We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plunge Pool!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Plunge Pool!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Even the plunge pool and outdoor shower were great. &Beyond made our three-night stay at Phinda Mtn unforgettable. Such delicious food, personalized service. For our safaris we had the best Guide (JP) and Tracker (Patrick). Saw the Big-5 without a hitch. Highly recommend the river cruise. One note: dinners at the BOMA can be smokey.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cmon_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    38
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
123
118
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Having reached the lodge on very very hot afternoon...to be welcomed by ever smiling ,Greg the Lodge Manager, with a chilled glass of Hansa was totally bliss.

The location of the lodge within Phinda Private Game Reserve was interesting. Built on a hill overlooking the plains , the lodge has a lot of character. The open deck areas and dining area added to the charm of the place.

The rooms are well laid out, large beds, an indoor seating area, a massive bathroom with an imposing tub overlooking the forest outside. The have an outdoor showers and plunge pool as well. Truly luxurious.

I must say the staff and rangers here were absolutely fabulous. Each one went about their business with a smile and with silent efficiency. The rangers knew their stuff and were pretty quick in spotting game and were very well versed with the local flora and fauna.

The food was excellent especially the surprise Boma dinner out in the bush. The grills were to die for and the chef made some vegetarian food for me to sample which was out of this world. Even the others on my table put away their meat for a a bite of some Mediterranean dishes.

Unfortunately, I was here only for one night, actually less than 24 hours, and wish I had spent more time here.

Highly recommend at least 2 nights especially if you are driving up from Durban to really experience what this place has to offer.

A special thanks to Greg the Manager, Paul and Greg the rangers and everyone else who made my stay a truly memorable one.

Room Tip: Room 20 Closest to the Main Area and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gobeyondtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have just spent three nights at Phinda Mountain lodge. we have stayed at Phinda Forest before and although both totally different (and both good), we felt that Mountain lodge pipped Forest lodge. Nothing was too much trouble at Mountain, food was outstanding, and the attention to details and personalised service from staff was amazing. Rooms are spacious with good views of the surrounding bush. level of service in the rooms was fantastic.

Our Rager Callie was outstanding with great bush knowledge and good communication skills. having travelled extensively in the safari industry; we would not hesitate to recommend Phinda Mountain to anybody wishing too experiance great game viewing, linked with superb food and accomodation.

Room Tip: perimeter rooms are better as they all have a view and are private. if you do not want to walk far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We love Phinda and this was our second trip to the reserve. The first time we stayed at Forest Lodge and I must say we did prefer Forest. Mountain Lodge has beautiful views, the staff is excellent, the food great. Mountain lodge has more rooms than the other lodges and so feels a bit less personal. The game drives were always magical. However, one of the people on our vehicle wanted to see elephant and they were way up north near Forest Lodge, we spent most of the drive racing up there to see elephants and I would have much preferred a more leisurely pace with time enjoying whatever we saw along the way.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mountainhomegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Vlei Lodge before moving to the Mountain Lodge for 2 nights. I thought the staff at both lodges were great but the folks at Vlei seemed a bit more outgoing, the staff at the Mountain lodge were great but perhaps a bit more reserved. I loved the room at the Mountain Lodge but preferred the Vlei Lodge (from a villa perspective), there were little touches that Vlei had like an iPod docking station and mosquito nets that were appreciated that the Mountain Lodge didn't have. The food at both lodges was great but it seemed like the Mountain Lodge had a bigger variety and more full meetings. The drives were equally amazing and the ranger and tracker were fantastic. One favorite memory is that since the Mountain Lodge has more rooms, we met some really great lifelong new friends from around the world. We spent New Year’s Eve at the Lodge and Phinda set up a very special sunset party in the bush and then dinner back at the Lodge (outdoors of course!). I'd absolutely recommend the Mountain Lodge, if you have kids or a larger group I think this is a wonderful option.

Room Tip: All the villas are beautiful and similar but some can be a bit further away from the main lodge (lon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Longhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the mountain lodge. FANTASTIC! We are a family of 4. Children 8 and 10. It was perfect for us! Great staff! I mean really great. Thank you Thumba for babysitting! :-)
The food is excellent! Breakfast, lunch and dinner! Best food we had on our 10 day trip. The suites are really really 5 star luxury nice! We would not change anything! 10 out of 10.
We had great drives and thank you to Matt and Tom for taking care of us! They really did all they could to show us everything.

We simply fell in love with the Moutain Lodge......
We are going back!

Room Tip: You have very nice privacy in suite 10. And a bit of a view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dlira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I visited Phinda with my family and a friend and her family in December 2011. Teenage kids are not always easy to spend time with - or get off their electronic toys. 4 days of long game drives and thrilling bush experiences was a wonderful way for us to all be together for long periods of time, without any interruptions or stresses.

We all love the bush, and took delight in the large and small animals and birds that we saw. Despite end of year exhaustion, and talk of sleeping late and missing a drive, not one of us missed a game drive. Teenage boys used to getting up well after 11 were on the vehicle and ready to go at 5am - knowing that we would be surprised yet again. As a group of 8, we had our own ranger and tracker, and the laughter and easy banter was great fun for all.

Mealtimes were a treat, with something for everyone in the lavish buffets at each meal. Dinners al fresco under the stars, aroung a large fire in the boma were always a casual affair, and a chance for us to relive the highlights of the day. The spacious rooms with private pools were a treat, and the 4 teenagers loved the family suite that they shared. We were all sad to leave at the end of the long weekend, but the memories will live on.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be great - the family suite a winner for a family, or a group of responsib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phinda Private Game Reserve
6.4 mi away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
25 reviews
10.5 mi away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
130 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ghost Mountain Inn
Ghost Mountain Inn
#1 of 1 in Mkuze
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
8.3 mi away
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
andBeyond Phinda Forest Lodge
#1 of 6 in Phinda Private Game Reserve
369 reviews
10.9 mi away
Thanda Safari
Thanda Safari
#1 of 2 in Thanda Private Game Reserve
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge

Property: andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge
Address: Phinda Private Game Reserve, Phinda Private Game Reserve 3960, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Phinda Private Game Reserve
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Phinda Private Game Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With wraparound views of the ancient Ubombo mountain range, Mountain Lodge balances itself majestically above its panoramic surroundings. The 24 suites scattered along the mountainside offer complete privacy and luxury. There's no end to the choice of taking in the view - spacious verandas with private plunge pools and layered guest areas each provide their own magnificent outlook. Delicious Pan African meals are enjoyed in the dramatic stone and reed boma, lit by the warm glow of dozens of candles and lanterns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your andBeyond Phinda Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phinda Mountain Hotel Phinda Private Game Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing