We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, affordable, private...a great place for a family vacations.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We love Sipapu! Been there multiple times. It is small enough we don't have to worry about our 9 year ols son being safe on the mountain. The workers are nice, and the prices are affordable. The cabins are a basic....nothing fancy.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acummings3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey G, Public Relations Manager at Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Acummings3,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review - and for bringing your family to Sipapu. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 129 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked two nights in the Duplex over Memorial Day weekend. We were planning to have a relaxing family weekend with kids and dog in the mountains. After we arrived, we quickly packed-up and left. These are the reasons why:

-- The Duplex was in a parking lot with no privacy. In the hour we were there, several groups of people walked past the windows and saw directly into the living space. Mountain bikers rode right past the window, too. This would not be a safe place to play for young children with so much car and motorcycle traffic in the front and pedestrian traffic in the back.

-- The lodge and area had a very transient feeling. There was no distinction between people paying to stay there on the property and people stopping for food or rest. It felt like an interstate stop and not safe to leave car or possessions unattended.

-- The construction of the Duplex was questionable. It seemed like a hodge-podge mix of walls, doors, and windows. The access to the other duplex on the shared wall was too close and too loud, unless you're there with REALLY quiet neighbors. The "door" separating the two complexes was shoddy.

-- The smell of industrial cleaners was overwhelming, comforting that cleaner was used, but overwhelming.

--The windows didn't close, and the neighbors were smoking outside the windows so that the rooms filled with smoke smell.

-- The fishing pond is unregulated and unsupervised. It's a free-for-all cesspool.

-- Because of their 30-day cancellation policy, we were given no refund.

If you're looking for a party-place or someplace to stop on a bike, then maybe this is your place. But not safe, private, or relaxing for children and families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GuestEme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey G, Public Relations Manager at Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

GuestEme,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and I sincerely apologize that your Memorial Day weekend trip was a disappointment. Sipapu strives to be an affordable, family-friendly destination for all of our guests, and I am very sorry to hear that this was not your experience.

I apologize for the traffic near the Duplex. We had several volunteers working on trails during your visit, and this foot/motorcycle traffic is unusual. Based on your feedback, we will be sure to address this with future volunteer workers to avoid these disturbances.

I am sorry to hear that you felt our property had a transient feeling. Given our location and amenities, we serve not only guests who stay overnight in our lodging units, but also individuals and families who stop for a short time - be it for a bite to eat, a quick stop in our store or a full day of hiking or disc golfing.

The Duplex is one of our most requested units. It was built decades ago by our resort's founder, and it served as a family home for years. Most of our guests consider the craftsmanship and its history charming - I am very sorry that this was not the case for you.

I will mention your feedback about the smell of our cleaning supplies to our housekeeping manager. We take great pride in providing clean, comfortable rooms for all of our guests, and I am sorry that the smells from the cleaning were a little strong.

I am also very sorry to hear that the smell of your next-door neighbor's smoking was so bothersome. I will also ask our maintenance staff to inspect the windows in your unit to see how we can avoid this in the future.

Sipapu's private fishing pond is stocked and available for all guests to use - you are right that it is not supervised. You and your family were also welcome to fish on the Rio Pueblo, the river that flows right through our resort (and immediately next to the Duplex's backyard). Sipapu is located in one of the best trout fishing areas around, and the Rio Pueblo offers incredible small pocket water fishing.

GuestEme, again, I am truly sorry that your trip was such a disappointment, and I would love the opportunity to make this right for you and your family. Could you please message me directly at marketing@SipapuNM.com? Thank you for your honest feedback - your assessments help make Sipapu a better resort for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We really enjoyed skiing Sipapu! It is a great family friendly resort. Every staff member we encountered was exceedingly friendly and helpful. All in all there was just a great, laid back, happy vibe. I liked that we could bring our own cooler for lunch. We also tried the restaurant and it was great. Also the latte made with Starbucks coffee was perfection. There is a great outdoor bar where you can enjoy a cold beer at the end of the day. I would recommend Sipapu and will go back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Megan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey G, Public Relations Manager at Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Megan, thank you for taking the time to send us this great feedback. We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at our resort, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found Sipapu in January of 2011 after my wife's unexpected emergency cancer surgery. Since then we have been back for 6 trips. GR8 lodging in a quiet setting on the mountain. Staff makes you feel like part of the family. We LOVE Sip!! Unbelievable grooming by JP and staff. come n see!!

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are GR8. Bunk rooms are not as comfortable, but my family will stay anywhere just to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdvocarePayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey G, Public Relations Manager at Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

AdvocarePayne,

Thank you for bringing your family to our resort after your wife's surgery and for so many times thereafter. We are grateful that Sipapu can be a place for you and your family to connect and make happy memories - it's exactly the sort of thing we strive to do. We love having you all here at Sipapu, and we look forward to your next visit to our mountain. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a great time at a really great price! It was a very family friendly little place. Not big and fussy but nice. I got personal service from the family that owns the place, even met the dog! My daughter took one lesson and ski like a champ the rest of the time, she loved it. We will be back.

The food was good, I really liked the breakfast burrito and the fried greenbeans. Cocktails were also good!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey G, Public Relations Manager at Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Liz M,

Thank you for visiting our resort and for taking the time to post your feedback! I am very happy to hear that your family had such a wonderful ski vacation, and I will make sure to share your feedback with our owner, too. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having lived in New Mexico 10+ yrs now, and hearing about Sipapu, My partner and I decided to give it a try. We booked 1 night, last minute, and fortunately they had vacancy at the "hotel" building. We drove up from the ABQ area early, skied all day, plenty of snow, and our room was ready for check in at the end of our skiing. The room was spacious with 2 queen beds a dresser, nightstand, small closet area and a large bathroom that was well stocked with towels and plentybof piping hot water. What else could one want, right? One thing for us....heat!, as outside temps werecin the 20's! The one gas wall heater in the room was marked...."Do Not Use, Not Working". With no phone in the room, abd the checkin desk at the lodge closed for the day( they close at 5pm), we were a little nervous about not having heat. We then learned that the night desk, across the road from the lodge, is open from 5-10 pm.
When I informed the young lady at the desk that our room had no heat, she immediately called mantenance, who then brought a portable radiant heater to the room which provided more than enough heat for the room. The hotel room was clean and sufficient for our needs for the night, however, keep in mind there are no amenities, i.e., phone, television, coffee maker, fridge, micro. It's important to also note that the entire resort shuts down at 8 pm. Bar , restaurant and all. This was fine for us old farts, but if you're looking for a "happening" place, this is not it. A few comments about the bar, dining room. Again, very rustic....order at the counter off a dry erase board menu. The selections were good(not extensive) for a small resort, and no complaints about the food quality. We ate lunch and dinner at the resort(as it's your only option unless you want to drive an hour or more). The bar was fun for Apres' ski relaxing, andcyou can't beat their prices. Our meals and drinks were a fraction of the cost had we gone to Taos or Angelfire!!! Would we return?.....Absolutely! Friendly, rustic, inexpensive, great snow, beautiful setting!!! The one thing we would do different is book far enough in advance so to reserve different accomodations, i.e., a cabin, suite or duplex which have more ammenities than the hotel and seem a bit more comfortable. The hotel, mind you, is adequate for the budget minded folks, and is a good value for slopeside lodging. So, as their moto says....."Find it, Ski it"!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank traveloversw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey G, Public Relations Manager at Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

traveloversw, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences about our resort! We are so glad you and your partner enjoyed your time on our mountain, in our lodging and at our restaurant - and thanks for even including our tagline in your review! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

STAFF bad attitudes last Saturday almost ruined our day. After driving all the way from Socorro and in line with paperwork filled out before 9 AM was told that we were too late for the morning lesson and the children could have their lesson at 1PM. I even repeated that back to the guy at the counter and he said there were other things we could do until then. He said we qualified for the military discount so I took the time to go get the ID and was then told the discount wasn’t available. At 11AM there was another class forming and since I didn’t understand why we got stuck with 1PM I went over and asked the instructors if my grandchildren could take the earlier class and was told no in spite of the fact that the those who had been scheduled for the class hadn’t shown up. At 1pm I was told that we had been scheduled at 11AM????and treated as if I were just another dumb customer that screwed up until…..several other people showed up to take the class and they had also been scheduled at 11. The staff was rude about everything. My 11 year old grandson who knew nothing about skiing was rudely chastised for having something tucked into his boot? Isn’t that why they have lessons? To learn? We had a good time but that had nothing to do with the behavior of the Staff – they were really awful.

Room Tip: The cabins are much smaller than they look in the photos. You are expected to do your own cleaning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacey G, Public Relations Manager at Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Cheri,

I am so sorry this was your experience at our resort - Sipapu strives to be a family-friendly, fun destination for all of our guests, and I apologize that we missed the mark.

When you posted this same feedback on our Facebook page this week, please know that your concerns were taken not only to the Ski School Director but also to our General Manager. Per our response to you last week, we would like to get in touch with you regarding this matter. We need additional details about the individual staff members so we can address this immediately with them. Our priority is to provide excellent guest service, and we hoped we could work directly with you on this to help make this situation right.

To date, we have not heard from you. Again, we would love to talk with you directly so that we can identify the employees that didn't meet our customer service standards. Please contact me at 970-375-1845 or marketing@SipapuNM.com to help resolve this and to avoid these issues for future guests.

Again, Cheri, we sincerely apologize that your trip was a disappointment. We hope we can help make this right - feel free to contact me at any time. Thanks again for taking the time to provide your honest feedback - this information helps us to be a better resort. We hope to connect with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vadito
17.6 mi away
The Historic Taos Inn
16.2 mi away
Sun God Lodge
Sun God Lodge
#12 of 15 in Taos
353 reviews
22.2 mi away
The Lodge at Angel Fire Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 mi away
El Monte Sagrado
El Monte Sagrado
#2 of 15 in Taos
1,197 reviews
18.0 mi away
El Pueblo Lodge
El Pueblo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Taos
1,267 reviews
14.4 mi away
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
Adobe and Pines Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Ranchos De Taos
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort

Address: 5224 State Highway 518, Vadito, NM 87579-9757
Location: United States > New Mexico > Taos County > Vadito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Vadito
Price Range: $41 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 miles southeast of Taos and 2 hours north of Albuquerque, Sipapu Ski and Summer Resort offers over 40 accommodations, including suites, cabins, historic lodge rooms, RV sites and more. All of the slopeside rooms are located steps from Sipapu's main chair lift, and most include kitchens and fireplaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sipapu Ski & Summer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sipapu Ski And Summer Resort
Sipapu Ski & Summer Hotel Vadito

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing