We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AWEFUL!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWEFUL!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This place was the worst first off they have nothing in the rooms no tv no internet no way to prepare your food. They won't let you bring your own food or beer in the lodge they try to force you to by theirs and its over price jail food super gross. Everyone looks and acts like they just did a hit of crack. Theirs nothing to do when the slopes close at 4 except sit in your room and stare at thier dumpy walls. VERY VERY Disapointed and will never go back. :(

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenniebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    45
    20
    7
    13
See reviews for
68
26
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

While staying in Santa Fe before thanksgiving we discovered there was a ski resort already in play! Only some of the routes where open but it had a great service, and really friendly staff! We enjoyed our day very very much and it was one of the cheapest ski resorts I've ever encountered so that was good too ;)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KitziaMitre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

They have great ski packages and the mountain is beautiful, but there are only 42 trails so if you are staying multiple days you might get a little burnt out. The lodging is very affordable and the rooms are very clean, however the rooms are a little dated and have no tv's so you need to take something with you to do after the slopes close. I highly recommend this place if you're on a budget or if you just want to take a weekend trip.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZackD24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just got home from a weeks stay and loved the place!! We rented a suite one night and Cabin #2 for 6 nights. The suite was roomy and clean but the cabin was more to our liking because of the privacy, coziness, layout and proximity to the pond. We don't have kids so I can't give any feedback on that aspect but our dogs LOVED it!!!!!! The cabin just felt like it was "ours", you know? The staff was always courteous and helpful, too.

Beautiful country and a refreshing get away from our hot, Kansas summer!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The place was very dumpy, the lamps did not work, the screens fell out, the rooms were dirty,
they had a fun disc golf course the kids played but not much else to do.
I was on a family reunion. when I saw the place I swould have found someplace else to stay but there were 43 peoile there and no place else near to stay. It is out in no mans land.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank setfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey G, Public Relations Manager at Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
setfortravel, thank you for taking the time to write this review, and I am so sorry to hear about your experience. Our priority is to ensure every guest's satisfaction - could you please contact me directly at marketing@SipapuNM.com? I would love to get a few more details about your visit and have the opportunity to make this right for you and your family. In the meantime, thanks again for your honest feedback - it helps us to become a better resort for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vadito hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We love Sipapu! Been there multiple times. It is small enough we don't have to worry about our 9 year ols son being safe on the mountain. The workers are nice, and the prices are affordable. The cabins are a basic....nothing fancy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acummings3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey G, Public Relations Manager at Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Acummings3,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - and for bringing your family to Sipapu. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked two nights in the Duplex over Memorial Day weekend. We were planning to have a relaxing family weekend with kids and dog in the mountains. After we arrived, we quickly packed-up and left. These are the reasons why:

-- The Duplex was in a parking lot with no privacy. In the hour we were there, several groups of people walked past the windows and saw directly into the living space. Mountain bikers rode right past the window, too. This would not be a safe place to play for young children with so much car and motorcycle traffic in the front and pedestrian traffic in the back.

-- The lodge and area had a very transient feeling. There was no distinction between people paying to stay there on the property and people stopping for food or rest. It felt like an interstate stop and not safe to leave car or possessions unattended.

-- The construction of the Duplex was questionable. It seemed like a hodge-podge mix of walls, doors, and windows. The access to the other duplex on the shared wall was too close and too loud, unless you're there with REALLY quiet neighbors. The "door" separating the two complexes was shoddy.

-- The smell of industrial cleaners was overwhelming, comforting that cleaner was used, but overwhelming.

--The windows didn't close, and the neighbors were smoking outside the windows so that the rooms filled with smoke smell.

-- The fishing pond is unregulated and unsupervised. It's a free-for-all cesspool.

-- Because of their 30-day cancellation policy, we were given no refund.

If you're looking for a party-place or someplace to stop on a bike, then maybe this is your place. But not safe, private, or relaxing for children and families.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GuestEme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey G, Public Relations Manager at Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
GuestEme,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and I sincerely apologize that your Memorial Day weekend trip was a disappointment. Sipapu strives to be an affordable, family-friendly destination for all of our guests, and I am very sorry to hear that this was not your experience.

I apologize for the traffic near the Duplex. We had several volunteers working on trails during your visit, and this foot/motorcycle traffic is unusual. Based on your feedback, we will be sure to address this with future volunteer workers to avoid these disturbances.

I am sorry to hear that you felt our property had a transient feeling. Given our location and amenities, we serve not only guests who stay overnight in our lodging units, but also individuals and families who stop for a short time - be it for a bite to eat, a quick stop in our store or a full day of hiking or disc golfing.

The Duplex is one of our most requested units. It was built decades ago by our resort's founder, and it served as a family home for years. Most of our guests consider the craftsmanship and its history charming - I am very sorry that this was not the case for you.

I will mention your feedback about the smell of our cleaning supplies to our housekeeping manager. We take great pride in providing clean, comfortable rooms for all of our guests, and I am sorry that the smells from the cleaning were a little strong.

I am also very sorry to hear that the smell of your next-door neighbor's smoking was so bothersome. I will also ask our maintenance staff to inspect the windows in your unit to see how we can avoid this in the future.

Sipapu's private fishing pond is stocked and available for all guests to use - you are right that it is not supervised. You and your family were also welcome to fish on the Rio Pueblo, the river that flows right through our resort (and immediately next to the Duplex's backyard). Sipapu is located in one of the best trout fishing areas around, and the Rio Pueblo offers incredible small pocket water fishing.

GuestEme, again, I am truly sorry that your trip was such a disappointment, and I would love the opportunity to make this right for you and your family. Could you please message me directly at marketing@SipapuNM.com? Thank you for your honest feedback - your assessments help make Sipapu a better resort for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vadito
15.2 mi away
Sagebrush Inn & Suites
16.2 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
341 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Taos
Hampton Inn Taos
#6 of 15 in Taos
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
El Camino Lodge
El Camino Lodge
#13 of 15 in Taos
239 reviews
15.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 15 in Taos
352 reviews
17.2 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#3 of 15 in Taos
1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort

Property: Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort
Address: 5224 State Highway 518, Vadito, NM 87579-9757
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Vadito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Vadito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 miles southeast of Taos and 2 hours north of Albuquerque, Sipapu Ski and Summer Resort offers over 40 accommodations, including suites, cabins, historic lodge rooms, RV sites and more. All of the slopeside rooms are located steps from Sipapu's main chair lift, and most include kitchens and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sipapu Ski And Summer Resort
Sipapu Ski & Summer Hotel Vadito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing