We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best of the lot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed here late September 2013 and should have written this review a long, long time ago - but the memories arte still intense. We must have missed the spa by days and it would have been handy for the 2 rainy days while we were there. But with or without spa Amakhosi Lodge was definitely the most impressive and complete lodge/guesthouse we enjoyed on our extensive road trip around KZN. The fairly remote location already gets your adventure juices gurgling and upon arrival you're amazed by the design and layout and overwhelmed by the welcome and comfort. The rooms are as good as all the other reviewers explain and the common areas like the restaurant, lounge, terraces, pool etc etc are perfect. All this and the attention from Faith and the others makes for very firendly guests and a great atmosphere at the lodge and on the drives. Kevin and Mandla (and the other guides and trackers) are extremely proficient in what they do and taught us loads & the wlldlife is pretty good at its stuff too :)
In my experience food is always generous in RSA, often very good and always copious - but at Amakhosi it is simply fantastic. Imaginative, inspired & creative food that has something very African about it while keeping international appeal and 5* service. e.g. Impala Loin stuffed with spinach & feta, red onion marmalade & rosemary jus - mmm. Without doubt the finest cuisine we had while in KZN - chef's parents were staying at the Lodge and they have every right to be as proud of her as they are.

101% deserving of its reputation and surprisingly affordable considering the lengths to which every aspect of your stay is cared for. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

What a lovely surprise to get a notification of a new review and to see this amazing one. Thank you for taking the time to write in and we appreciate the fact that you thought of us since your visit in September. It is always great to reward staff for their exceptional service and we will certainly pass on your comments to all. We are proud of each and every one in our team and as proud of our lovely Lauren, as much as her parents are. I am sure that your informative report will assist many in their travels. Thank you once again and hope that you visit us again when back in South Africa, this time you will be able to enjoy our lovely SPA. Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 239 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

From the moment we arrived, after a 4.5hr drive from Durban, we were treated like royalty. Zinhle, Faith and the team, gave us a such a warm welcome, which continued through out our stay. We were fortunate to be the only guests there that weekend, and so we really felt like we were in our own private game reserve! The facilities and accomodation were well appointed, with beautiful furniture and design. Our chalet consisted of a room with a queen bed, a bathroom with toilet and bath, a seperate toilet, seperate shower, outside shower and a sitting room - with sofa bed for the kids, on the banks of the Mkuze River. There are 8 river facing rooms and 1 Honeymoon suite. The buck, warthogs and other animals are often seen on the banks of the river. What a beautiful sight. There is an Africology spa, which offers body and facial treatments. Phume and Zinhle gave us wonderful massages with Shea butter. The food: high tea is served before the afternoon game drive and consists of lemonade, iced tea, teas, coffees, wraps, mini burgers, canapes, fruit, biltong, cheeses. Supper is 4 courses, and beautifully prepared. The chef comes through and discusses dinner options, dietary requirements and they are so obliging! Breakfasts are even 3 courses: yoghurt, home made muesli, fruit, cheese and home made breads, and full hot breakfast. The game drives: We had 3 game drives - we were very fortunate to have seen the lions on a kill, and we were about 3m away from them. It was both amazing and very scary! Kevin and Mandla were really knowledgeable about the animals and bird life.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vanessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Thank you so much for posting this great review and thank you for especially mentioning the staff that made the stay at our lodge a memorable one. It is with reviews like yours that make our team want to strive to always ensure that our guests have great memories of their stay. The lovely description of the lodge and our facilities, we are sure will assist other Trip Advisor customers in making decisions as where to stay. Our management team have passed on your kind words to all and we hope that you visit us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

one week (August 2013) in Amakhosi. Honey moon suite. just paradise!! 3 years ago we were in different lodges. after one night in Amakhosi we could confirm what our friends, having a house near Durban, said: JUST GO TO AMAKHOSI. now we did. and enjoyed an excellent stay. beautiful setting on a river, every day 2 Jeep tours with the best ranger and tracker (thanks Nick and "Sack"). all these amasing animals in a very diversified landscape. Excellent Food is guaranteed too. thank you Sonja and Team. we soon will come back. Maria and Hans from Switzerland.(I only hope with all these positive Feedbacks we still will find a house for us!)

Room Tip: Sonja will arrange for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you so much Hans for the lovely review, your time with us was so short and we hope that you and Maria return soon to visit us, we will make sure we have a suite for you. Thank you for the lovely comments on all our staff and of Nick and Zack it is with this positive feedback that we are motivated to keep up our service levels. Thank you again and regards from Sonja and the TEAM of AMAKHOSI!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wow... wow... wow!!!!!! have you ever seen 2 male Rhino fight for females???... Holy Moly was that thunderous!!!!! ...but the most amazing thing is that they squeal like pigs... BIZAAR!!!
Amakhosi Safari lodge is, in my opinion, one of the best BIG 5 safari destinations in KZN. And now that have added a spa, making our safari experience complete!!! to sum this lodge up into one word... WOW!!!! We came as guests and left as family... thank you Sonja and team xxxxx

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

WOW is what we think of your review, thank you! Thank you for for taking the time to write a review on our property and we are so happy that your stay was a memorable one. Our rhino are very precious to us all and we are so pleased that you had a once in a life time experience seeing them this way. We have passed on your compliments to the team and hope that you visit us again. Regards the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

In January 2013 we spent one day and one night at AmaKhosi in Amazulu Private Game Reserve. Although the stay was too short, it absolutely felt like a second Honeymoon!! We were treated like a King and Queen in this 5-star accomodation. And the game rides were the best we have ever experienced. During the morning drive Ranger Nick and his tracker were able to bring us in the middle of a herd of elephants, the youngest only a couple of months. That was magical. If we had known the total package would be so superb, we would have surely booked a second night. We use tripadvisor a lot, but we never share our own experience here. But we just have to tell you how wonderful this place is!! Go and experience this yourselves!! A big thank you to the complete staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

You are our 60th review THANK you! we really appreciate you taking the time to review our property, especially in light of the fact that you use TripAdvisor as a tool when researching where to stay and have taken the time to review Amakhosi. This is a great compliment to our team and very motivating, so thank you. Your stay with us was indeed very short and we certainly hope that you return to our wonderful country and spend more time with us. We have just completed a new SPA and pool area and the lodge is looking lovely, so we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Amakhosi was an amazing experience. Memories were created that will last a lifetime. It is a beautiful place. The accommodations are great and the game viewing is superb. I give special accolades to our ranger Kevin, and our host for the evening, Sam. The food was very nice and we were very fortunate to be there on a special night that included a live dance performance by Zulus. Amakhosi is a must for anyone traveling to Kwa-zulu Natal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review on our property. It is reviews like this, which assist us in acknowledging the staff members that have made our guests stay a memorable one, so we thank you and your comments will be passed on to both Kevin and Sam. We hope that next time you are in our country you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had the pleasure of spending two day's and two nights at Amakhosi, and from the Venue, Service, Chalets everything we give them 10 out of 10 the only fault was that it was to short.

Will recommend to anyone.. and look forward to going again, hopefully soon.

Peter and Jeanette De Klerk

Room Tip: We had No 2.. Excellent, close to the restaurant and close the Spa they are busy completing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

What a lovely way to end our month and to start our Spring with such a great review, thank you so much for taking the time to write in and we hope to welcome you back to our lodge in the near future. Regards from the Amakhosi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
22.6 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
425 reviews
15.9 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
18.1 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
24.7 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
19.2 mi away
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
#5 of 16 in Pongola
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: $506 - $1,348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing