We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect & exceeds expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

After having read the reviews on Trip Advisor for Amakhosi, my expectations were set very high when I made the booking. My wife and I went for a 2 night stay for our 1 year anniversary. The attention to detail with every aspect of our stay was memorable and the personal level of service that each and every guest receives is second to none. Its a beautiful setting, spacious suite and the game drives were well organised. Highlights of the trip included close viewings of lions & cheetahs and our final game drive was a wonderful anniversary moment as we were surrounded by a herd of elephants, feeding, playing and sharing their special family moments with us. Kevin and Mandla as a guide and tracker were an amazing team, thank you guys!

We enjoyed a wonderful massage in the new spa, its slightly away from the main lodge with an amazing inifinity pool overlooking the Mkuze river.
The food was amazing too, I could go on for ages singing the chef's praises!

Amakhosi exceeded all my expectations and can only encourage you... GO GO GO! You will not be disappointed.
Thank you to all the team at Amakhosi for a fantastic couple of days, we hope to be back again sometime soon - when the lion cubs are born!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbours2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2014

Thank you, thank you for such a lovely review, and thank you for sharing your special anniversary with us, we are so pleased that the team managed to exceed your expectations, your comments are really great and vital for us, the team are so passionate about their work and you would expect making sure we are up to clients expectations, would be a difficult task, but they do pour their soul into the lodge, making sure each different guest leaves wanting to return back, as we feel that you arrive as guests and leave as part of the family . We are all waiting anxiously for the birth of the little cubs, we will keep you informed on our social media. Thanks again and come back soon regards from the AMA team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 251 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

We visited Amakhosi Lodge in Pongola from 26/05/2014 to 27/05/2014. The accommodation, ambience, setting and food what out of this world.

Unfortunately I could only stay one night due to business commitments but I will definitely make a point of visiting again as it is absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time from your busy travels to post a review, your stay was certainly not long enough and we hope that you return soon that you an experience more of what the lodge has to offer. Thank you again for the review it is very much appreciated for all of the team. Hope to see you soon, from the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Having been in the hospitality industry for the last 15 years, we get to see a lot of awesome venues. I only put out reviews of places we stay on holiday and we enjoy or places through our work that are exceptional. out of the more than 200 venues we have stayed at, this place has set a new bench mark. venue has the same basic infrastructure, its how they use this infrastructure. Amakhosi Lodge has got it all spot on. The friendliness of the staff, the attention to detail, the focus on the little things is what will make anyone's stay here memorable.

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by a number of staff and our bags are taken to our rooms and our car parked while we refreshed with a hot towel. Then while sipping on homemade lemon juice, we were informed of the program for our stay. We were not only escorted to our room, but also shown how everything works and where everything is.

At 3pm we were introduced to our ranger (Nick,who was with us for the duration of your stay) and went to the plains where a late light lunch was waiting for us. After this we explored the 6 000 hectare property. We saw giraffe, elephant, impala, nyala, blue duiker, kudu, white back vulture, white rhino, wildebeest, buffalo and the best sighting was one of their newest lionesses. As it is a private reserve, you and the other guests are the only people driving the reserve. AS the sun set we stopped by the river for sundowners, some snacks and all this whilst viewing a mother hippo and her calf playing in the river. After dark, we did some star gazing and Nick shared his knowledge of the stars with us. On the way back to the lodge we spotted a spotted genet, bush babies and an owl. On arrival back at our room from the game drive, a bubble bath had been run for us with candles all the way round the bath. Attention to detail and sweat the small stuff. If all other hotels could get this right, people would over look other faults and come back again and again.

Pre-dinner drinks were enjoyed with the other guests and rangers where everyone got to tell their tales of their game drives. dinner was really good and gain, the attention to detail and the effort made on the small things made it that much better. That night, I was woken twice by the roars of a male lion. This is really Africa.

Our morning drive was awesome, again with attention to detail, from the blankets to the hot water bottles, to the coffee break by the river and not forgetting the most divine homemade biscuits ( worth the trip just for the biscuits). Breakfast was great and catered for all tastes and needs, yet simple. When we left, it was like leaving family and there was a host of faces around to say goodbye. (I've left family behind easier than that) Not only was our car washed (only to be covered in dust within the a minute of departure), but we also got a snack pack with fruit, chocolates and waters for the road. Sweat the small stuff people, its what makes the difference.

Overall, an exceptional experience, made possible by exceptional people who really care and really want you to have and unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: they are all good. All the rooms overlook the river. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africantourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

We just dont know how to reply to such an amazing detailed review, but to say a huge, giant thank you from all of us. As you may have noticed for each team member this is more than just a "job" this is a passion and the highlight and reward is making each guests stay a memorable one and by the time that guest leaves they are like family to us too! Thank you for all your accolades for the team and this review has been forwarded to our owners for action. We certainly hope that this means that you will return soon and stay longer! Thanks once again and warmest regards from the zulu bush . The Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had an amazing weekend at Amakhosi Lodge!! Couldn't believe one can rest so much from the hustle and bustle of the city!! The staff took such amazing care of us and made us feel at home. The rooms were absolutely beautiful and the food exquisite!! Since the seven years that I've been there last the quality of service is still incredible!! My fiancé and I had a beautiful 3 night stay in the honeymoon suite and the best rest!! The game drives were exquisite and the staff always delivered!!

I would just like to give a big thanks to Kevin and Mandla who were our ranger and tracker, always delivered, and Sam and spa staff who gave us amazing treatments as well as Lloyd, Gugu, Nick, Londiwe and Happy to name a few of the staff that made our stay amazing and memorable!!

Thank you very much and we will always recommend Amakhosi Safari Lodge!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarinaVosloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Wonderful review, THANK you from all of the Team, we are so pleased that you relaxed and enjoyed your stay, after all that is what it is all about, enjoying and connecting with each other and nature. Thank for mentioning our amazing team, they are really wonderful and we appreciate each and every one of them. We have passed on your review to our owners for their action. Thank you also for returning and hope that we dont have to wait another seven years to welcome you back, it was a pleasure to host you both. Best regards from the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Big may be beautiful but it can lack charm.

We have stayed at two of the large, expensive, and world famous 5* South African private game reserves bordering Kruger National Park and been transfixed by the amount of Big 5 viewing opportunities and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. So it was an act of faith when we booked 3 nights at Amakhosi - We are so pleased that we did.

Although we have seen and experienced what we thought was everything at the famous private reserves, nothing prepared us for the two hours of tranquil heaven we spent in the midst of Amakhosi's breeding herd of elephants watching the larger elephants graze whilst the inquisitive younger tribe members played around us.

I think that I felt like St Francis of Assizi calming the wild beasts but of course it was the other way round! This obviously contented family of elephants shut out the nagging worries of our urban life of by sharing two hours of sheer bliss in close proximity to us. A few of these gentle giants came to within 2 metres of our Land Cruiser and inspected us as fellow creatures with peaceful yet extraordinary knowing eyes.

A young bull named "Touchy Feely" by our ranger Kevin Williams, seemed to want to know more about the Land Cruiser's bonnet by getting ever closer but Kevin kept him guessing by slowly reversing a few metres a couple of times until he lost interest.

During our 3 days at Amakhosi Kevin managed to show us everything but leopard and wild dogs but that was more than made up with his mastery of identifying and showing us the reserve's flora and fauna.

What more could one ask for? As retired French Brasserie owners we also appreciated the fine dinners and scrumptious breakfasts all beautifully cooked and served with relaxed but attentive service. Thank you Chef.

Sorry, I am rabbiting on, but Amakhosi really is a Game Reserve not to be missed.

Room Tip: I understand that the lodges will be up-graded/re-furbished one by one this year so if you are a per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAZYJACQUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amakhosisafari, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

What a wonderful surprise on a Friday, about to wind down and find this wonderful review, we are so happy that you had a wonderful time and even better had a great experience with our amazing elephant herd, we are so used to them and think they are special, but when guest confirm this it makes our day. Our team is amazing and we value each and every one, thank you for mentioning them and a copy of the review has been sent to our owners. We hope you do not wait too long and come back and visit us once our river suites have been refurbished. The team wish you all the best and come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

WOW. This place was simply amazing and a true gem.

Right from the moment I arrived the level of service was absolutely stunning. They greeted me with a warm towel to freshen up, took my luggage and gave me a detailed tour of the property.

The suites are little villas that are absolutely stunning. Big deck with a hammock, separate living room, Big bathroom with soaker tub, an additional toilet, separate shower, outdoor shower and king size bedroom. The villa was AMAZING.

The safari tours are like clock work. They wake you up at 5:30 and have coffee / tea and light snack for 6am. You head out for a few hours around the park and stop for coffee/tea and snack. The morning safari is about 3 hours and they think of EVERYTHING. Hot water bottles and blankets.

When you return to the lodge, you are greeted with a warm towels to freshen up and then breakfast is served shortly thereafter.

The meals are all home made and FANTASTIC. Every meal is handmade with amazingly tasty options. I'm a picky eater, but everything was delicious.

You have a few hours to do as you wish and at 3PM they have afternoon tea before you head out for the afternoon safari. This time you go out for about 3 hours and stop for a beverage around sunset.

About the safari - WOW! You have a guide and a tracker pair who are very knowledgeable. Our guides - Dylan and King were amazing. They are very friendly and so knowledgeable about all things in the area. We could ask questions all day and they gladly answered.

On our safari we saw - Elephants, Lions, Cheetahs, Giraffes, Water Buffalo, Rhinos, all sorts of Antelope (Impala, Nyala, Kudu and more), Warthogs, Hippos.

The staff went out of their way to make it feel like home. It's a small lodge, so it feels cozy. One night, when I came back from the evening safari, they had a warm bath ready for me. Its these little things that make such a big deal.

Just book this, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Wow, thank you for the wonderful review and thank you so much for posting, we are so pleased that your experience with us was a memorable one and that the team ensured that you were well looked after. Our team is wonderful and thank you for mentioning them, it is lovely comments like this that do make it all worthwhile, we have forwarded your compliments to top management for action. You had some good sightings with our tracking team..and Chef Lauren has the knack of always getting the food right for all tastes. We hope that you come back to Africa soon and stay longer this time. Regards from all of us at the lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at Amakhosi in April - a trip planned by me for my boyfriend's 40th. The staff at Amakhosi were so wonderful. Discrete but warm service. In particular our Ranger Kevin was marvellous - showed true deep respect for the wildlife, and knowledge about the smallest bird to the Big 5. Sam at the Spa was amazing, and we had the most sublime 1,5hr Shaman's full body massage. What made this trip extra special is at sunset during one of the game drives, when we stopped for sundowners, Lee proposed! Unbeknown to us, Kevin radioed the lodge and when we arrived back, we were greeted with champagne and personal congratulations. We got back to our River lodge and a romantic bubble bath complete with petals and candles had been drawn. The personal touches really made this trip memorable for us. I would only recommend Amakhosi for a luxury Big 5 experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are superbly laid out an equipped. Suites 1 and 2 are closer to the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

What a treat to come back from a busy week of Indaba and conference to read this lovely review. HUGE congratulation on your engagement and we are all so honoured that Lee chose Amakhosi to propose. We are so pleased that our staff made your stay and your engagement a memorable one and we thank you for posting the review. Our team love their work and being recognised for good service makes all their efforts worthwhile. We have passed the comments on to our management . We hope that for the NEXT special occasion we see both of you again as it was a delight to host you. Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
24.8 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
466 reviews
14.7 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
21.7 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 16 in Pongola
90 reviews
24.9 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
28.5 mi away
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: $461 - $1,549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing