We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even in the rain its fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was the 4th and last part of our Sth African adventure and we hoped for sunshine but no the rainy season took hold. Even so it didn't detract from the excellent diving and whale watching. Smashing back to nature location with monkeys around and birds singing all the time. Unusual rooms which can open up to the world (when not raining anyway) make for a great experience and the bar area and restaurant are very comfortable. Food and wine excellent and staff are all very helpful and friendly. We are definitely going back when the sunshines (Feb/Mar) as the beach is huge , pure sand and very isolated. Great place.
Special thanks to Muntu (?) for changing our flat tyre without us even having to ask.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 198 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

Our family of four had a wonderful week stay at Rocktail Beach Camp. The experience was amazing in every facet from the coastal forest, beautiful beaches and reefs, friendly, professional staff to the luxury tents and accommodating kitchen (our kids suffer food allergies). Special thanks to the camp management team and staff who really made us feel at home and the dive centre. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at Rocktail Beach Camp as we are keen divers, and 3 days felt like 2 weeks in terms of how relaxed and rejuvenated we felt when we left. This is an incredibly special and unique place - in a coastal nature reserve tucked away in the forest, with no other signs of life around - no buildings and a deserted, untouched beach. Bliss. The staff were incredibly friendly and attentive, and our room was absolutely stunning - luxury tent with a balcony and gorgeous views over the forest and sea. The diving was fantastic, we were the only divers and were treated to breakfast set up on the beach in between our two dives. When we got back from diving we'd spend the afternoon lazing by the pool in bean bags and having cocktails brought to us. The food was fantastic and on our last night because we were the only guests staying there we could choose what we wanted to eat and they set up dinner for us on our private balcony in our room! Overall this was a 5 out of 5 experience, I can't think of one thing that disappointed me. I would come back again ever year if I could and would most definitely recommend Rocktail to anyone wanting to get away from the hustle and bustle.

Just to note - the beach camp isnt on the beach - it's a 15 min walk through the coastal forest to get to the beach. If you're someone who doesnt like any exercise or wants to be right on the beach for your seaside holiday then this may not be for you.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 7-12 as these have sea views, 1-6 are not as elevated so just look into the forest
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was hesitant to book this location because I couldn't really find much out about it - but I can tell you it was fantastic. If you are looking for a beautiful beach, great diving, wonderful accomodations and people, this is it. Regardless of whether you are a honeymooner (plenty of romance, quiet and seclusion) or on a family trip (traveled with an 11 year old) there was plenty to do and plenty to see. We spent almost a month in Africa visiting other destinations and this was a highlight! I would return in a nanosecond. Gary and Ellen were fantastic camp managers and Mokkoran Dive center was incredible. We scuba'd and petted a giant grouper, swam with dolphins and turtles in their own habitat (not in some pretend boxed in area). Spent hours on the beach fighting waves and chasing crabs. It was an AMAZING trip and an experience I will never forget. Only hope I can get back again someday.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhappychicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights coming from Mozambique with our son (9 years). I went scuba diving, snorkling and was lucky enough to swim with the dolphins (very rare) and had a very good massage. Lodge is in contemporary style, nice spacious rooms, lots of privacy and personel was very friendly and helpful. The food was very good, lots of dishes with new creations and not main stream at all. For one of the guests that could only eat gluten free, they backed special bread and prepared separate gluten free dishes. Chapeau!
The lodge is situated a 15 min. walk from the beach and not directly on the beach itself and eco friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Superb four days at Rocktail Beach Camp. Gary and Ellen couldn't have been more helpful and organised our days so that we were fully occupied; snorkelling, walking, visiting the crocodiles at a spectacular lake and spotting hump-back whales from a fast RIB - even swimming with them!
The tented accommodation was very private, beautifully fitted out and comfortable with great views across the forest to the sea. Watching the monkeys from our terrace was great fun. Food and drink was excellent - plenty of it, varied, very well cooked and presented. MB our guide and driver was informative, very considerate and great fun. All the staff had a ready smile and were quick and willing to help. Pretty close to paradise!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Rocktail bay beach camp is an awesome place!! From the moment you leave your car and get picked up promptly, in the jeep which takes you where your car can't travel, you know you're going to have a great time!! The guide points out lots of interesting things and creatures on the way and be prepared for a bumpy but fun journey (when you need warm clothes if its winter......we went in June 2013).
When you arrive you're given a talk and a drink and then shown to your tent.........more like glamping than camping though!!! It's a well equipped tent decorated brilliantly with everything you need, and very clean and tidy, with a lovely welcome note!

When we went to the beach we were gobsmacked!! Totally gorgeous, amazing for running down sand dunes, relaxing with a book, boogie boarding or for a lovely quiet walk!! We were on our own for the whole time we spent there and we said no one would believe we'd had it to ourselves all day!! Lunch was also brought to us on the beach and again we were gobsmacked.......fresh fruit and salad, freshly made quiche and chicken and lots more......all for a fantastic price.......and all served on a table on the beach!! Brilliant!!

Our group consisted of 2 adults and 3 children aged 9, 11 and 13 and it suited them all. The managers were fantastic, organising films for them to watch at night and making sure they were well stocked with popcorn!!

The trips from the camp were good fun, especially LaLa Neck, and the pool, although cold when we went in the winter, was lovely!!

The managers were extremely friendly and helpful, but not overbearing at all and the staff were smiley and courteous, especially GuGu who was brilliant!!

The food was great and they went out of their way to accommodate vegetarians and food allergies in our group. All in all we had a fantastic visit and would highly recommend it to everyone!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are far away from each other so no problems with noise etc.......not sure if tents up...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
19.4 mi away
Sodwana Bay Lodge
Sodwana Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sodwana
192 reviews
4.6 mi away
Thonga Beach Lodge
Thonga Beach Lodge
#2 of 4 in iSimangaliso Wetland Park
367 reviews
16.4 mi away
Kosi Forest Lodge
Kosi Forest Lodge
#2 of 4 in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Mseni Beach Lodge
Mseni Beach Lodge
#2 of 18 in Sodwana
162 reviews
23.1 mi away
Chinderera Eco Lodge
Chinderera Eco Lodge
#3 of 6 in Kosi Bay
18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kosi Bay Lodge
Kosi Bay Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kosi Bay
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp

Address: D1849, Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Price Range: $284 - $898 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for fun, adventure and a place to put your feet up then you're heading to the right place. Rocktail Beach Camp, beautifully set within a lush region of forested dunes, is the launch pad to some of the most beautiful beaches and pristine coral reefs in the world. What's more, Rocktail has exclusive access to this area! Your charmingly rustic en-suite accommodation is hidden within the tropical shade of this woodland sanctuary and only a short walk from the main area which includes a dining room, lounge with a large wraparound veranda, children's playroom and swimming pool. With extraordinary diving and snorkelling, turtle encounters and other beach activities this breathtaking ecosystem is waiting to be explored. Did you know? Rocktail closes for a short period each year to host Children in the Wilderness camps - a programme dedicated to helping local children build life skills and a love for the environment. Coastal forest interspersed with grasslands and waterberry/palm savannah side by side with pristine beaches characterise Rocktail. Unspoiled reefs form part of the protected Maputaland Marine Reserve. As well as diving, snorkelling and seasonal turtle excursions, we offer cultural visits guided walks (on request). Considered one of the best dive sites in the world, whales, dolphins and sharks are found here, while the smaller critters include butterflyfish, clown triggerfish, surgeonfish, fire-goby and scissortail. Birding is outstanding, with a number of special coastal forest species. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rocktail Beach Camp Hotel Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve
Wilderness Safaris Rocktail Camp South Africa/Maputaland Coastal Forest Reserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing