We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest and worst in Tucumcari, NM”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
ARIZONA USA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oldest and worst in Tucumcari, NM”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Driving back to AZ from Branson, MO, and always pre-plan next hotel so called my Choice Hotel Program toll free # to see what was available in Tucumcari. Decided on Quality Inn and made reservation. Upon arrival could see that it was an older property but with Quality Inn logo, figured it should be okay for 1 nite. We usually stay clear of individual exterior entrances but these rooms are exterior. Walked in to a musty smell with obvious overload on room spray and many dead moths and bugs on carpet near window. My other first glance was flattened king bed with lumpy mattress, cheap bedspread with cigarette burns and paper thin sheets. Had to laugh at the card left by bed stating the mattress was "premium quality". My husband had already unloaded luggage and didn't want to deal with moving to another room. Only good part was the bathroom which seemed to have been recently remodeled with new tile, great towels etc. but bath and floors had hair from previous user. Large front window was filthy in and out and after reading reviews about their continental breakfast decided we would check out and eat somewhere else, so didn't partake. When driving off property, noticed a gentleman with green Quality Inn logo shirt who had just parked and went into lobby. Should have stopped to give him these reviews in person. Also, did order a club sandwich from restaurant the night we got in although NO ONE in restaurant. When I asked front desk clerk where someone was, she went directly into kitchen and yelled at lady to pay attention to the front. Could tell there was some problems there. Waited around for sandwich which was actually very good and noticed all the windows around lobby were dirty!

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled and clean room, if any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolores O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager88401, Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dolores O,

I am writing in response to the comments you submitted on trip advisor and about your stay here at the Quality Inn in Tucumcari.
You are correct in stating that this is one of the oldest operating motels in the Tucumcar area and being under new ownership and management we are doing our best to stay up to Choice Hotel standards.
In your response it does not give a full name or room number so that we may have investigated and responded to the issue's that you encountered.
I would like to apologize for the conditions you encountered and it would be greatly appreciated if you would contact us so that we can remedy these issues and ensure that you and all our other guests are not subjected to these condtitions.
Sincerely
Sally Maestas
GM
Quality Inn Tucumcari
gm.nm146@choicehotels.com
575-461-3780
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    80
    53
    36
    24
See reviews for
67
97
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We actually stayed at the Super 8 across the road, but decided to eat at the restaurant in the Quality Inn, so that we wouldn't have to drive anywhere. "Restaurant" is a bit of a misnomer, as this is just a side alcove off the foyer with absolutely no atmosphere whatsoever! Despite there being few people at the tables, it took a while to get served, and our main courses took ages to arrive. When we pointed out that the meal was supposed to have included a salad starter, the waitress admitted she'd forgotten and condescendingly offered to take two dollars off the check/bill. Needless to say, we didn't leave a tip! There was little choice on the menu, but our main courses of tilapia, rice and vegetables were tasty and nicely cooked.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EveW702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The area in front of the lobby is popular with dogs, you can tell by the smell.
The room smelled of urine.
Breakfast was below average. It seemed like they used powdered eggs, and the coffee was very weak. And they had the gall to leave out a tip jar!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tucumcari hotels

Mississauga, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

April 14/2013 $60+txs - The first room we were given had such a foul smell to it that we had to change rooms. The wi-fi was hit & miss. Breakfast in the 'restaurant' was horrible. The coffee tasted like dishwater, I'm not kidding, dishwater. The rest of what they had was not very appetizing. We ended up driving up the highway to a truck stop to get coffee and something to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific northwest
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We had driven over 700 miles and pulled into Tucumcari for the night. It was "snow bird migration" unbeknownst to us and everything was full ! Quality Inn had just had a room become available moments before we got there so lucky for us !! Very nice and clean room, welcoming staff at the front desk and plenty of parking. We didn't end up having breakfast as it was very busy but looked good and very nicely set up. Would stay here again when passing through.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eliza111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandon, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice hotel for a quick stay, a little dated but they are updating the hotel. Very clean and large rooms, great front desk and good breakfast. Didn't try the pool but it looks good. All in all a good place to stay on the road.

Room Tip: Call ahead can fill up quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akoobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The hotel is easily located off the freeway. Rooms very very large. The hotel is older but nice. The only thing was that the windows let in a draft and the heater couldn't really keep up. The beds could be upgraded, but aren't too bad. It was in early march and it was cold outside. But don't let it deter you. Hotel rates were reasonable.

It does have a nice restaurant in it. Dinner was great. In the morning there is a full hot breakfast complimentary. Eggs, bacon, waffles, etc. it was all great.

Plenty of parking for RVs and semi trucks. Big parking on the other side of the road for big trucks.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Call hotel for best rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barne125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#11 of 22 in Tucumcari
229 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Discovery Inn
Best Western Discovery Inn
#4 of 22 in Tucumcari
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Tucumcari
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
2.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 3716 E. Tucumcari Blvd., PO Box 808, Tucumcari, NM 88401 (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Tucumcari
Tucumcari Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing