We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phinda - Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Phinda Vlei Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Phinda - Fabulous”
Reviewed May 19, 2008

Phinda was truly a spectacular experience. Loved every moment of our trip there. However the weather was not favorable (rained a lot). Phinda is especially favorable as it is a low risk malaria area. The accomodations and food were far above average and would recomend this Safari to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2003, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelbugVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
144
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2008

It's going to take too long to write a comprehensive review and it's really too special of an experience to share but here are the highlights for anyone considering Vlei Lodge:
1) The rooms are beautiful
2) The staff is beyond sweet and friendly
3) There are animals everywhere - including a little monkey family on our front porch, nyala drinking from our plunge pool while we napped and a weird cat thing hanging around on our side porch...game rides are another story...too unbelievable to get into
4) The guides are wonderful - funny, insightful, non-intrusive, knowledgeable on a variety of topics
5) the food is very good...very fresh and thoughtfully prepared.
6) the countryside is truly special

A special tip - get a massage - i did last minute in my room and it was a really great massage.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SWTTRAVELS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2007

Stayed at Phinda Vlei for three nights. To be honest, you see all the game they have in the area within two nights. Their guides are experienced and all four lodges are in communication with each other, so if you just stay two nights, you'll probably see everything. Our most exciting viewings were lions mating and of course the black rhino. Also many white rhino with babies. The accommodations are fine, although our heater did not work the first night and it was zero degrees centigrade in our room in the morning! (we moved to another room.) We like Vlei rather than the other lodges because you're closer to the animals. We had monkeys constantly checking out our cabin to try to get inside. And we had nyala and warthogs feeding right outside our windows. It was magical. Vlei also only has six rooms, so it's a lot more intimate. Though for things like a gift shop or internet access, we had to go over to Forest Lodge (a very good gift shop, by the way). Forest and Mountain are much bigger lodges, so their vehicles always seemed rather crowded (and most families with kids stay at Mountain, although kids are actually allowed at all four lodges -- we had some at ours who were very well-behaved, so that wasn't a problem).
To be honest, we're experienced safari camp goers and we found that they sometimes have to work really, really hard at Phinda to find the game. Some times you'll only see one or two different animals on your drive. We've been to other camps (Malamala and Singita, for example) where the game is more plentiful and not difficult to find.
But if you want the black rhino, you have to come here.
Food was good and service was first-rate.

  • Liked — The amazing location
  • Disliked — Our heater didn't work the first night!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank D-co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2006

During our visit in late September I had goosebumps more often the not and it wasn't the chilly mornings and nights. One of four cheetah being chased by a young bull elephant for getting in his way, a black rhino chasing a pride of seven lions away from "his" watering hole, a nyala buck doing his dominance dance and a white rhino with a young one touching mouths with a black rhino by way of greeting were all seen in the space of two days! And that doesn't include elephants taking over a suite plunge pool for a long evening drink. I would go back in a minute. The suites are spacious, comfortable and private and service is generally good. The food was bad on our first night and very good on our second night. We were told the regular chef was away on our first night. Our ranger was outstanding with a visible love of what he was doing and our soft-spoken Zulu tracker told us about his culture while we sipped G & Ts standing alongside the vehicle surrounded by Africa. Going back - whenever we can.

  • Liked — Private plunge pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Find out if the regaular chef will be there
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trippinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 15, 2006

The ambiance at the Vlei logde is so serene and beautiful, you won't ever want to leave. Every small detail of your experience and maximum comfort has been given thoughtful attention. Because they only accomodate a few visitors at a time, it is a very quiet and private place. The room-more like a small house really-was very romantic and lovely. I would pass the hot afternoons in my private plunge pool watching the animals stroll by in the distance. Most important, I was so impressed by the knowledge and committment of our guide. We saw many lions and some cubs, which are my favorite. I loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2005

Just stayed for 2 nights at Vlei Lodge - it is the most exclusive of the four Phinda Lodges and consists of just 6 individual thatched rooms (more like houses) set in the middle of the reserve. They are designed to be extremely private, you cannot see another room from your room. Each one has a large private deck facing out into the bush, with (very cold) plunge pool! The service is extremely personal, because there are never more than 12 guests there at any one time. Have never experienced service of the same kind anywhere in the world. Game drives are fantastic, our ranger was so knowledgeable it was amazing. Food is great and they basically can't give you enough of it - you are offered food and drink at every turn! Every single member of staff remembers your first name which is a lovely touch. Dinner in the outdoor boma is an experience you won't forget in a hurry. Phinda is one of those places that you almost don't want to recommend because you want to keep it all to yourself!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank snowyshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phinda Private Game Reserve
17.2 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
10.1 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
24 reviews
22.7 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
129 reviews
0.4 mi away
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
#2 of 6 in Phinda Private Game Reserve
364 reviews
15.0 mi away
Thanda Safari
Thanda Safari
#1 of 1 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Phinda Vlei Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Phinda Vlei Lodge

Property: andBeyond Phinda Vlei Lodge
Address: Kwazulu-Natal, Phinda Private Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Phinda Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AndBeyond Phinda Vlei Lodge is the ultimate, romantic and totally private safari getaway. Its location amongst the trees on the edge of an open grassland offers fantastic game viewing, with each suite carefully positioned for a prime view of the animals coming out to drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your andBeyond Phinda Vlei Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phinda Vlei Hotel Phinda Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing