We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fun but a little Disageeable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pow Wow Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pow Wow Inn
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
durant ok
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun but a little Disageeable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed at the Pow Wow Inn for the nostalgia, but the Blue Swallow is a much better bet. The pricing is good, but there is a reason for that. Not too clean or comfortable. We probably won't go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    9
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
10
8
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It is not plush but it is clean and very comfortable. My sister and I enjoyed our stay there. We loved the courtyard. The young people running the motel were very friendly and accommodating, handling our requests in a polite and swift manner. We would most definitely stay here again. From reading previous negative reviews of this motel, we feel it must be under new management and encourage you to give it a try. It is quaint and atmospheric and it was fun to stay here. Patsy and Phyllis Crawford from Missouri.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at the Pow Wow Inn every year for the past 5 years. They have recently changed owners, we won't be back the rooms are filthy, hair dryer didn't work, half used shampoo bottles in the bathroom. Very disapponting!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdavis217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tucumcari hotels

Ellington, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The Asian front desk clerk was friendly and accommodating. We were merely looking for a pet-friendly, cheap hotel and this fit the bill. However, the carpeting was old and needing replacement and the toilet didn't flush correctly. I would rate it 'below-average' if it weren't for the lovely young lady up front who also had the housekeeping responsibilities. The adjoining 'Lizard Lounge' is a comfortable place to eat. This hotel has so much potential! It was quiet (almost deserted) and for the price, acceptable for this weary couple & their critters. If the owners read this review....give the hard-working lady up front a raise! :-)

Room Tip: The parking for our room was in the deserted looking back of the property. When we first arrived 2 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Route 66 trip. The rooms are basic but comfortable. The pricing wasn't too bad for what was on offer. It's the sorry of hotel that's good for a stay on route but not a vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ballyjamesduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I was on a cross country drive alone so I wanted a place to just lay my head for the night. I chose the pow wow inn over the chains as I wanted to see what a rustic old Route 66 motel would be like. I didn't have any reservations but my room was only about $40. Okay - the room was odd with a door to the parking lot and one to the other side where the pool was.

The stay was fine and the wi-fi worked fine - I was able to watch a couple of movies online with no issues. I think I was almost the only one staying at the hotel as the parking lots were empty. The grounds are in desperate need of repair - the photos you see online were taken when the place was in better condition. The pool was empty and looked like it needed repair before they would be able to open it. The grounds hand't been mowed for some time and only half the lights in the parking lot worked at night.

I wouldnt recommend the hotel to families or single women - just a little too high risk with noone else there and the grounds being very dark at night.

Room Tip: Stay close to the office so your wi fi works better and you feel a little more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ejee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

They charge your card a different amount
Than rate. No heat, space heater, no English! You need to speak chinese ?, no movie channels- we are reporting to BBB for fraudulant charges and fire department for no heat and space heater

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanders5horses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tucumcari hotels
1.2 mi away
Desert Inn
Desert Inn
#9 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
BEST WESTERN Discovery Inn
#6 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 409 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tucumcari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#10 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Tucumcari
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Tucumcari
Days Inn Tucumcari
#5 of 22 in Tucumcari
4.0 of 5 stars 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pow Wow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pow Wow Inn

Property: Pow Wow Inn
Address: 801 W Route 66 Blvd, Tucumcari, NM 88401-3316
Location: United States > New Mexico > Tucumcari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in Tucumcari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Pow Wow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pow Wow Hotel Tucumcari

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing