We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay with incredible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great stay with incredible service”
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the White Elephant and had a perfect time! The Lodge has a wonderful location and is in very good shape. The best part, however, was the service! Everybody - including and especially the two managers Terry and Peter - created an incredible atmosphere. We stayed in several high quality lodges in South Africa, but none of them had such a warm and welcoming service.

We will never forget the safari trips with our ranger Freedom, who is also not only very knowledgeable but helpful and charming, too. We learned a lot about the wildlife, both about the big (especially the black rhinos were thrilling!) and the small animals.

Thanks again to all the staff of White Elephant for the great time we had with you!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBremer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Mr. Bremer

Thank you very much for your excellent review of White Elephant. We really enjoyed having you at the lodge. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards
The White Elphant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
19
63
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2011

My Husband and I spent 3 days this past December at White safari Lodge, it was fantastic. The variety of wildlife to see is amazing - no lions to take all the focus which was great. The bird life is unreal. Watching the elephant, buffalo and rhino was unforgetable and our guides Freedom & Moses were brilliant. The welcome by Terry, Peter and all the staff is world class. The tents are gorgeous, its fantastic to wake in the morning to the sound of the bush around you. The food and wine were tops served in a beautiful setting by really friendly staff. We really enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it to anyone especially couples looking for a romantic break.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneandGarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Valued White Elephant Guest

Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant. We really enjoyed having you at the lodge and hope that you will return soon.

Until then, warm regards
The White Elephant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

Just off the main road that travels up the east coast of Kwa Zulu white Elephant bush camp is one of the best I have experienced in my many trips to the area. As soon as you drive through the gate you start spotting game and in front of you the vie across the lake to the Ghost Mountains is superb.

The camp itself is a superb destination for a large family or friends group, loads of guest chalets that are well appointed and a great central kitchen and dining area with pool and for those missing the rest of the world a TV room.

Great for evenings round the fire and meals round a giant table in a thatched dining area, Though watch out if you leave food on the kitchen tops as the monkeys are quick to come in and taste test your dinner!

We were looked after by Adrian who was only 5 minutes away on his motorbike whenever you needed him. He took us on a fishing trip/sunset cruise where we saw hippos and crocodiles and also for a bush walk that was memorable.

He also arranged a trip to the reserves abattoir where we purchased impala, warthog and kudu, superb meat at great prices.

We visited the Ubombo children's care village which was a moving experience and led to us starting a charity in our business to support Dawn Irons in her great work supporting orphaned children. We urge you to visit and support her great work.

This is a great venue and I'm sure we will return for another family trip, its understated, great value and is supported by great staff.

All our thanks for a great trip.

The Malcolms

Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrMonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Valued White Elephant Guest

Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant. I was a real pleasure having you at Bush Camp. We hope to see you return to Bush Camp again soon.

Until then, warm regards
The White Elephant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pongola
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2009

Scalla is the best guide we have ever had. He has the best eye in South-Africa for spotting animals. He definitely knows what he's doing. And I love him so much. There is no one on earth as precious to me as this man...Scalla...I love you forever...Thanks for the best time of my life!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maakdroog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant. We value your opinion and strive to use the feedback given to us on TripAdvisor to make the White Elephant Experience even better in the future.

We hope to see you return to White Elephant Safari’s one day!

Warm Regards
The White Elephant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2009

the perfect place to get family and friends together in a relaxed atmosphere - a rustic cosy, comfortable old-style camp without all the unauthentic bling of a modern safari camp - exactly what one needs in this modern hustle/bustle
I would recommend 3-4 nights minimum - do a walk, boat cruise, couple of game-drives and just relax and do some birding or read a book

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Valued White Elephant Guest

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our lodge. We apologize for the belated response, we sort of only discovered Tripadvisor this year.

We are looking forward to hosting you at the lodge again someday.

Until then, have a merry festive season!

Warm regards
The White Elephant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
171 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We treated my father-in-law & his new wife to a "honeymoon" break that they asked that we join them on, to make it a bit of a "familymoon". It ended up being 6 of us & we stayed 3 nights & absolutely loved every moment of it. The main lodge & the tented suites were luxurious, romantic & furnished beautifully. The wind blowing the tent canvas did keep us awake some nights, but it was still just lovely being in the bush & far from the madding crowd. The service was fantastic & our ranger was a really good guy. The food was superb, as was the hospitality. We absolutely loved it & would highly recommend White Elephant & would love to return sometime.

  • Liked — The outdoor shower & the bubble baths by candlelight
  • Disliked — The noisy tent on the very windy nights
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 24, 2011
Dear Valued White Elephant Guest

Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant Safari Lodge! Sorry for the belated response, but we just discovered Tripadvisor this year. We are really glad to see that the 'familymoon' was enjoyed so much! Hope you left feeling like part of our family!

We hope to see your family back at the lodge someday!

Until then, have a merry festive season!

Warm regards
The White Elephant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2006

A large group of business colleagues stayed here in December and had a great time.

We stayed at the bush camp and not the lodge and I am pleased we did. The bush camp is far more cosy and gives a better experience of the bush. Food was good, accomodation was great too, However, the highlight of the stay was our outstanding tour guide and temporary resident bush man Willie.

He was Mr "On the Spot" with everything we needed and wanted to do and was a credit to himself and his profession. Hire him anytime you want a friendly efficient guide, he can't be beat.

  • Liked — Our Marvelloous Guide Willie
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_M_Charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteElephantPongola, Guest Relations Manager at White Elephant Safari Lodge, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of White Elephant. We value your opinion and strive to use the feedback given to us on TripAdvisor to make the White Elephant Experience even better in the future.

We hope to see you return to White Elephant Safari’s one day!

Warm Regards
The White Elephant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
14.6 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
7.8 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
15.9 mi away
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
#1 of 11 in Pongola
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
20.2 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
21.4 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Elephant Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Elephant Safari Lodge

Property: White Elephant Safari Lodge
Address: Pongola Game Reserve (South) on Lake Jozini (Pongolapoort Dam) | P. O. Box 792, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Pongola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — White Elephant Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Elephant is the only lodge in South Africa to offer Kariba-like, water based safari activities (motorized and canoeing) as well as the traditional land based activities. This sets us apart from other safari destinations. We are passionate about conservation and offer a superb Black Rhino tracking experience (with an excellent chance of viewing Black Rhino on foot), as well as fascinating Elephant research activities. We also offer the conventional activities such as game drives, educational bush walks and incredible boat cruises on Lake Jozini. These varied activities as well as the chance of catching tiger fish and superb bird watching possibilities, make us a truly unique South African Safari experience. White Elephant is the perfect romantic retreat for newly weds and anniversary celebrations. White Elephant Safari Lodge (TGCSA 5 star) captures the history and romance of a bygone era. The deep verandah, sweeping views and tranquil setting provide the venue for a unique African experience. Eight luxurious safari tents, each with romantic ball and claw bath, outdoor canvas shower and private verandah provide an evocative safari in the Pongola Game Reserve Wilderness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your White Elephant Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing