We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay ever”
Review of Kwalala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kwalala Lodge
Ranked #2 of 15 Pongola B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Best stay ever”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Well we arrived at Kwa Lala at about 12 o clock and I thought o well the usual check in time is 2 and after, will have to wait in the car like other places but not Here we were handed our keys and that was the start to the most wonderful weekend .Susan and Leon are, I think the most friendly people I have met , the service was personal and perfect like the food .The room neat clean and tidy , staff excellent friendly .Would recommend this to anyone in a heart beat . Treat yourself to
some real SA Hospitality .

Room Tip: North side nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
24
Solo
0
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kroondal, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Thank you for your hospitality. The food was excellent and the service was even better.
I was on a business trip and you made it a home away from home. I will recommend it to colleagues and family and friends. - Chris Barnard

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dylan_Petzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Perfect stop over on the way to Mozambique. Food was great, accommodation very comfortable and service excellent. Highly recommended.

Would stay here again without hesitation.

I think this says it all but Trip Advisor requires that a review be at least 200 characters long so this is to fill up the space -:)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was home away from home for me and my colleagues - we stayed for 2 months in 2011 and 2012. Susan and Leon were always so welcoming and very attentive to each and every one of their guests.

The level of service, cleanliness of the rooms and the meals served is way above your expectations. Five star all the way! That breakfast buffet and the 3 course meal dinner - so much variety and spectacular presentation every time. The artworks, the wine and the music definately made it an amazing experience.

Once you have experienced Kwalala you will not be able to accept anything less then only the best!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zama G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We set out, on our way to Kosi Bay, without any firm plans about where to stop, so had made no reservations. When we got to Pongola, we looked around and stumbled across Kwa Lala. What a find - friendly costs, great dinner and breakfast, a good wine cellar, clean and comfortable bedrooms. It ticks all the boxes!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelRoberts_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The owners were really amazing people, so friendly and welcoming! Really a home away from home, we shared wine and a long chat with Susan and Leon.

We forgot some kiddies toys and Susan will deliver them to us in Pretoria!
The food was excellent too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tichaona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent one night at Kwa Lala on our way to St Lucia and what a wonderful place, room lovely and comfortable. Dinner was a pure joy, what delicious food prepared by Susan, so nice to just relax after your drive and wander down to the dining area for dinner. Breakfast as well was a lovely feast and as for that homemade bread............. Susan and Leon were amazing hosts, so helpful and friendly and having just got back from a 2 week holiday around KZN Kwa Lala was by far the best accommodation we had on the whole trip. Thank you Susan and if we are ever in that neck of the woods again we will definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pongola hotels
0.6 mi away
The Guest House Pongola
The Guest House Pongola
#3 of 15 in Pongola
28 reviews
13.7 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
6.4 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kastelein B&B
Kastelein B&B
#4 of 15 in Pongola
20 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elegant Lodge
Elegant Lodge
#5 of 15 in Pongola
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
#1 of 15 in Pongola
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalala Lodge

Property: Kwalala Lodge
Address: 15 Jan Mielie Street | Kwazulu Natal, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Pongola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwalala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Four Star Rated Bed and Breakfast in Pongola. Bookings necessary as the establishment is popular and regularly fully booked. Restaurant open from Mondays to Fridays, for breakfast lunch and dinner on reservation. Dial 0027825583840 to book your table. Closed on public holidays. The restaurant can be used on weekends for special occasions or dinner if booked in advance. Service at its best and Staff and Management are hands on to make sure your stay is exactly what you expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kwalala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing