We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly!”
Review of Kwalala Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kwalala Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Pongola B&B and Inns
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Friendly!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The owners were really amazing people, so friendly and welcoming! Really a home away from home, we shared wine and a long chat with Susan and Leon.

We forgot some kiddies toys and Susan will deliver them to us in Pretoria!
The food was excellent too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tichaona11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    9
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
24
Solo
0
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent one night at Kwa Lala on our way to St Lucia and what a wonderful place, room lovely and comfortable. Dinner was a pure joy, what delicious food prepared by Susan, so nice to just relax after your drive and wander down to the dining area for dinner. Breakfast as well was a lovely feast and as for that homemade bread............. Susan and Leon were amazing hosts, so helpful and friendly and having just got back from a 2 week holiday around KZN Kwa Lala was by far the best accommodation we had on the whole trip. Thank you Susan and if we are ever in that neck of the woods again we will definitely stay with you again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Kwalala is an extremely pleasant run by to extremely hospitable hosts, namely Leon and Susan. The food is fantastic, best steak this side of Kwa Zulu Natal, a chocolate brownie that is so addictive it may be considered a schedule 7 drug and the only place you will find Sushi within a 700Km radius....Being a long term guest Susan made our meals interesting by varying it and went as far as taking requests, also catered for our colleague that could only eat vegetarian food and all with tasty surprises.... So good 5 stars for the food.... Rooms were decently sized, comfortable and inviting and with a large array of television channels you should never be bored.... This is my preferable destination when in Pongola and it really should be yours....

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoltan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We spent one night here on our way from Johannesburg to Mozambique. It is run by Susan and Leon van Aardt. (He is still practising as the local doctor.) The main road where you come in to Pongola it chaotic and unlovely, but when you turn into the gates of Kwa Lala you enter a haven of tranquillity. The rooms were tastefully appointed and very comfortable and the owners were the epitome of hospitality. Unfortunately we hadn't booked supper in advance, so we had to make do with the limited choices in the town. However, I believe they are planning to open a restaurant there as well. The breakfast was excellent and the staff is helpful and charming. If you need to break your journey, this is the place to do it. Anthony & André Akerman.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on a courtyard facing each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howick, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I had the pleaseure of staying with Susan and Leon for 1 night recently for the first time at Kwa Lala and was very impressed with the establishment, service and catering.

The welcome was warm and inviting so to the hospitality and a lovely pub to wet ones throat after a long day on the road.

A retrun visit is a must Thanks Susan, Leon and Staff.

Room Tip: Book Earlry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forester93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Kwa-lala logde is an excellent place to stay. Good quality bedrooms, very friendly people, high standaard of hospitaliteit and top quality dinner faciliteit.
Thijs place far excuses our expectations and is à must do wen you're in the area.
Anne & Frank
The Netherlands

Room Tip: Rooms are all similar and of very good quality Anne & Frank The Netherlands
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We traveled from Australia and needed to stay in Pongola for a few days, Susan had place for us At Kwa LaLa and little did we know that it was the start of ten days of absolute endulgence. Susan the most wonderful host made our stay the best we could ever have expected!! The rooms were very comfortable with everything you need. The service is outstanding. Well what to say about the most wonderful dining experience you will ever have, with the team of Susan and Leon for dinner it was an absolute treat. Breakfast was another experience out of this world. Kwa LaLa would be the best B&B I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pongola hotels
0.6 mi away
The Guest House Pongola
The Guest House Pongola
#3 of 15 in Pongola
27 reviews
13.7 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
6.4 mi away
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Elegant Lodge
Elegant Lodge
#5 of 15 in Pongola
18 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
#2 of 15 in Pongola
37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pongola Country Lodge
Pongola Country Lodge
#9 of 11 in Pongola
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwalala Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwalala Lodge

Property: Kwalala Lodge
Address: 15 Jan Mielie Street | Kwazulu Natal, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Pongola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kwalala Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Four Star Rated Bed and Breakfast in Pongola. Bookings necessary as the establishment is popular and regularly fully booked. Restaurant open from Mondays to Fridays, for breakfast lunch and dinner on reservation. Dial 0027825583840 to book your table. Closed on public holidays. The restaurant can be used on weekends for special occasions or dinner if booked in advance. Service at its best and Staff and Management are hands on to make sure your stay is exactly what you expected. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Kwalala Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing