We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality in the "Suburbs"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 16 Pongola B&B and Inns
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quality in the "Suburbs"”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were impressed at the Friendliness shown to us when passing through to Swaziland.The peace and Quiet of the Bush is so great and the Breakfast is to Die for.The Rooms are substantial with options for Cooking more than adequate.Would stay there again

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 87Bernie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Bernie
Many thanks, we are glad you enjoyed our piece of peace and quiet in the Bush. Tamboti Ridge B&B is ideally positioned at the Golela (Swaziland border) and N2 junction, just 10km to the border and 1 km of dirt road. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
23
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I stopped over at Tamboti Ridge (for one night) en route to Ifolozi Game Reserve. The farm is situated in a beautiful and quiet area away from the town of Pongola. The accommodation and breakfast was excellently fit for purpose. Dinner at the associated Shayamoya Game Lodge was a highlight. The establishment provides an ideal stopover or an excellent base from which to explore the scenic surrounding areas. We would love to come back some day and stay a little longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank justus_roscher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for adding a review for Tamboti Ridge B&B. The positioning is ideal to explore all the Reserves in the area and with a lovely setting. We are delighted you enjoyed your dinner at Shamoya Tiger Fishing and Game Lodge and look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The sheets were dirty the room smelt like dog pooh & piss. Will not recommend this place to anyone. There is no reception that you can go to . Very disappointed to go to place like that and you pay the money upfront. The room is nothing like the pic you see on the internet. BEWARE



  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Goolam Hoosen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a very nice guest house out of town with view of river. Great rooms, very comfortable beds, nice breakfast. good services from owners. Lovely garden. road signs at night are difficult to read - its at the Golela border post turn off.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Abri_Vermeulen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Abri
Many thanks for your review on your stay at Tamboti Ridge B&B. It is one of the most peaceful places on earth. I will what we can do about the signage. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The landscape and the houses are beautiful, the landlady personal and aimable. Next year we will come back and stay longer.
The landscape and the houses are beautiful, the landlady personal and aimable. Next year we will come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jochen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Jochen
Many thanks for your lovely review on Tamboti Ridge B&B and we look forward to having you back next year. Denise is a very special person and puts all her heart into her guests.
Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A beautiful and tranquil place. Rooms were neat and very comfortable. The hosts were very friendly and we had a superb breakfast prepared for us. Beautiful and well kept gardens. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Sonita
We appreciate your review. The huge gardens are a piece of peaceful paradise, and then there is the view way up the Pongola River. We look forward to your return stay.
Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Tamboti Ridge suited our taste perfectly. True wholesome farm experience with pleasant, non-interfering hosts, with graceful demeanor and extensive knowledge of the area (with great stories to tell). Situated close to both the Pongola lake and game reserves, you have a game farm and fishing experience in one. Gem in the middle of rugged Natal. True relaxation. Will return, DV.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilkevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindy B, Public Relations Manager at Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Ilkevz
Many thanks for your review. Tamboti is really a bit of heaven in the bush. We look forward to your return visit.
Regards
Lindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pongola
21.9 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
411 reviews
12.4 mi away
Jozini Tiger Lodge and Spa
4.5 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#1 of 16 in Pongola
83 reviews
3.9 mi away
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
Nkwazi Lake Lodge
#5 of 16 in Pongola
39 reviews
8.6 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast
Address: N 2 Highway at Golela Junction | Golela, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Pongola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a lovely sub-tropical garden with a breathtaking view up the Pongola River, ideally located to break the long journey between Johannesburg or Kruger Park to the Zululand Resorts. An established sugar and game farm situated in the peaceful beauty of the bushveld. The spacious rooms lead out onto a wooden deck where you can relax and enjoy the spectacular sunsets and listen to the variety of bird calls. Wholesome farm-style breakfasts are served in the family homestead. Dinner can be arranged by prior booking at our 4 star game lodge, Shayamoya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tamboti Ridge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing