We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!!!”
Review of Kosi Forest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kosi Forest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice!!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The 2 nights we spent at Kosi forest Lodge were really nice! The food was great and the staff very friendly and interested in your well being. The lodge is surrounded by beautiful forests and lakes. We did the boat tour through the various lakes, spotted some hippos and had a swim in the middle of one the lakes where the water is clear, about 1 m deep with a white sandy floor! Awesome! After that we went on to the beach, where we had a picnic lunch and another swim, this time in the warm waters of the Indian Ocean. What a wonderful day! That night we had dinner in a clearing literally "inside" the forest, oil lanterns led us from the lodge to a beautifully set table surrounded by more oil lanterns and a camp fire. Precious! Our guided canoe experience was absolutely amazing, beautiful and peaceful! Would definitely go back for more as there was not enough time to do all that there is to do!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Kosi Forest Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Claudia S,

What a lovely review - thank you so much for taking the time. We are so thrilled to know that our Lodge gave you and your family such an experience.

Kind Regards
Penny Rice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    41
    11
    10
    1
See reviews for
36
78
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We spent a blissful 3 days here. Permanent tents are all shaded by the forest and delightful outdoor bathrooms on the sand! Staff, especially Blessing were all fantastic. You can just chill out at the pool overlooking Lake Shengeza or go on the many excursions available. We did Raffia Palm Forest Walk, the guided canoe trip along the Sihadla channel and the boat trip to see the fish traps - all were totally worth it. I would definately recommend at least 3 days, so that you can do a little of both.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller55KT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Kosi Forest Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Traveller55KT
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at Kosi Forest Lodge. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review we really value all our guests comments.
Happy travelling.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
Marketing Manager
ISIBINDI AFRICA LODGES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Spent two nights at the Kosi Forest Lodge. The experience was unbelievable. The lodge is in the middle of nowhere and that's what makes it so beautiful and so romantic. The staff was wonderful as was the food. We went on 2 tours proposed by the lodge and they were both fantastic. Our guide took us to a deserted beach where we had a great picnic. So good. We've never seen such a beautiful and tranquil place! Definitely recommend staying at the Kosi Forest Lodge for at least 2 nights!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego /Jacqueli... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Kosi Forest Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Diego & Jacqueli
Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review. We love it when our guests enjoy their stay with us.
Happy travelling.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
Marketing Manager
ISIBINDI AFRICA LODGES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

A secluded house in the forest, lit by oil lamps, the voices of hundreds of birds, a wonderful camp fire, great food and the best bread I've ever eaten. Great excursions and lots to discover!
Very friendly staff! A place for nature lovers!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Kosi Forest Lodge, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Lynn B
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Kosi Forest Lodge.
We are thrilled you so enjoyed the stay and will definitely send you the recipe for our bread!
Kind regards
Penny Rice
Marketing Manager
ISIBINDI AFRICA LODGES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

What an incredibly special place! Don't overlook this lodge due to it's location, there are great activitieson offer which make this lodge a truly magical experience. Their guide Phaka is extremely knowledgable and the canoeing trip on offer is breathtaking in such beautiful surroundings. Simple but delicious cuisine is served with fresh ingredients. The outdoor bathtub in the rooms are very romantic!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaCosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Kosi Forest Lodge, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear ErikaCosta
Thank you so much for taking the time to review Kosi Forest Lodge. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and got to do some of the unique activities.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
MARKETING MANAGER
ISIBINDI AFRICA LODGES
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I strongly recommend this place, even for being just 1 night (as was my case). The lodge, despite not being very far, feels remote, isolated. Rooms are clean and comfortable, bath and shower are gorgeous, common places are very cosy, food is good and staff very friendly.
Even in a 1 night stay it is possible do activities rewarding enough and admire the wonderful landscapes of this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cris1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, General Manager at Kosi Forest Lodge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Cris1961

Thanks very much for the compliment, this is what we all strive for!

We hope to host you again sometime soon and hopefully it will be for more than just one night so that we can show you more of what our stunning area has to offer.

Kind Regards

Gerard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights here. It was supposed to be 2, we were both SO glad that we changed it to 3. We arrived relatively stressed and tired from work, etc. We left peaceful, rested and ready to recommend this place to anyone!

Beautiful, private rooms tucked away in the forest.
Fantastic food (just let them know any special requirements beforehand as dinner and lunch are set menus) beautifully presented.
Excursions were fantastic. The boat trip was shortened because of the weather, not any problems with the lodge and we received a discount on the excursion as it could not be the full day. (Unlike a previous review below)
The staff were friendly, helpful and seemed to think of everything that could possibly make our stay more comfortable.
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Being able to lie in the bath while looking at the stars (we even saw 2 bushbabies from our bathtub!) was something quite special! Some blankets, etc might be slightly on the shabby side but it barely registered, possibly because of the rustic nature of the setting, possibly because we felt so well looked after!

Some things to note:
Pack comfortable clothes and shoes, no dressing up for dinner required!
Rooms are a short walk from the main lodge over sand.
There are limitations on electricity (switches off after 10pm) - to be honest that didn't worry us once as it's a good place for early nights and early-ish mornings. They provide mosquito repellent, torches, etc.
You really do need a 4x4 to get to the lodge. We left our car at the lodges secure parking in town and they fetched us in an open top vehicle.

Just go. It's so worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sal1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsibindiAfrica, Public Relations Manager at Kosi Forest Lodge, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Sal1984
Thank you for your review - so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kosi. Big thanks for the heads up on blankets - I will report it to our Operations Manager immediately.
Kind regards
Penny Rice
Isibindi Africa Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
20.9 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#1 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
358 reviews
16.4 mi away
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
#1 of 4 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
194 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kosi Bay Lodge
Kosi Bay Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kosi Bay
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Chinderera Eco Lodge
Chinderera Eco Lodge
#3 of 6 in Kosi Bay
17 reviews
20.6 mi away
Royal Thonga Safari Lodge
Royal Thonga Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Tembe Elephant Park
83 reviews
13.6 mi away
Gala Gala Eco Resort
Gala Gala Eco Resort
#1 of 4 in Ponta do Ouro
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kosi Forest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosi Forest Lodge

Property: Kosi Forest Lodge
Address: Kosi Bay, Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kosi Forest Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kosi Forest Lodge is a 16 bed lodge fenced into the iSimangaliso Wetland Park, an internationally recognised World Heritage Site. We provide a snug and intimate base from which guests can explore this extraordinary area of splendour and diversity, or relax surrounded by incredible natural beauty. The lounge, dining room and bar extend into a large, wooden deck built in the shade of an enormous Zulu Podberry tree, and we take full advantage of Maputuland’s sultry weather with most meals served alfresco on the deck or sheltered beneath large Albizia trees.We have carefully positioned the thatched bush suites in the sand forest for privacy and peace under the canopy of shady trees. Low wooden bedroom walls with mosquito netting and roll-up canvas blinds allow for maximum views of the surrounding forest, and arguably the lodge’s most popular feature is the romantic, open air, en-suite bathroom set in white beach sand and enclosed by a reed boma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Kosi Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosi Forest Hotel Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Kosi Forest Lodge South Africa/Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing