We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
62
96
63
36
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
96
63
36
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson site restaurantbranding ironoutside entryfree breakfastroom was cleanan older hotelwafflesa nice place to stayrestful nighthash brownsnew mexicowould stay here againcheck in was easyice machineupon checkback homeparking lot
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 281 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2005

We were going to do the traditional motel thing but decided against it when we drove past one we had picked out of the guide book! The Holiday Inn was a good choice. I'm not sure I would have wanted to pay the full $84 rate but the military rate was $60 and definitely worth it. The room was a good size and clean, the pool and hot tub area also clean. Wireless internet access required a password from the very pleasant and helpful front desk staff. Breakfast was included with a choice of 4 options - 3 hot (eggs/bacon/toast, pancakes/toast and something else) or one cold (cereal/toast/fruit bowl).

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripppingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2005

The hotel itself is in a good location. I felt it was a little shabby, not quite up to par for 80 bucks a night. The rooms are clean however, they could drop the silk flowers however. The place has the feel of a motel. The restaurant is convenient and not too bad. The free breakfast is a good touch. Overall not a vacation spot but if you need a place to crash and can get a good rate its ok.............

Thank Ron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2005

My family stayed here Saturday of the Memorial Day weekend.
Checkin: Walkup Rates were going for $98 dollars. I got mine 3 weeks prior from website for $62.
Room: Average Holiday Inn room. Nothing special. Average cleanliness. Passed inspection anyway. TV - Local Cable service. Bad signal. Very snowy. No PPV movies, not much for kids to watch.
Restaurant: The hotel is very excited about the emu. Not sure why but you can eat emu here. You can also buy eggs and there is a display in the lobby...
Dinner - ate here. Got the grilled chicken pasta, average price around 8-12 dollars. Edible, but nothing great. My wife got some chicken dish too, but it was dry. Kids eat free - yum, yum. Tony's Microwave Pizza. At least the server was honest. You'd think w/ Microwave Pizza they'd have figured out how long to nuke it. Sent it back.
Breakfast - ate here. Free voucher for family. Got to pick from 4 items. My service was OK, but restaurant manager must not have known people travel on Memorial Day weekend and like to eat free breakfast, so the kitchen was having problems. Backed up, people complaining of long waits and no service. No one working in the restaurant was over 19 and the poor host was paniced and very close to crawling up into a fetal position if anyone else yelled at him.
Wireless Internet - Big Banner, seemed very proud. I've got no laptop.
Playground for Kids - Swings (2), Slide, Monkeybars. My kids were very glad to play here after 7 hours of driving.
Spa/Pool - Looked clean.

Tucumcari is in the middle of the desert, don't expect much.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Companion23823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2005

The Tucumcari Holiday Inn obviously hails from many years past, but overall, the property is very well maintained, includes many nice features handy for families or just plain tired travelers, and employs some of the friendliest and just simply all around nicest staff. If you want to stay along classic Route 66, consider this hotel. The check in and check out ladies were super nice and fast, the maids were friendly and helpful, the servers in the restaurant were terrific, and the gift shop gal was nice. I didn't find a single person there who wasn't working to please the guest.

The Holiday Inn proved very easy to find--it's the first hotel as you come off the interstate exit. The property looks neat and tidy from the road--plants trimmed up, healthy grass, attractive entrance, well marked, lot and driveways in excellent shape, and nicely lighted with white globe lamp/white iron post reproductions. The walkways are lighted at night with inset lighting in the bordering low walls--all were functioning and clean. The outside lamps along the hotel corridors are brass and beveled glass coach style lamps--some were sparkling clean, others were somewhat dirty with built up dead bugs and so forth. I would guess that they were in the middle of making their spring cleaning rounds on the outside lamps. The usual corridors that pass through the ends of each room block, were well lit, unlike most older hotels with this building style. The excellent lighting is much appreciated when traveling solo or with small children.

The lobby is comfortable appearing--not fancy or fussy or formal--leather sofas, a big area rug, very healthy potted plants, and a display on a local emu and ostrich farm. The restaurant, lounge, and gift shop are all handily located right off of the lobby. There are also doors to allow you ready access to the room blocks or playground/pool/spa area outside. I was happy to note no smell of alcohol or any boisterous noise from the lounge area. There is a coffee bar by the gift shop with a basket of apples provided in the morning. The playground is very basic with a slide, two horse swings, and a jungle gym. You can see that they used to have many more pieces of equipment on the playground, undoubtedly removed in today's world of expensive litigation over playground injuries. My toddler enjoyed the playground immensely before and after both supper and breakfast. The pool and spa looked clean and well kept, though it was a bit cool to try them, so I can't vouch for the water temperatures or chlorine levels.

The rooms are all outside access with key card locks. The room was furnished with the king bed, a square high table with a silk flower arrangement near the door, three large upholstered wing chairs, a long one drawer and open shelf bureau to one side of the bed, a small nightstand to the other side of the bed, and a TV armoire. Everything was clean, even the phone. The bathroom is split with the sink and vanity counter on one side, and the toilet and bathtub enclosed on the other side. The toilet and bathtub side is small, and obviously worked over a few times over the decades. In its current incarnation, the hotel has opted for marble appearing plastic panels for the tub surround. Water pressure and temperature were good, despite the obvious age of the facility. The prints on the walls were pleasant, attractive western landscape paintings.

The gift shop is surprisingly well stocked. I found nice items for far less than the well advertised tourist traps up and down the interstate and old Route 66. They carry some beautiful Indian made jewelry at very fair prices. It was like stepping back in time to find a nice gift shop right in the hotel. You could find souvenirs or gifts for $5 and up in this tidy little shop. They also carried a few candy bars and snacks. It is open fairly late compared to most hotels' gift shops, which made it convenient to actually browse after supper.

The restaurant servers are excellent. Matt at supper and Corey(?--nice lady, hurried signature) at breakfast were very busy, very fast, friendly, and good at their tasks. The food was okay--from fair to very good, but uneven in quality in the same meal. The mushroom chop dinner came with excellent mashed potatoes and the mushrooms on top were fabulous, however, finding the middle underdone rather toned down my enthusiasm for the rest of the meal. To be fair, they did give me a 10% discount on the entire tab for the underdone chop. The fresh apple cobbler, on the other hand, is wonderful--not a sticky sweet crisp peddled as a cobbler, but an actual cobbler--warm with still slightly firm apples topped with a only slightly sweet pastry. Breakfast was included in the room rate--four sit down and be served breakfast choices--not a breakfast bar. The oatmeal/fresh fruit breakfast was terrific. The eggs/bacon/hash brown breakfast was good, but the hash browns could have used some help--not very browned and a little on the greasy side. Even though the free breakfast chit specified coffee or tea, we were allowed to have a very large orange juice and a milk instead at no extra charge.

Overall, this is an oldie but a goodie. There has been a lot of money and care spent in the upkeep of this older hotel over the years, and it shows. The real prizes of this hotel are the staff--not a bad one in the bunch that I encountered. Traveling as a solo woman with a small child, I felt welcome, comfortable, and safe here.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Azilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2005

The wireless internet in this hotel did not work as advertised, and the staff didn't know what to do about it. Also, there's not much to eat around the hotel. We ended up going to the chinese place down the road. I bought a drink out of their vending machines which popped out with a "Best Used By" date three months past. The room cardkeys don't work in the exercise center; I had to get the staff to let me in.

On the plus side (for us, anyhow), they take pets.

2  Thank brg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews