We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great safari experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

my husband and i have just spent 2 nights at amakhosi and had a really great time. We have been to several other game lodges in South Africa but Amakhosi certainly is one of the best.After a long 6 hour drive from Joburg we arrived and were very impressed by the location. We had chosen the Honeymoon suite (despite being married for 26 years) the room was wonderful complete with large deck with pool overlooking the river where luckily for us a family of elephants came to drink. All the staff made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble.Meal times were great in the beautiful outdoor dining area watching the resident hippo. Game drives were great, although perhaps not as many animals as other reserves, each drive had many highlights. High tea in the bush was just one of the memorable moments. Altogether a wonderful relaxed stay at beautiful location and great staff. Cant wait to go back

Room Tip: Choose Honeymoon suite if you can
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginac24352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
There are newer reviews for Amakhosi Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 235 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2012

I cannot speak highly enough of the comfort, quality of food and excellent service this beautiful lodge gave us during our short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

The first thing I would say if you are driving here be carefull following the sat nav directions,If it tries to take you to the 69 on an untarmaced road ,ignore it ...carry on to Pongola and take the road from there.And so this is where our safari experience began.We followed the sat nav and 7 km in the wilderness on an un tarmaced road the tyre blew.We had no mobile signal and being 2 girls on our own ,not knowing what animals are around and loosing the light to say we were terrified was an understatement !! 20 mins later to local villagers drove past and were able to change the tyre to the spare and kindly let us follow them for another km or so untill they had a telephone signal and so began our first dealings with the wonderfull people at Amakhosi.We spoke to Mandy and explained the situation to her,She was so re-assuring and understanding and aware that it was just about to get dark she sent some of the staff from the lodge in our direction so they could meet us half way and then follow us back to the lodge to make sure we arrived safely!once we arrived we were met by Mandy and the team and after a round of applause and a glass of wine we settled down for dinner.The food at Amakhosi is lovely !! the next day we go out on safari with philip and jeremy ,over the next couple of days we see all sorts of wildlife .. sat amongst a herd of breeding elephants was a very special experience,1 meter away from lions,cheethas ,buffalo not to mention the numerous antelope,wilderbeast,zebra,giraffe,warthogs ,,,and so on and so on.What was very special about jeremy and philip was their tracking skills,we didn't just drive around and hope .they stopped and looked at tracks worked out where the animal would be and we always eventually found it , including a lioness with her fresh kill !!Their knowledge and sense of humour added to an already great experience.Truly magical !! that evening we sat and chatted with Sam who after hearing about our car trouble ,went to town ,got us a replacement tyre , sorted !! all whilst we carried on enjoying our day ! Amakhosi is a very special place and has left me with a memory of a lifetime ... And the staff are fantastic throughout but a special mention to Mandy,Sam,Philip and Jeremy.. The accommodation lodges are lovely and the food superb ... I can not recommend highly eneough .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

The welcome from Sam was very warm. We got sandwiches and good beer outside on the deck of our hut. This was a fantastic cabin at the riverside with a view to many nice animals. The hut was great and luxuries. Philip and Jeremy were the best we could have for safari, smiling, laughing, big humor and a lot of knowledge. We saw a cheetah family of 3, big elephants and 3 young mail lions trying to dig out a warthog with a baby. It was exiting. We were so close to the animal, the lions did not succeed. Hungry lions and happy warthog!!! One evening it was like coming into a fairytale with many nice animals in an open place.
Eating outside, nice food, nice people,best service, what more can you ask for? We highly recommend this beautiful place.
Eli & Olav, Guri & Knut, Norway

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We had a fantastic first Safari experience which was unforgettable Thanks to the great staff at Amakhosi lodge. From arriving we were made to feel so welcome and they simply couldn't do enough for you. The food, relaxed atmosphere, good standard accommodation really made an impression on us. We had a very experienced Ranger and Tracker in Phil & Jeremy which really helped us to understand the lifestyles of the animals we managed to see - Elephants, Lions, Cheetahs, Rhino, Buffalo, Giraffe & Zebra plus many more and so much birdlife too! Thanks once again guys and I would certainly recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a truly memorable once in a lifetime (hope to be repeated though!) experience. From our 3 week trip to South Africa, this place is no. 1 in our memories of a great country,

Room Tip: Honeymoon lodges were lovely as we had a showaround however for our stay the normal lodges are absol...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmakhosiLodge, Director of Sales at Amakhosi Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Thank you so much for the wonderful review,
our staff are really special and it is great to hear such great feedback and we do appreciate it so much. If you took some nice pictures please send me your favorite so we can enter it into our guest competition, which is featured on our Facebook page.
sales@amakhosi.com
Regards and season greetings
Esther

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My husband and I spent four nights here to celebrate our Silver Wedding and my 50th birthday. The experience exceeded all our expectation. We went on two safaris per day and our guides Philip and Jeremy were amazing. The safaris involved travelling over really remote tracks, which was an adventure in itself. We saw loads of beautiful animals, but our favourite experience was watched a herd of 22 elephants crossing the river - Philip drove very close to the bank so we had an excellent view. After each game drive we'd get back to the lodge to be greeted with warm towels and a glass of port. The food was fantastic - with a choice of starter and main course. We loved the morning coffee and the sundowners where we had drinks set up on a table with a tablecloth, and had kudu kebabs in the evening - surrounded by the wildlife - on one occasion there were a couple of rhinos keeping a close eye on us whilst we enjoyed a gin and tonic. The lodges themselves were beautiful with a lovely veranda over looking the river where we could see a hippo and loads of deer. On our last evening we got back to find a private table set up on our veranda for our meal, with a hot bubble bath and champagnes and chocolate. The staff were amazing and we felt that nothing was too much trouble. The only downside is that having been to Amakhosi there would be no point going anywhere else for a safari holiday because I don't think anything could be better than this.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneBDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

My wife and I spent an evening her for our wedding anniversary and were thoroughly impressed. We were spoilt with champagne and chocolates, with a staff member evening running a bubble bath for us whilst we were on our afternoon game drive.

We managed to see lion, cheetah and elephant during our 2 game drives. We were also lucky enough to see 4 cheetahs feasting on a kill. The game drives lasted a couple of hours, with the evening one being rounded off by drinks and snacks.

Overall our food was amazing. The high-tea was felt more like dinner and the 5 course dinner in the evening was spot on. We loved this place and would recommend it to anyone who wants to feel spoilt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClintSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
22.6 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
419 reviews
15.9 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
10.0 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
24.7 mi away
African Spirit Game Lodge
13.8 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#2 of 16 in Pongola
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amakhosi Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amakhosi Safari Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Farm | R69, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: $393 - $1,183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amakhosi Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amakhosi Lodge is one of those destinations that you need to visit at least once in a lifetime! Translated as a ‘place of kings’, it is exclusive, offering a unique and personally rewarding safari experience. Situated on the banks of the Mkuze River in the heart of Zululand, this small yet absolutely charming Lodge is not only about experiencing a ‘Big 5’ safari. It is far more than that as the guides pride themselves in sharing their intimate knowledge of this unique and pristine bushveld with their guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amakhosi Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing