We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place! The best!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place! The best!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you are doing safari in South Africa, definitely go here. Small enough to see the big 5, but big enough that it doesn't feel like a zoo. The staff is amazing. So polite, informed. We were thrilled with our stay. Food is outstanding, and you never go hungry. Absolutely must visit. Look for Sam and Mr. T as your ranger/guide. They are fabulous!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicknyc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    29
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
93
178
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was skeptical of all the great reviews...and than we have a spectacular stay for 4 nights and I felt compelled to add my comments. Phinda is truly a first class act -great animals with 2 safari outings a day (Benson was a fantastic ranger/guide - the real deal!), the food was delicious with wonderful dinning settings, all the staff are all very friendly and personable and the small touches make it a trip to cherish for a long time. Echo the reviews from others - fantastic in every way!

Room Tip: Plan ahead - tough to get rooms in the high season. If you have a tight connection at Durban ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights after having been at Dulini in Kruger for 3 nights. Phinda is a truly special place in every way - we missed it the second we left. At both, the staff was as sweet and helpful as possible, and the food was excellent.

Phinda's safaris were incredible and notable for the rhinos, elephants and big cats. Two things stood out in the safaris: first the cats - we saw different sets of cheetas every day (8 in all), followed a pride of lions over 2 days, and even spent an evening with a leopard, following it as it marked its territory; second the lanscape, which varied from a lush sand forest where the lodge is located to picturesque wide open plains where the cats hunt. The safari's were different at Phinda vs. Dulini in that the rangers at Phinda truly track the animals and need to find them for guests to see them. At 260 sq. km, the reserve is huge so it usually took an hour of driving before we started to really see animals. Dulini was more compact so we started seeing animals almost immediately.

The 17 rooms at Phinda were beautifully, modernly redone 4 years ago and in perfect condition. Ask for one further away from the main lodge (such as rooms 10 or 11) so that your neighbors don't peek in while they walk to dinner or safari... Note that the lodge is in the middle of the reserve so one runs into nyalas, impalas and duikers which is a treat.

We did two excursions outside of Phinda: one to the beach to see turtles lay eggs and the other to the cat sanctuary. Seeing these large turtles walk up the beach and lay eggs was a truly memorable experience made "luxurious" because we had a wonderful dinner served for the 2 of us first on a secluded beach. The cat sanctuary was more of a zoo-like experience but petting a cheeta and having it purr was fun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuitNflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the forest lodge. The lodge is magnificent the cabins are beautiful they have not forgotten any special touches inc your own yoga mat.
The food was delicious and lots of it
The game drives were fantastic. Our guide was Sam and his tracker was mr t they make a great team and make sure u get to see the big 5. Even though they have been doing this for quite sometime they make you feel as if it was their 1st drive and get just as excited as you.
This place is very special and all the staff are warm and welcoming
Way to go phinda

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joe060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanmen County, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here for 4 days as a solo traveler, first safari. I probably should have done two days Forest and two days Mountain, but I didn't and I can't say I regret it too much. Every game drive got better and better. Started out seeing a cheetah and three cubs, ended with mating leopards. My ranger was as enthusiastic about seeing game as I was and responsive to requests for certain animals. Food was delicious and abundant - maybe too abundant! Walking by red dyker, monkies and impala as I went to breakfast in the morning was magical. Troops of baboons also came to the waterhole in front of the breakfast pavilion on several occasions. My road transfer to and from the lodge to Richard's Bay airport was exactly on time and the drivers were friendly. I can't wait to go back on safari with &Beyond.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carefree, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Forest Lodge and it was awesome and so romantic. The detail into everything they do, the smiling faces giving you privacy, the safari trips with our ranger Wayne by ourselves, the bubble bath waiting for us surrounded by candles and champagne, the private candlelight dinner in our casita patio, massage in the patio with the bird singing, the visit of the monkey and the sounds at night. What else is there to say than I will remember the trip for the rest of my life. Wowww! Worth every penny for the peace and tranquility we had so close to nature.

Room Tip: There are about 8 casitas and they are all very private from each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at Forest Lodge for two nights and Rock Lodge for two nights (Rock is at the other end of the reserve from Forest, about a 25 minute drive). Definitely recommend mixing it up if you can swing it, as both lodges offer completely different experiences and you will see totally different animals at each end of the reserve.

Both Forest and Rock were luxurious, but very different.

The staff at &Beyond Phinda is second to none - absolutely wonderful rangers, guides, trackers and hospitality staff. Definitely put this on your 'dream vacation' list and make it happen, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a more secluded room at Forest Lodge, one that is tucked away in the trees, so you have more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phinda Private Game Reserve
18.1 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
17.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
22.3 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#3 of 34 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
14.6 mi away
Thanda Safari
Thanda Safari
#1 of 1 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
14.7 mi away
Rhino River Lodge
Rhino River Lodge
#2 of 34 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge

Property: andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
Address: Kwazulu-Natal, Phinda Private Game Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Phinda Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set deep in the heart of a rare and beautiful dry sand forest, the award-winning Forest Lodge fuses architecture and conservation. The lodge was hand built by local artisans, with a minimal footprint on the forest floor – not one tree was felled during construction. An exquisite contradiction, floor-to-ceiling glass walls invite the forest inside, while the dense tree canopy shelters and provides privacy. Floating on stilts above the forest floor while dainty suni graze below, the 16 Zulu Zen suites blend harmoniously into the dappled shade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phinda Forest Hotel Phinda Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing