We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best experiences I have ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“One of the best experiences I have ever had”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spent 5 days at this lodge, marvelling at it's location, their skilled rangers, the safari - a private reserve to only a few guests. The rooms/cabins are just the most wonderful luxury, with huge windows facing away from the hotel for your privacy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    38
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
123
117
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Besides the fact that this place is unbelievable with regards to the accomodation, views, wildlife, bush dinners, pool and more it is the staff that made this trip so unique. Every single person there was very very friendly, very helpfull, and everything felt like it was real. Not because they have to be friendly becasue its their job. It was sincere and very pleasant. I would go back to an andBeyond accommodation in a second!!!!

Our ranger Luke and tracker Bathuel were excellent!!!!

Room Tip: If you are with a family they have a family suite which is excellent!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imilhado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This stay was booked directly through & Beyond who were excellent in every respect.
Upon our arrival we were greeted from the car by staff bearing hot towels and drinks which were much appreciated,
This is a large lodge and we were fortunate to be put in the palatial room 8 which has the view featured in the brochure, it was, until another & Beyond Loge I visited later the most luxurious room I have ever stayed in.
Mountain Loge is Phinda's family Lodge but there were fortunately no children when we were there in early Sept, I would suggest checking term times etc.
As there were very few people staying in a large lodge there were always plenty of staff around to provide drinks etc.
A typical day is
0530. Early call for safari
0600. Hot drink before Safari
0800 Breakfast begins but is available until about 1030hrs
1300 Buffet Lunch
1530 Afternoon Tea
1600 Safari
1830 Dinner.
Safaris include hot drinks and snacks.
Of course everything is optional
During the safaris we saw a whole range of animals and birds led by our excellent guide and tracker.
Staff were excellent and very attentive.
The food was of the highest quality.
This was a brilliant place to stay.
Also a plug for http://www.townandcountrytours.co.za/ who took care of all our transfers, always on time, new cars and smart drivers

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyW5961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Incredible accommodation, incredible staff, incredible rooms, incredible food and wine, some of the best game viewing I have ever experienced and I have been to lots of reserves. I highly recommend this property and reserve

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neenals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Together with another couple my wife and I visited Phinda Mountain Lodge in the Phinda Private Reserve in KZN for 3 nights in mid-Aug.The booking process went smoothly however we had to move rooms after the first night which the staff made easy and painless.
The room itself was fantastic (#23 is worth requesting - larger deck and great view from the plunge pool).
The staff were all extremely helpful and friendly whilst our ranger was exceptional, especially as we requested him to find specific birds only found in this area.
They arranged 3 different suppers with the last one being a surprise in the bush and they really went to a lot of trouble for all the guests. Generally the food was good but has room for improvement.
We also went on the boat cruise which, whilst short, is worthwhile and at no extra cost.
This lodge is part of the &Beyond Group who we really recommend for busg experiences as the cost is all inclusive of EVERYTHING. Look out for their 'Specials' which are a 50% at short notice.
Next time we will try another one of their lodges in the same Park (I think there are 6). If you like comfort in the bush this is worthwhile.

Room Tip: #23 seemed to have a larger deck than the others with a great view over the bushveld. It's also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PretoriaRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wow, what a safari experience! From the moment you arrive you are treated like royalty. From the check-in until the time you depart you are made to feel special. The accommodation is stunning sadly ours was without a view and which was adjacent to another suite which when occupied is a little less private. The plunge pool is great to cool off however the only problem is that elderly folk would struggle getting in and out as there is no handle to hang onto. The game drives, the 4 we did where excellent with a knowledgeable ranger who worked hard to find the wildlife with amazing sightings of black and white rhino literally forging together. Food is very good and substantial. If self-driving from Durban and surrounds be wary as the trip is longer than expected with a pretty hectic drive of dodging pedestrians, domestic animals, trucks and the taxis. Don't try driving after noon on Fridays!

Room Tip: Ask for a close by room that has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelProCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A lovely luxury place to stay near Durban. Staff, food , driver ranger excellent. Our chalet was wonderful with a nice view and very quiet. The terrace has a fantastic view. We saw the Big 5 several times. The Game drives were amazing.

Room Tip: Rooms near the Guest Area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy1858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phinda Private Game Reserve
10.5 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
129 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
402 reviews
9.3 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
24 reviews
8.3 mi away
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
#2 of 6 in Phinda Private Game Reserve
363 reviews
10.9 mi away
Thanda Safari
Thanda Safari
#1 of 1 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge

Property: andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge
Address: Phinda Private Game Reserve, Phinda Private Game Reserve 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Phinda Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wraparound views of the ancient Ubombo mountain range, Mountain Lodge balances itself majestically above its panoramic surroundings. The 24 suites scattered along the mountainside offer complete privacy and luxury. There's no end to the choice of taking in the view - spacious verandas with private plunge pools and layered guest areas each provide their own magnificent outlook. Delicious Pan African meals are enjoyed in the dramatic stone and reed boma, lit by the warm glow of dozens of candles and lanterns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phinda Mountain Hotel Phinda Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing