We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kosi Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveler rating
84
46
13
10
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
46
13
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanoe tripkosi mouthoutdoor bathroomenjoyed our stayfish wrapour honeymoonforest lodgeother guestslocal communityisimangaliso wetland parkbeautiful areatrip plannedkwa zulu natalthe open air showertaking carestaff were attentivebeautiful scenery
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 154 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This is definitely our most prefered stay in our trip in South-Africa. This lodge has everything: great hospitality, great food, good service, perfect accomodation, nice bathroom (who is not dreaming of a taking a bath in the middle of a forrest with only birds in the background), great possibilities to explore the region (both in terms of culture and nature) I cannot say anything negative about this lodge and the staff...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The food is very good and the staff very friendly. The location secluded and peaceful, middle of a forest with resident bushbaby and vervet monkeys, as well as a plethora of birds and insects..now the less positive..The rooms are fine, although not particularly great, think tent on stilts with a wooden platform and the view of the lake is OK; there are buildings around the lake. In summary; good, but could be great. Good place to read a book under a shady tree.

Pros: staff friendly, tour guides informative, secluded private location, some nice touches in terms of decor and overall ambiance (e.g. Torches lit in evening lighting path to restaurant from rooms) good food and well managed and run.
Cons: dark rooms, no room service or phones so you have to trek up to the bar area to get anything, outdoor bathroom not quite private enough, no pool (too crappy and dirty to be called a pool), disappointing lake view. Again, for completeness: no hair dryer and no kettle in room, although they do bring a flask of hot water to your room in the morning for coffee/tea which is nice.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Biztraveller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Photographs cannot do this lodge justice - it is one of those places you must experience with all senses. Bathing in an outdoor bath whilst watching the stars and awakened by birdsong is what the African experience is all about. The decor in the lodge and units is ambient with local art - the fish traps cleverly used for soft lighting at night. We loved the sandy pathways lit with torches at night – it all added to a very romantic experience. During day, the dappled shade of forest trees created a serene calm and coolness to the lodge. Adding to this was the team’s quest for guest comfort and of course, Chris’s excellent menu of divine dishes. Our ultimate was the canoe trip, or was it the forest walk…or the boat trip with lunch on the beach? Great guides, wonderful birding and certainly a place that every nature lover must include on their list. A special word of warning though: a day at Kosi Forest Lodge will not be enough...ensure a longer stay!

Room Tip: Unit 8 is the furthest away from the main complex but really beautiful. It is really a hard choice as each of the units has its own special character - for persons that does not like to walk distances, units 1 and 2 are close to the main complex.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SantivN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

My sister and I stayed at Kosi Forest Lodge for 2 nights at the beginning of our trip to South Africa, and it was wonderful! The atmosphere is perfect -- very comfortable and luxurious while still feeling like a part of the beautiful natural surroundings. The tent was gorgeous and very private -- the outdoor bath under the stars a special treat. We were a little worried about whether it would be hot at night since there's no A/C or fans, but it was very comfortable. The service from Blessings, Ilana, Chris, and all the staff was top-notch and the food was outstanding! For all the traveling we did over 3 weeks in South Africa, the food at Kosi was among the best and far better than much of the food we had a comparable lodges. They focus on doing a couple of dishes extremely well with good ingredients rather than a big spread of average food. George and Jerome were both fantastic guides. They are both from the area, so they can share their insight into the local land and culture. In addition to the canoe trip and hike, we opted for the full-day boat/beach trip -- highly recommended if you are staying two or more nights. The only criticism I have is that, if you are staying more than a couple nights, you might run out of things to do if you like a lot of activities. But this is such a peaceful place, you don't really need it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VanessaRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Wonderful eco lodge, tents are beautiful and far from being old fashioned as I read in some travel guides! Bathroom is great with outside shower AND bath! Service is perfect, food is delicious and the nature surrounding the lodge is beautiful. You have to stay 2 nights to make the full day excursion on the lakes. This is an amazing experience where you swim in the ocean and then in the lakes with hippos around!
Definitely the best lodge in and around Kosi Bay!

Room Tip: If you don't like to be alone in the middle of nowhere, with animals making noise in the middle of the night, ask for a room near the reception / restaurant :-)
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence_Adrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews