We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Safari with family. A beautiful experience, amazing views and animals,. Top service at the lodge, very exclusive! All food and drinks were inclusive, which gives a nice touch of luxury. Superb ranger who put in the little extra effort to make the experiece extraorinary. The food was good and dinner settings were different every night. The lodges were spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. The game reserve is very well maintained, plenty of animals but not too grouded, only occasionally you see another jeep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    37
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
111
114
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at Phinda Mountain lodge in November and since then we have been dreaming up reasons to go back! A family reunion, or an anniversary? It is expensive but SO worth the money we paid. I can't think of anything they could do for us that they did not do. The rooms were magnificent, the management extremely friendly and competent, the food was attractive and tasty and varied and generous, and our ranger was so well informed and generous with his time. The landscape is varied and the animals plentiful and the lodge is wonderfully appointed, with the loveliest mini bar I have ever seen! Bubbly even at breakfast! Sundowners out in the bush each evening, the plunge pools when you get back...

Room Tip: The rooms 1-9 and 25,26 are less nice as they look onto the walkway while the others are magnificent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SafariQueenNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently stayed 3 nights at Mountain Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay. The Lodge was not full with capacity running at about half, due to it being the"rainy season". We were fortunate to only experience light rain during the later part of one afternoon safari and the vehicle was well equipped with rain proof ponchos and blankets - of course this is when a large herd of elephant decided to become a roadblock in no hurry at all! The thing is rain wont hurt you and what an experience to be surrounded by a breeding herd in the dimming light of day.

Back to what you want to know. Our family suite(no 2) was beautiful with most comfortable bed, lovely bath, indoor/outdoor shower, mini bar and plunge pool from which the warthogs liked to drink when the monkeys were not pestering them.Extra bed in room for our 7 year old son did not infringe on the spaciousness. Lovely notes left on beds throughout our stay including a most charming welcome note for our son specifically addressed to him from Smelly Ellie - just gorgeous and I will treasure it as a keepsake.
& BEYOND do a great job for families with kids, offering special menus and activities. Every member of staff were extremely pleasant during our stay and the food/beverage selection was excellent. Our mini bar was well stocked even though we did not use it as there is a limit to how much alcohol you can drink when having such early mornings and full days.Pool area lovely and well maintained with spectacular views of the valley below. Loved being able to swim and keep an eye on a couple of white rhino.
Game drives were diverse and we loved our ranger Callie Hayden - Smith who is a real bonus for & BEYOND'S brand. Callie knows her stuff, imparts the knowledge well, is personable and great with kids. Apart from wonderful sightings of the Big and Little 5 we loved our hot chocolate with Amarula, cooking jaffles in the bush and dinner in the bush with all the accoutrements of an expensive restaurant. The ambience was great.
I have stayed at many of & BEYOND'S properties over a 14 year period and am still "blown away" by the luxury and attention to detail provided. Hmmm where to stay next......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Imfundu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

It was my first safari experience.. Apart from the beautiful accommodation solution (spacious room, equipped with every comfort - there's no tv from what I can remember but who wants to watch tv once he's there??), the restaurant service was great and once you're there you just want to try everything.. From breakfast to dinner.. if you have the chance, don't miss the dinner in the bush.. The perfect ending to an intense day! The staff was extremely kind.. A special thank-you to our ranger.. I don't remember his name, but he went out of his way to make sure my first safari was an unforgettable experience! Good job!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FedeFede_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umhlanga Rocks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

From our arrival to our departure, everything was perfect. The staff were so attentive and friendly. The food was very good. The rooms are big and first class - each room has a private splash pool. The game ranger and tracker went out of their way to make sure we saw and were educated about the Big 5 / trees/ birds/ insects etc. Mountain Lodge is the largest of all the lodges at Phinda, but that was never a problem. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Merryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Mountain lodge has several strong points:
1.The rooms are fabulous: large, well appionted, great view and big outdoor area with inviting plunge pool (I think the best of the Andbeyond properties I've visited)
2. The property is situated on top of a hill with wonderful view
3. Great dinners in the Boma with tasty food
4. The overall scenery beautiful
5. The quality of the ranger and tracker was top notch- as always with Andbeyond

Like the title suggests a few aspects were different than expected. These are not negatives but aspects that might be useful to be aware of when choosing this property:
1. The resort is quite large, so if your looking for a more intimate feel another lodge in Phinda would suit better
2. Less personal service - it changes at all meals
3. Very family oriented with several kids (well behaved so no issue, but good to be aware if)

All in all we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy2011Oslo_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just back from Phinda mountain lodge after spending 2 nights, saw the big 5 and close encounter with mother elephant, an awesome wildlife experience at Phinda game reserve, just 3 hours drive from Durban airport.

the service is top notch as expected from &beyond, rooms were clean, in room mini bar was stacked up, food was excellent.

will come back again in near future, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khalil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phinda Private Game Reserve
9.7 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
10.3 mi away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
24.0 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
8.4 mi away
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
#1 of 6 in Phinda Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
4.7 mi away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#3 of 34 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge

Property: andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge
Address: Phinda Private Game Reserve, Phinda Private Game Reserve 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Phinda Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wraparound views of the ancient Ubombo mountain range, Mountain Lodge balances itself majestically above its panoramic surroundings. The 24 suites scattered along the mountainside offer complete privacy and luxury. There's no end to the choice of taking in the view - spacious verandas with private plunge pools and layered guest areas each provide their own magnificent outlook. Delicious Pan African meals are enjoyed in the dramatic stone and reed boma, lit by the warm glow of dozens of candles and lanterns. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phinda Mountain Hotel Phinda Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing