We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
$92
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$108
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$82
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa(Nottingham Road)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveler rating
323
42
6
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
42
6
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsphinda mountain lodgeplunge poolgame drivesthe reserveblack rhinoattention to detailsafari experiencefantastic experiencestayed nightsevery staff memberover the topbush dinnerspecial thankssouth africaliving areachildren agedoutdoor shower
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 377 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My partner and I spent a wonderful two nights at Phinda recently. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. The room was absolutely gorgeous, the little touches like the bed side mats and the electric blanket put on in the evenings were fabulous little touches. The staff really go out of their way to ensure that your stay is a comfortable one. There was nothing to fault at all.l The meals were incredible (if slightly 2 large) and the atmosphere was magnificent. Our ranger Lucky found some wonderful sightings for us. Lioness and cubs, leopard kill(absolutely INCREDIBLE!!) cheetah and cubs and lioness and male lion hunting. Emma set up a gorgeous stop for us in the mornings with champagne and orange juice and delicious scones with strawberry cream, just a few hundred meters from a black rhino! What a weekend to remember. Cannot wait to go back, thank you to all!

Room Tip: The rooms with the views are glorious!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Phinda has been our first safari experience, it's although difficult to be objective.

1- We definitely loved very much the general service, the cosy and elegant atmosphere of the common area, the discrete but efficacy presence of the staff.
2- Food, far beyond expectation, is inventive, raffinate and mostly prepared with local products. The cooking staff is gorgeous and succeed in preparing every day something completed different.
3 -The professionalism, culture and skills of the rangers is a real pleasure and the their sincere passion and enthusiasm for their profession is contagious. From this point of view, Phinda has succeeded to put the right people in the right job. These rangers are the nicest people we ever met in our tourists-business-related-relationships.
4- The private reserve is of a real beauty, with richness and variety of landscapes, flora and fauna. We cannot say more, since it's the only place in earth of this kind we have visited.

The reasons we don't give a 5:
1- Furniture of the public area need some upgrade (fabric of canapé used and stained).
2- Rooms need a more accurate check by the managers concerning cleanliness and the state of furniture. We have some issues about these 2 points (some stains, some tissues forgotten by the previous guest, the lock of a door broken) and the manager in charge manage them very well. But still, for the huge price payed, there was no evidence of a procedure being in place to prevent this kind of problems.
3- The breakfast is excellent in quality like the rest of the food, but there's a lack of organisation in the order process: nobody come spontaneously to ask you for order, you must grab the ladies attention (I stood and went closed to one of them) and ask them to take your order.

But of course, even with these minus points, we will be back!

Stayed: April 2014
Thank enea_z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Too true, Sibu

&Beyond and the Mountain Lodge at Phinda Private Reserve exceeded my expectations. Everything ran smoothly from the moment we were picked up from our hotel in Durban. The staff were wonderful: they displayed good humour and a genuine personal touch while delivering a totally professional service. Our guide and tracker were also fantastic. Not only did they make sure we got see a huge range of wildlife, they did it in an informative way and seemed to be just as thrilled at finding the animals themselves as we were to see them in the wild. Finding animals on safari doesn't provide instant gratification (nor should it) but just about everything else does.

The safaris, the Big 5, sundowners, the meals and the settings...all good; We packed so many memories into such a short period. It was brilliant and thanks to all those that contributed.

Room Tip: Remember to latch your door...the monkeys like the caramel slice.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weston_R2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Staff, venue and reserve excellent. Game drives morning and night were superb. Nice surprises like candlelight dinner in the bush at the end of the afternoon game drive or lakeside Champange & pancakes really were special.
Our ranger Lucky & tracker Josi showed us everything - big 5 & even leopard twice. Awesome.
Lodge staff were excellent - Richard & Eric were fantastic as were Lauren & Kylie. Both Lauren & Kylie were very nice to ours sons. Very welcoming place.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Kneemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Nice place in the middle of a quiet area with no traffic. Just mother nature. A bit of a drive from Richards Bay where we landed. However, the highway is nice and smooth and wide. all the way. You can to a gravel road when you veer off the highway to get to the lodge. 15 min drive on the gravel to get to the rooms. And you can see some wildlife on the way. We saw giraffes, zebras, buffalos, etc. Lovely welcome. Managed to see lions, rhinos, elephants too. Saw the four of the Big Five. Leopards are not the easiest to see or find. So don't get disappointed if you don't see one. But you are almost guaranteed to see the elephant, rhino, buffalo and lion ("big four"). Food is lovely and traditional. Nice evenings by the fire with good wine. Enjoy it. I absolutely had a good time in between our conference and tense but productive company debates.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews