We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop what you're doing and go there now ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Phinda Rock Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Stop what you're doing and go there now ”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited the Phinda Rock Lodge as part of the second leg of our South African Honeymoon, the first leg was a cousins wedding in drakensburg. Given the adrenaline and excitement and fun of a family wedding in SA, Phinda had a challenge to match what we just experienced, and it certainly had a go. From arriving at the lodge to leaving, first class service, food and experiences that will live long in the memory. The guides and the trackers are what make the experience really, along with the wildlife and the braii's (bbq) and the food and the rooms and the...... Everything. But knowledgeable guides and who work in a system of tracking with the other reserves basically ensure that you will see the big five, we practically achieved it in two hours, which is mind blowing. As is the proximity that you actually get to the animals, without ever feeling threatened. In short, this place is awesome and is a MUST when in SA.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    16
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
81
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Feusisberg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
267 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

A truly superb place to spend a few days. We enjoyed three game drives and were rewarded with some spectacular sightings of everything apart from Leopard, a reason to maybe go back again?
Great food, very very comfortable and luxurious accommodation with our own pool and butler service. Complimentary well stocked mini bar (not really required as the wines and drinks are also included in the price but appreciated none the less.
Excellent guides who are obviously love their jobs and conservation.
If you can afford one luxurious trip, do this.
outstanding experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank royvocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Phinda Rock was sensational. From watching lions feeding on a kill to cheetahs with cubs; from tracking elephant on foot to romantic and private night-time dinners on the balcony... the entire experience was unforgettable. This is the perfect setting for a honeymoon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MROehley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had originally booked the Forest Lodge at Phinda and then were upgraded to Suite #1 at Rock Lodge because they needed space for a group at Forest. The previous reviews were right on as far as I am concerned but just a few comments:

+ The staff were incredible and they were always looking for ways to ensure you were happy. A special call out to Terryn the manager, "Mr. M" our butler and Judith the cook

+ The food - incredible variety, quantity and very high quality. Some of the best food I have ever eaten (coming from someone who travels extensively on business)

+ Our room was spacious, private and very luxurious. Do you really need air conditioning in the bush?, when it was 41 C and coming back from our safari, we turned it on an really enjoyed it. The outdoor shower, plunge pool and watching the giraffes from our bed were incredible highlights

+ We had Ross as our ranger, and his knowledge of the wildlife, ability to find animals and also his photographic skills and recommendations really were invaluable to me. We are able to take a river cruise after one of the bush drives where we saw crocodiles and many birds. The spotter (Foxy) had incredible vision and located so many things that we would not have seen on our own. The "sundowner" cocktail hours were very special.

- A small complaint, the top shelf liquors and wines had an extra cost and this was not the case at the other lodges we stayed. I think at these prices, all drinks should be included in the price as the wines which were served were very average for my taste.

Summary: if you are looking for a very exclusive bush resort, where the focus is on the customer, the quality of the safari experiences and a memories which will last you a lifetime, this is the place!

Room Tip: we found Suite number one to be awesome! Very private and special!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank germanfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hildenborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We deliberately chose Phinda due to its reputation and this lodge due to the intimacy as part of out tasting menu of SA.

Having previously seen Tigers in India this was a place where we should be able to see everything and in ultimate luxury.

The rooms in the Rock lodge were amazing huge bathrooms with bath at window level, massive bedroom with views over the Forrest and outside private deck with plunge pool and all inclusive. Great staff very helpful, very experienced rangers and trackers that would point out everything.
And only two couples per jeep. See the photos below but saw Herds of Elephants, White and Black Rhino, A pride of lions and a mother Cheetah with three cubs among many others. And just in case you wonder this isn't a zoo thats why when they get out of the jeep they carry their rifles. The key thing is you can see most of the wildlife in a couple of days.

One very slight disappointment food was good but not exceptional also the second night we ate as a group and we would have preferred privacy and also difficult to see what you were eating.

Nevertheless A* and we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pasarell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

The Moroccan architecture reminds one of something out of "The Flintstones." The suites are big. It is higher elevation that most camps I have seen. They can take you even higher to the top of a mountain. Game galore. One day we saw 24 mammal species. The food is good and plentiful. Rooms are air conditioned and they have Internet along with the library area. Richards Bay (2 hours) and Durban (3 hours) closest big airports butt here is a landing strip with too expensive service. The landscape in the area is beautiful. Rolling hills and mountain and lakes.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank happyflyer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went to Phinda Rock Lodge for a family get away for the weekend.

We were greeted by the friendly staff and welcomed with lovely refreshing drinks. Our rooms were beautiful and big and they were nothing less than true luxury.The game drives were so much fun and I saw wildlife that I have never seen before.Our rangers went out of their way to find the animals we really wanted to see.

I will definitely be back here soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phinda Private Game Reserve
9.5 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
10.6 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
123 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
#1 of 6 in Phinda Private Game Reserve
357 reviews
249.2 mi away
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
andBeyond Ngala Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Ngala Private Game Reserve
428 reviews
5.0 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 32 in Hluhluwe
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Phinda Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Phinda Rock Lodge

Property: andBeyond Phinda Rock Lodge
Address: Phinda Private Game Reserve, Phinda Private Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Phinda Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Phinda Rock Lodge looks out over its own lush valley, like a small private castle amidst a tangle of wild African sights and sounds. The suites of this intimate and romantic lodge cling dramatically to steep cliffs with views across the valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing