. The following day after a hearty breakfast we set off for a boat trip on the lake. My daughter was doing a bird project for school. The guide spent time & effort to ensure she could identify & log the abundant range of bird life around the lake & lodge. The rest of us enjoyed the other animals that reside in the area. Again the guide had an in depth knowledge of all the species. On our return we had a short swim, tried our hand at archery then reluctantly had to leave for our next destination. I would not hesitate to return or recommend this lodge to all. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Owner at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive and detailed review which gives a very well rounded view of our lovely lodge where we are down to earth and just love what we do. The birdlife is incredible, from the variety you see in the indigenous gardens at the lodge, to the raptors soaring the thermals, the plentitude in the lowveld/thornveld bushveld to that amazing life on the shores of Lake Jozini. We hope your daughter got 100% for her project. A new addition to the lodge chalets is we have fitted each with their own flat screen TV's when the kids just want to chill, and when wive's want to chill, we now offer 'in room' relaxing massage therapy. We look forward to your return trip. Regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Accommodation at Shayamoya is in quaint wooden chalets dotted amongst lovely gardens with vistas of Lake Jozini. The chalet's are prettily decorated, clean, spacious and comfortable. Each has it's own deck with views over the lake. Zebra and buck wandered between the chalets. The staff are exceptionally friendly, and you leave feeling you are part of the family. Activities from Shayamoya are endless. We took a cruise on lake Jozini seeing an abundance of rhino, hippo, crocodiles as well as the usual zebra, warthog etc. The lodge were exceptionally helpful in arranging excursions for our party. The staff really make Shayamoya a special place to stay. We would love to come back - a piece of heaven!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spike123452016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Owner at Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest
Many thanks for the lovely review which says it all - a piece of heaven. The variety of activities do allow for many different interests and enjoyment for the whole family. The Shayamoya team have a special spirit which we nurture and it is so rewarding when guests appreciate our efforts. Hope to see you again soon. Regards
Lindy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
22.3 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
466 reviews
15.3 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
4.5 mi away
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
#1 of 11 in Pongola
251 reviews
4.8 mi away
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
#4 of 16 in Pongola
45 reviews
18.1 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge

Address: P.O Box 784, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: $131 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing