We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great only if you appreciate attached bar...”
Review of Tristar Inn Xpress

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tristar Inn Xpress
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Sapulpa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great only if you appreciate attached bar...”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

It took 20 minutes to locate the desk clerk and get a room. Desk clerk too businesslike. Treated like he could "take you or leave you." The bartender of the attached bar was much more friendly and was apologetic. Not the welcome for a weary traveler. Room was pretty clean but really shouldn't they all be? It took forever for the room to warm up. Was in bed before it was warm. TV remote did not work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodLoverinOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mawais53, General Manager at Tristar Inn Xpress, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We, at Tristar Inn Xpress offer with pride CLEAN, COMFORTABLE Rooms at affordable rates and we make every effort on our part to be always polite, respectful and courteous to our guests and patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
19
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

we were driving route 66 and almost passed Tristar Inn it is not flash from the first look,we needed a laundry and this place had one. We asked to see the room it was clean and fresh .It had been repainted Owners Mike & Marina were proud to show the room, the rate very good. we had great time that night at the bar where we met some regular locals.The chief, the cowboy & his dog.Almost forgot the best shower of the trip. Thanks Mike for the advice on the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank georgina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pratt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Very clean, good size room. Helpful staff. Nice decor. A/C works great, also has refrigerator and microwave. Shower is great. Only complaint is, one of the TV channels is non-stop hard core porn, and you can't channel surf without going past it every time. So parents and families be forewarned.

Also, at present time, swimming pool is under repair.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dahdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucumcari
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I came to Tucumcari a month ago to purchase a truck from a friend. I looked for hotels/motels all over town and settled on Tristar. I must say that I was pleasantly surprised. The owner/manager Mike never hesitated to go out of his way to help me no matter what I needed. The rooms are clean & well-maintained. The housekeeping staff are exceptional. If you are traveling Old Route 66 in New Mexico I would recommend staying at Tristar Inn Express. You won't be disappointed!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollywood1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Passing thru town and stayed here one night. An older motel on Route 66. All I wanted was a clean room to get a nights sleep at a good rate. The rate was great at $30 for a single. The room was large and clean, if a little worn. Check in at front desk was OK. Room was quiet. The motel is at the edge of town and not much around there. Only a two or three mile drive to fast food places near I-40.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Tristar Inn Express is one of the best budget lodging values in Tucumcari. Rooms are clean and comfortable, among the largest rooms of any lodging establishment in Tucumcari (and I've stayed at quite a few through the years in virtually all price ranges). Very well kept up. Also included a nice swimming pool. Definitely a great value for around $30 per night. Will stay there again and recommend this place.

  • Liked — Price, value and well-done rooms
  • Disliked — TV reception poor, but only a minor issue
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank potter660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.5 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#7 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
3.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
1.6 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tristar Inn Xpress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tristar Inn Xpress

Property: Tristar Inn Xpress
Address: 1302 W Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3327
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tristar Inn Xpress 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable guestrooms on historic Route 66 with a pool in the summer and an on site bar! Whatever you need, we've got it all and for an affordable price. Spacious guestrooms with king and queen size beds available, recliners in some rooms, satellite TV with multiple premium channels, FREE Wi-Fi, parking, on-line reservations and an outdoor pool available during summer months. We're also close to area attractions, entertainment and shopping. Within walking distance to the New Mexico Route 66 Museum and the Tucumcari Convention Center. So sit back and relax at our hotel or enjoy the night out at our on site bar, the Caravan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Tristar Inn Xpress reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing