We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pakamisa - Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had the most amazing adventure in South Africa with my friend Tracy S, the highlight being Pakamisa. Isobella and Anthony were perfect hosts, attention to detail was superb,nothing could be faulted. Excellent guides Isolde and Moses, very well schooled horses, the wild life fantastic. Visited a neighboring reserve for big 5, lions incredible to be so close. It really was a very special holiday at this wonderful reserve in the Pongola mountains, I hope one day to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Pakamisa Private Game Reserve
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 175 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just returned from South Africa part of which was spent at Pakamisa Game Reserve. Well, from the moment of arrival to the point of departure my friend and I had the most wonderful time. The accommodation and food was fabulous, the staff were polite, attentive and very informative and the horses, well, what can I say absoultely beautiful, well schooled and obviously well cared for and loved. The scenery and wild animals breathtaking and we went at a great time of year! Thanks to Isabella and Anthony and all the staff at Pakamisa our time with you truly was "uplifting".

Room Tip: You stay in a lodge which has a bathroom, beds and a sitting area and a beautiful large patio area o...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We wish we could have stayed for a further 2 weeks at this lodge ;-) My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were able to completely relax and unwind in just 3 days. I would like to do the compliments first and then make a few suggestions which I believe could add value. Firstly, the food was out of this world and we went personally to thank Sonto (head chef), her creations were not only healthy and tasty but beautifully presented. Patrick, our waiter was most diligent and polite, he was always at our service with a smile to go with it.
Our guides, Chamu, who took us on a bush drive and Isolde and Moses who took us into the bush on horseback, were an absolute pleasure. They were professional and so informative not only about the horses and wild animals but about plants and birds too. The space in the lodge is awesome, my husband and I are not in favor of cramped, small spaces so the suite and the rest of the lodge were incredibly spacious. I would like to suggest that music is played in the bar and the restaurant as this creates a peaceful ambience and also helps guests to relax. Thank you for a most memorable stay at this amazing piece of paradise - we will be back xxx

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanis-Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Such a special place to be - its like staying with family. A beautiful lodge and location; the owners and staff are such great people and never mind the horses and access to the animals within the game reserve. My only complaint is that I had to come home!
Food and accommodation was amazing and frankly the whole week was breathtaking.

Room Tip: They are all the same ...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TanyaJayneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

From the time we arrived to be geeted with big smiles by Henriette in reception and Young Anna (well young compared with me) from the stables we new our next six days were going to be good.
After a briefing and time to settle in we relaxed readying ourselves for half a dozen days of horse riding twice a day
So come the first evening and we all congregated in the small well appointed bar and were introduced to Issabella & Anthony " the guvoners" what a treat, from the word go we were kept well amused and interested. After a couple of Castle Beers we retired to the restaurant veranda
for a very well prepared and tasty dinner, with the required wine to suite chosen from a more than adequate wine list. Retiring to bed well sated ready to be up at five oclock am the following day for our first session of riding. In the morning (I thought it was still night apart from the sun) we were met by Isabella and Anna and introduced to Isolde who it transpired was on a placement finalising her recognition and qualification as a Natuarlist Guide and extremely good to as it turned out.
For some unaccountable reason I had advised Isabella that my wife and I wished to learn how to tack up & down before riding hence the early mornings. What a great experience, under the guidence of all three ladies, we now realise how benificial that was in getting to know the horse you would be riding all week. Without wishing to bore anyone not into horse riding lets just say we had lots of memorable rides through the reserve meeting lots of the animals at close quarters.
All under the guidence again of the three ladies who with thier combined knowledge of the environment and horse skills made each ride a joy.
The stables has approximatly 35 horses and Isobella is the guiding light, having been on the international scene Breeding horses and riding and needles to say the care they are given is second to none.
As a break form the riding an Archery lesson, nature walk and visit to a wild Cat sanctuary was organised, we didn't have to lift a finger.
During our stay we were treated to dining with the owners and both Isolde and Anna in the restaurant " a delight in itself".
Our accommodation was spacious and well furnished to a very good standard, with a patio overlooking a valley, very scenic, in fact everything was spacious.
For our selves we can't find a bad thing to say about Pakamisa from the staff to the place its self.
All I can say is go there and experience it.
On a parting note, after having two unfortunate falls from a horse just previous to our holiday I would just like to put in writing my greatful thanks to Isobella and Anna who's patience and humour during riding and lessons helped to rebuild my confidence.
Thank you all, and Anthony who's humour well !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Pakamisa. A huge thank you to Isabella and her team. From the reservation to our departure, everything was professionally handled and we have had a fantastic break. The rooms were spotless, the food excellent and in general everything was way more than we expected. A special thank you to Chamu our guide and driver. His general knowledge of bush lore and birds was amazing and even as "old hands" in the bush we learnt from him.
We would highly recommend Pakamisa to anyone who enjoys a unique bush experience in Zululand.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have travelled extensively in South Sfrica and stayed in dozens of hotels, guest houses etc, but, i have not found anywhere that compares to Pakamisa.
This is simply the most stunning place i have ever stayed in. I have been lucky to stay here 3 times and every time i find or see something new.
I have not found anything to fault about Pakamisa, The food is to die for... The service exemplary and the views are out of this world!!
The flora and fauna are amazing here, and i can personally recommend the horseback game rides, amazing to ride among Giraffe, Zebra and all the different buck!!
Isabella and Anthony are brilliant hosts, and i can't wait to visit them again in 2013.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have stunning views. i have stayed in 3 of them and really don't have a favouri...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poohsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pongola hotels
10.0 mi away
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
Amakhosi Safari Lodge
#1 of 9 in Pongola
235 reviews
18.1 mi away
Shayamoya Tiger Fishing & Game Lodge
20.2 mi away
White Elephant Safari Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Kwalala Lodge
Kwalala Lodge
#2 of 16 in Pongola
84 reviews
6.5 mi away
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
Aber Jetz Guesthouse
#1 of 16 in Pongola
38 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kastelein B&B
Kastelein B&B
#4 of 16 in Pongola
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pakamisa Private Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pakamisa Private Game Reserve

Address: P.O. Box 1097, Pongola 3170, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Pongola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Pongola
Price Range: $207 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pakamisa Private Game Reserve 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the taste of Paradise at this perfect Hide-away! If you are looking for something a little less formal but nonetheless exclusive, then this lodge is for you! Views are inescapable from almost anywhere on the property, not least from your private veranda. The eight suites are huge, lightly Mediterranean in style, with elegant furniture and superb bathrooms. There is so much to do here - archery, clay-target shooting, bushwalking, game drives and riding – of course! At Pakamisa, the superior game-viewing vehicle is a horse! And these divine creatures, trained by the owner Isabella herself, are bred to be more than merely mode of transport. Exciting game viewing is offered on horseback for all riding abilities. To work off the calories, bushwalks and mountain bike trails await. For the more laid-back options, be gobbled up by the beautiful library or enjoy the impressive collection of rare African artifacts and paintings in the enormous, high-ceilinged entrance hall. Otherwise pull up a basket chair, drink in hand, and lap up the lovely big pool and sprawling views beyond. Meals are an occasion; enjoy mouth-watering breakfasts to delicious alfresco lunches on the panoramic veranda of the award-winning El Prado restaurant. Contemporary and international cuisine is beautifully presented, enhancing a traditional dining experience in the elegant dining room or “Out of Africa” style under the stars. The restaurant has an exceptional wine list and offers game specialties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Booking.com so you can book your Pakamisa Private Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing